Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2013
A somewhat biased review here because I actually know Graham Johnson very well, but to justify my comments about the book I must state that I am an ardent Millwall supporter, and so I've never related to Graham Johnson when it comes to football. That aside, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book because you don't need to relate to West Ham particularly, because you can identify yourself with his experiences whatever team you support.
Also throughout this book were great bits about growing up and life in general, good laughs and seriousness, and no boring long sections - really well written !
Shall I give him one star ? Naah he's me mate, it's an unbiased five star *****
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
ANY OLD IRON
Can you imagine
Fever Pitch (Nick Hornby) mixed with
The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole ( Sue Townsend) with a flavour of
Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha (Roddy Doyle)
Read to you aloud with all the genuine cockney charm of Danny Baker, then you have this book.
Enjoy!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
I really enjoyed this book. It is written by a consumate Hammers fan who's love for his team comes across clearly.It is a refreshing change to read a book about football that has absolutely nothing to do with the well documented blight of our game, the violence.This book is a social document of the author's experiences growing up in and around East London. You do not need to originate from the setting to capture the flavour of the time and the central theme of his pursuit of his team ties it all together nicely.There is a comprehensive history of West Ham's fortunes over this time and some good incisive comments about not only the club but the game in general. Try it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Went everywhere looking for this book in book shops and got swamped with the usual Man Utd, Liverpool rubbish. Finally found it here (on the missus's account of course) and loved every minute of it. The way the Author describes everything makes you feel like you are there too. An excellent read, and would definitely recommend it to all Hammer fans looking for a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
a very enjoyable look in to the trials and & tribulations. of a football fan who loves his club.any fan of any club can associate themselves with some of the shananigans that go on away trips around the country.as a previous reviewer stated I am also a staunch Millwall fan.also a south Londoner,so I knew many of the places mentioned in grahams book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
I could not book this book down. Being a West Ham supporter myself, it brought back all the memories of when I used to attend matches. Having to have had the pleasure to have met the author too, was overwhelmed of this mans passion and dedication to his football knowledge, superb read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2014
A real trip down memory lane, a very entertaining and informative read from a very knowledgeable author. There was a number of games Graham attended that I was also present at, it was like turning back the clock, even the defeats (and there were a few) bought a smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
This book has been writen straight from the heart of an obviouly devoted Hammers Fan. There were sections that just forced a trip back down memory lane. Brilliant.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
A real ripping yarn full of amazing facts and data from yesteryear. Once you start reading "Any Old Iron" its difficult to put the book down as you get enthralled into the authors passion for West Ham. Full of fantastic memoroabilia and places you can relate to from the past. If you like soccer you'll love this book regardless as to whether or not you're a West Ham supporter.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Very interesting book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)