Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book
This is a great vegan dessert book. It is written by a UK/Australian author which makes a nice change as the ingredients are more easily sourced than some other vegan cook books. Many of the recipes are classically "British" like Christmas pudding, treacle tart, Eccles cakes, scones, bread & butter pudding, trifle & best of all some sponge puddings. I got the book 2 days...
Published 17 months ago by Chickpea

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Want Chocolate?
A nice book, but beware it is American!
If you like chocolate in everything than this is the book for you, I would say that about 60% of the recipes use this stuff. If like me you are allergic to chocolate then the book will be a waste of money for you.
Overall some nice recipes if you don't mind converting.
Published 9 months ago by Mrs. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 1 April 2013
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
This is a great vegan dessert book. It is written by a UK/Australian author which makes a nice change as the ingredients are more easily sourced than some other vegan cook books. Many of the recipes are classically "British" like Christmas pudding, treacle tart, Eccles cakes, scones, bread & butter pudding, trifle & best of all some sponge puddings. I got the book 2 days ago & so far have made the sticky date pudding with toffee sauce & the squidgy fruit cake which was perfect for Easter as it was full of marzipan. Both were very easy to make & absolutely delicious. There is also a lovely looking cheesecake & a tiramisu. The recipes are easy to follow with not too many ingredients & it is full of pictures which is again often sadly lacking in vegan cook books. If you want a book with a great range of vegan desserts I don't think you can go wrong with this one. I can't wait to make some more!
Update May 2013
I've now made the vitality cake which is made without any fat & no added sugar & the double fudge pecan brownies. Both were simple to make & delicious. This really is a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine book, 24 Sep 2012
By 
Paul Freestone (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book, a genuinely inspiring compilation of fantastic recipes with stunning photographs. Sometimes you really can't tell a book by the cover, but this one has a very appealing jacket and the contents don't disappoint. And the title says it all - these definitely are divine desserts with everything from cakes, pies, pastries, cheesecakes and ice creams included. When eating out the choice of vegan puds is frequently non-existent, but if this book was widely used in the catering trade then it could be the catalyst for a revolution - devine vegan desserts available in every coffee shop and high st restaurant. I simply can't recommend this book too highly. It's the best vegan baking book that I've ever seen, and it's superb value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 27 Dec 2012
By 
R. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
I'm really impressed with this book, it has some fantastic recipes in it and is also extremely useful in that it gives recipes for basic things like caramel, custard, homemade soya cream etc that make it really easy to veganise non-vegan recipes from other books. I used the recipes for soya cream and caramel to veganise a recipe for chocolate & salted caramel tart and it went down a treat with vegans & non-vegans alike. I've also made the hazelnut & mocha mousse cupcakes (amazing!), the lime tart (unusual and delicious) and several batches of soya cream (who'd have known it was so easy to make soya milk into cream?!) which has saved me a fortune as it's pretty expensive to buy and not always available. Looking forward to making more things out of this book in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Vegan Desserts, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
Making a Vegan dessert is quite a challenge - if you want a change from fruit! The recipes are clearly explained and the pictures are irrestible. An excellent price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Ms. Lesley Adam "Miny" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
This book is better than I expected. Lots of good photos and lots of recipes for many different cakes, puddings, biscuits etc. Very good price too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great!, 11 Jun 2013
By 
L. J. Thompson "LadyLivvie" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
We were looking for a book which would help us still enjoy delicious desserts, treats and ice creams whilst going vegan, and this is definitely the one. I was really surprised that it wasn't higher up on the amazon recommendation list for vegan cookbooks. It was well laid out, easy to follow, didn't list too many hard to source ingredients and had loads of great colour pictures, which may not seem important, but it does make certain recipes catch your eye. We particularly enjoyed he vanilla ice cream recipe, so simple and yet delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 29 May 2013
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
Initially borrowed this book from my local library, loved it so much I bought a copy. My toddler has an egg allergy & have had great trouble finding an egg free dessert book that doesn't have primarily boring fruit only recipes or egg replacer recipes in it. Has opened a new world of cooking to me, the recipes are delicious, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Vegan Deserts, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
Baked some for my son as he has a dairy problem..... he loved them. Need to try some more recipes now lol.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Divine Vegan Desserts, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
This book is absolutely fabulous! I have made a couple of cakes from the book and have been amazed at how easy it is to be vegan and enjoy cruelty free cakes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes (Paperback)
I haven't had time to make any of these cakes yet but I have looked at the gorgeous photos and read through the recipes. They are easy to follow and I can't wait to start trying some of the finished products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Divine Vegan Desserts: Over 100 Delectable Dairy- and Egg-free Recipes
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews