Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars18
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
4
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 April 2013
A great book by all intents and purposes which covers everything from understanding perspective, colours, brushes and palette mixing to speed painting plus much much more. I bought this having recently taken the digital painting plunge as a complete novice and was looking for a good starting book. The only down side is that the author has enforced her own style of painting as a guide so unless you are keen to get the same results in your own technique then this could be off putting. I would liked to have seen more on a broader range of techniques not within this art style depicted so frequently in the book but what this publication offers on other areas of digital painting is still extremely valuable information for the beginner to absorb.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
I love this book brilliant for the total beginner, very easy to read and follow. For the total beginner this book is a Must, with reference palette for both adobe photoshop and coral painter. Whats more its written in plain simple English with tips, step by step tutorials and very little jargon. If you want to try your hand at illustration digital art this is the book to buy.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
A truly excellent book, well written with easy-to-follow instructions in Photoshop and Corel Painter. I was impressed by the knowledge and skill displayed by the author and the many "how to get rounds" included. The book itself is well produced and includes folded book marks on both covers for easy reference. This book is a well deserved 5 stars and I can thoroughly commend it from entry level up.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Have wanted to get to grips with digital painting for quite some time and this book really ticks all the boxes.

One of the draws for this book is that it uses Photoshop CS5 AND Corel Painter 12, which are the two programs I have access to. I am really pleased that I chose this book as it covers the subject in gentle stages, first of all explaining the features of both programs, so you can get optimum results. Later stages of the book explain the techniques of digital painting, which I personally found extremely interesting.

It is true that the author has put her own style of illustration at the forefront of this publication, but that would be true of any artist. It gives a really good grounding in the subject though and easy to adapt your own style once you have mastered the basics.

If you are looking for a practical introduction to digital art, this is a good book to consider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
A good book overall. It's great for comparing Photoshop to Painter. I have downloaded a trial version of Painter and it's clear it does some things better than Photoshop. I haven't finished reading it yet, but my husband did find what appears to be an error on p37. Under the photoshop instructions step 1. you have to set the blend mode to Normal not Overlay to tint text.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Not a bad book for beginner wanting to find their way around Photoshop or Painter. The book is supposed to be linked to tutorial download material at carlynpaints.com but the website is not available. For a book printed in 2012 this is, IMO a pretty poor show. The author has their own website but the material does not appear to be available here either....hence only 3 stars
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2014
It does not teach you how to paint, but it does show different styles, and techniques to learn, and they are both helpful and well detailed, however it does not focus on specific techniques, rather general style guides and some helpful tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Ideal for beginners and those who need their brain refreshing on use of Painter every few months
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as the chapters on painting using different Painter brushes are done from the
authors point of view and style of painting, which although they look good in colour are just not the way I ( and I
imagine a lot of beginners to Painter) would like to paint things (a couple are like something from a Beatles album)
Not worth the money or time buying.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Very informative. Perfect arrival and perfectly wrapped.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)