Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and useful
The projects in this book have a very fresh, dare one say trendy, look to them but in fact you could easily pick your fabrics to go with any kind of interior. Many obviously have that "shabby-chic" or "minxy-vintage" look about them, but others could be adapted to go with period interiors or the ultra-modern. This makes it a book which will be useful to the skint of all...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Peasant

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But not this book
What a pathetic book! Absolutely nothing new, terminally boring, totally uninspiring. Even the sewing is almost unbelievably amateurish. If I were a cynic I would say it was merely a vehicle to try and sell someone's fabrics and a crib from the brilliant, `Soft Furnishings: " Ideas And Fabrics By Designers " by Tricia Guild (Oct 1980) ...the lampshade and other items are...
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Yorkshire Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive and useful, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
Peasant (Deepest England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
The projects in this book have a very fresh, dare one say trendy, look to them but in fact you could easily pick your fabrics to go with any kind of interior. Many obviously have that "shabby-chic" or "minxy-vintage" look about them, but others could be adapted to go with period interiors or the ultra-modern. This makes it a book which will be useful to the skint of all tastes, not just those fans of the current rage for "home-crafting".

The level of skill required varies, but I would say it's suitable for those who've already done a bit of sewing and are ready to improve their level of competence, or the bright and resourceful who are happy to learn. Some projects, such as the home-made ironing board cover in the fabric of your choice, are so blindingly obvious that I am appalled I never thought of it for myself - however, it is just because we often DON'T think of these things for ourselves, that we need a book like this.

If you are an absolute novice, you may find some of the instructions more opaque than you would like. The author also has a website with more images and illustrations, which I'm sure some readers will find helpful. If you're an experienced needleperson, you'll welcome the ideas, the hints for doing things which may have thought of but not quite been able to work out, and the fresh way of presenting stuff which has featured in a thousand vintage sewing books but without this level of contemporary pzazz.

For really clear diagrams and tips on many of the basic skills featured, you couldn't do better than invest in a copy of The Reader's Digest Complete Guide to Sewing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars But not this book, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
What a pathetic book! Absolutely nothing new, terminally boring, totally uninspiring. Even the sewing is almost unbelievably amateurish. If I were a cynic I would say it was merely a vehicle to try and sell someone's fabrics and a crib from the brilliant, `Soft Furnishings: " Ideas And Fabrics By Designers " by Tricia Guild (Oct 1980) ...the lampshade and other items are all but identical. Now that book was ahead of its day, very inspirational and totally professional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SIMPLE PROJECTS FOR YOUR HOME, 3 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
I do love craft books that are easy to follow, and this is one of them.

Filled with projects that are easy to replicate even for a novice like me, you will soon find yourself enthused to carry out more and more home-based projects and relish in your achievements.

Gorgeous photographs run through this book and my friend has already absconded with it, so it must be good as she's no crafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, would recommend, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book for the experienced or not so experienced as it explains in simple terms and shows in detail. Lots of good ideas for things to make for presents and for your own home. I would recommend this book. Makes an ideal gift - I purchased one for myself and then another as a Christmas gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars home sewing, 12 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
Although a famous fabric designer I was very dissapointed there was nothing not in so many other books. Presentation was very good though and the picture I liked a lot. Would not buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nothing original, 10 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
Was so excited when I ordered this but disappointed when it arrived. It uses all her fabrics - seems like a sales drive! Not much original in this book - seen it all before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The book looks very informative and beautifully put together, 3 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
I have bought this as a Christmas present for my mum who has recently got into crafts and sewing. The book looks very informative and beautifully put together, I know she will love it and enjoy making interiors from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to look through, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
H. Old (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
Lovely book to flick through and clear instructions. Haven't made anything yet but l'm looking forward to trying sone things out. May have a go first with sone cheap fabric before making the real things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Home-sewn Home, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
this was purchased for a granddaughter for whom I have bought a sewing machine.
She is delighted with the book and its contents and cannot wait to get started on the projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you love sewing, this book is for you, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more (Paperback)
Excellent value, fast delivery. Can recommend this seller. Book full of lovely projects with easy to follow instructions.- ideal for making gift items for family and friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home-sewn Home: 50 projects for curtains, shades, pillows, cushions, and more
£14.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews