Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Waterton A Great Test Pilot
This man lost his job, because he could see what was wrong with the British aircraft industries, So many pilots lost their lives because no one would listen to the pilots about problems they found.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. D. Hughes

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - shame about the print quality
This is a very interesting book, by one of the leading test pilots during the post-WW2 years - one who was prepared to "rock the boat" with the bosses of aviation companies in the quest for a better aircraft.
It is a shame then that this print edition lets it down, with the typesetting arranged to maximise the number of words on a page at the cost of very...
Published 15 months ago by Colin H


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill Waterton A Great Test Pilot, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. Hughes "Oldbiker" (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
This man lost his job, because he could see what was wrong with the British aircraft industries, So many pilots lost their lives because no one would listen to the pilots about problems they found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant glimpse into 1950s aviation in Britain, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. Thomas Butler "Headinabook" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
A major company in decline immediately after a revolutionary breakthrough described by their chief test pilot who was left in disgust at the way he was treated - superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britains aircraft indutry, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
Very interesting and a real insght into the successess and the ultimate failure of our aircraft industry,
Mr Waterton doesn't pull any punches about the mismanagement of what was once a world leading industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Quick & the Dead, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
Interesting book from a very forthright man! Illustrates the perils of test flying & the interference of politics in aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He should have written more about his reporting days, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
It is a very interetsing read along with "Empire of the clouds" and I think that today we still have a muddled MOD and competition between the three forces all to the detriment of the poor old squadies. Surely the MOD has got to be the most incompetent purchasing people on the planet. i.e Chinooks that can't fly Carriers with no planes, the Yanks fly Harriers and we bin them and what about all those things we don't hear about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How it really was., 26 Aug 2013
By 
Giovanni Abrate (Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
This is a great book. I read the original edition years ago and I must say that it captures the reader and presents a very realistic picture of the relationship between the aircraft designers and the test pilots flying their creations. I was a test pilot in the UK in the 1970s and I can vouch that not much had changed even then. As I kept reading, I kept seeing parallels with instances that I had experienced in my working life. This is a great book that gives the reader a taste of how it really was to work as a test pilot in post-WW2 England. I wish I could have met the author: he must have been a fantastic raconteur (he was a truly talented pilot, of course)! Highly recommended book for any aeroplane lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book - shame about the print quality, 2 April 2013
By 
Colin H (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
This is a very interesting book, by one of the leading test pilots during the post-WW2 years - one who was prepared to "rock the boat" with the bosses of aviation companies in the quest for a better aircraft.
It is a shame then that this print edition lets it down, with the typesetting arranged to maximise the number of words on a page at the cost of very narrow margins. There are also alot (too many) of typos which makes one believe the book was never proof read before publication.
This spoils the reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
Cover 4/5 Main and sub title pretty accurate for the period.

Contents

Recommended to read this book by the author of Empire of the Clouds. From the descriptions of relationships between the owners, makers and the pilots it is a wonder the author lived.

His views on the British Aircraft industry of the time are pretty damming.

Given TSR2 and more recently Nimrod cancellations one wonders if much has changed.

I will read again sometime and the book will go on my bookshelf.

Alexander of the Allrighters and Ywnwab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Is This Really How it was Done?, 13 May 2014
By 
Dr. J. Z. Blankenstein "Lightkeeper" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
This re-issue of Bill Waterton's memoirs made me angry. His final chapter condemnation of the British aircraft industry and why it failed should be read by the decision makers before they get a kick in the backside and told to get on with it. As it was written in the mid 1950's it's almost certainly too late for aviation but there are still other bits. The fact that management could ignore their test pilots if they didn't like what they said is appalling - bit like the pharmaceutical industry.. If the tests don't give the answer you want, ask a different question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brave and highly skilled pilot but, alas, a voice in the wilderness, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Quick and the Dead (Hardcover)
I recommend Bill Waterton's book without reservation
It is no wonder that the British Aircraft industry went into terminal decline after WW2. Even though it had first class craftsmen, technicians and Engineers, the combination of incompetent senior management and indifferent civil servants was too much of a millstone around the Industry's neck.
Test pilots of Waterton's skill, courage and bravery were the real heroes of the Industry, without whom the end would have come a lot sooner. Many RAF and RN pilots owe their lives to Bill Waterton's skill and experience, as he doggedly refused to allow basically unsafe aircrft to be released for squadron duty. My admiration for him grew steadily as I read this book as he confronted the gutless "company" men who were prepared to sign off aircraft that were clearly unfit to fly, let alone defend our country.

.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Quick and the Dead
The Quick and the Dead by William Arthur Waterton (Hardcover - 14 Nov 2012)
9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews