Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master digital painting
I love this book brilliant for the total beginner, very easy to read and follow. For the total beginner this book is a Must, with reference palette for both adobe photoshop and coral painter. Whats more its written in plain simple English with tips, step by step tutorials and very little jargon. If you want to try your hand at illustration digital art this is the book to...
Published on 9 Jun 2012 by star

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall but I think there is an error on p37
A good book overall. It's great for comparing Photoshop to Painter. I have downloaded a trial version of Painter and it's clear it does some things better than Photoshop. I haven't finished reading it yet, but my husband did find what appears to be an error on p37. Under the photoshop instructions step 1. you have to set the blend mode to Normal not Overlay to tint text.
Published 10 months ago by Lmac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master digital painting, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
I love this book brilliant for the total beginner, very easy to read and follow. For the total beginner this book is a Must, with reference palette for both adobe photoshop and coral painter. Whats more its written in plain simple English with tips, step by step tutorials and very little jargon. If you want to try your hand at illustration digital art this is the book to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a try, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
A great book by all intents and purposes which covers everything from understanding perspective, colours, brushes and palette mixing to speed painting plus much much more. I bought this having recently taken the digital painting plunge as a complete novice and was looking for a good starting book. The only down side is that the author has enforced her own style of painting as a guide so unless you are keen to get the same results in your own technique then this could be off putting. I would liked to have seen more on a broader range of techniques not within this art style depicted so frequently in the book but what this publication offers on other areas of digital painting is still extremely valuable information for the beginner to absorb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
A truly excellent book, well written with easy-to-follow instructions in Photoshop and Corel Painter. I was impressed by the knowledge and skill displayed by the author and the many "how to get rounds" included. The book itself is well produced and includes folded book marks on both covers for easy reference. This book is a well deserved 5 stars and I can thoroughly commend it from entry level up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good overall but I think there is an error on p37, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
A good book overall. It's great for comparing Photoshop to Painter. I have downloaded a trial version of Painter and it's clear it does some things better than Photoshop. I haven't finished reading it yet, but my husband did find what appears to be an error on p37. Under the photoshop instructions step 1. you have to set the blend mode to Normal not Overlay to tint text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been much better, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
I wouldn't recommend this to anyone as the chapters on painting using different Painter brushes are done from the
authors point of view and style of painting, which although they look good in colour are just not the way I ( and I
imagine a lot of beginners to Painter) would like to paint things (a couple are like something from a Beatles album)
Not worth the money or time buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good choice to start with for a beginner, 22 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
Easy to follow intro to painter .
Excellent Graphic's
This Artist has lots of talent
One of the Better Books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars more of one less of the other, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
how to use two popular photo software programmes for digital painting crammed into one book. more so on one programme which is annoying, especially if you have the other.
a book on each would of been by far better.
great layout, easy to read. but.. it seems that the author has a preference to the programme which she is suited to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 7 Feb 2013
By 
L. Jeffery - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
Really enjoy flipping through this book, then going back and flippping through it time and time again, reading the bits that are relevent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art (Paperback)
A very worthy read, very informative with a step by step guide. For beginners but has some great tips for everyone.
Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner: Master the Tools and Techniques of this Exciting Art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews