Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macarons - Pierre Herme
A beautiful book
I have many macaron cook books but this is by far the best of them all
very simple details explaination how to cook perfect macarons with many unusual flavors
Highly recommended for macaron addicted.
Published on 30 Oct 2011 by Minh

versus
84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely for inspiration but beware!
Pages 13-23 are invaluable as they provide a step-by-step guide to making macarons which are tricky little beasts to get right. Although even here there are some details I take issue with, first Pierre doesn't tell you what size nozzle to pipe with (it's a plain 1cm diameter that you need) and I dispute cooking the macarons at 180 in a fan oven, 150 is enough or they're...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by M. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

84 of 87 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely for inspiration but beware!, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
Pages 13-23 are invaluable as they provide a step-by-step guide to making macarons which are tricky little beasts to get right. Although even here there are some details I take issue with, first Pierre doesn't tell you what size nozzle to pipe with (it's a plain 1cm diameter that you need) and I dispute cooking the macarons at 180 in a fan oven, 150 is enough or they're in danger of colouring (I teach people to make macarons so I know a bit about it). The rest of the book is great for inspiration, beautiful photos and imaginative flavours. But Pierre does this professionally so quantities are bonkers, every recipe make 72 macarons which is a bit much for the average baker, so you have to halve everything. Pierre also uses very high quality products that are hard to find like Valrhona Manjari couverture chocolate, La Viette sweet butter from Charentes, dried jasmine petals - you get the picture. So some of the basic guides are good but the rest of the book is inspirational rather than practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A rubbish translation, 9 Oct 2013
By 
D. Wood "Dave the Lock" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
The French version may be accurate but the English version is littered with very obvious mistakes. Recipe lists where the ingredients don't match the procedures, missing essential parts from the procedures, cooking temperatures that are wrong etc. If you follow the the recipes blindly you will be very upset with the results. The writer needs to get a better French/English translator or a decent proof reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Macarons - Pierre Herme, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
A beautiful book
I have many macaron cook books but this is by far the best of them all
very simple details explaination how to cook perfect macarons with many unusual flavors
Highly recommended for macaron addicted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent recipes but some errors, 7 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
A comprehensive and authoritative guide full of imaginative recipes. The detailed step-by-step guides are excellent. The only thing that stopped this getting 5 stars is some sloppy proof-reading that means the recipes need to be studied with care. For example, on p69 in the second last paragraph the instruction should be to blend the peach (not apricot) flesh. On p133 the ingredient "3g gelatine leaves (for leaves weighing 2g each)" is ambiguous as to whether 3 x 2g or 1.5 x 2g leaves are required. Sometimes ingredients are listed which do not appear in the instructions. These are only occasional minor errors but a shame that an excellent book has been slightly let down by poor proofing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book for Macaron lovers, 18 Oct 2011
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
As an amateur artisan baker I have many books written by Pierre Herme. In my opinion this book is his best as it covers both the technical side and athestic (artistic) side of macaron-making, while his other books (PH10, Plaisirs sucrés, Chocolate Desserts, Le Larousse de...) are more artistic and not technically clear about details of each step in pastry-making. Although I've had other macaron books, this one still is an outstanding source of inspiration and technical guide. A must-read for Macaron lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, inspiring recipes, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
I bought this book after lots of dithering, but I'm so glad I did. Macarons is divided up into sections, with a little intro to Pierre Herme at the front, followed by a detailed description of macaron-making, alongside clear photographs. The recipes are divided up into Classics, Fetish Flavours, Signature, Made-to-Order and Exceptions. The macarons turn out beautifully, and are delicious.

The book has a few smaller issues to note. One is that for my oven, 180˚C is far too hot, and I have reduced it to 160˚C and made them much more successfully this way. Another point is that many of the ingredients are hard to source in the UK, for example trablit coffee extract, cacao pate, valrhona....Nevertheless, this is a minor issue - many of these ingredients can be easily substituted with easier-to-find alternatives.

Overall, Macarons is an excellent guide and I will be baking with gusto from this book, for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I got the concept, 20 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
I love what Pierre Herme has done with this book. I am not sure that the aim is to copy what he has done, but to get you thinking on how to create your own Macarons, try to copy Pierre and you will be frustrated because many of the ingredients are not easy to come by. My first batch of Macarons I made were Coconut Macarons which involved using Coconut natural extract in the shell and Coconut oil and more coconut extract in the filing. It was divine for my first trial.

I bought my ground almonds from Sainsbury's and it was not finely grounded, after sifting the almonds only 100g of the 200g was finely grounded. In the end I decided it will be a waste to throw 100g away and that had an impact on the presentation of the shell. It was not smooth at all, but it tasted good.

The book is inspirational and highly recommended for anyone who is patient and skilled to produce these delicate munchies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but poor sourcing information, 13 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
Tried a few recipes and macarons looked and tasted as they do when you buy them in Pierre Herme shops. Detailed instructions, and useful pointers, unlike many other macaron books. Macaron flavours unique and different, sometimes very different (caviar, gherkin, truffle, even ketchup). A great book and certainly the best macaron book out there.

On the negative. the section on suppliers is pretty appalling however and could have been better researched; many I tried to track down either are based abroad and do not do any form of mail order, or deal with trade only (so what on earth is the point of including them?). Few (I daresay not a single person) will notice the difference between rose water from an obscure producer/supplier versus supermarket bought equivalents that are readily available, once you have diluted it all out and baked it in the oven. Meanwhile, there is very poor (or typically no) sourcing information for things that are harder to get hold of (e.g. food grade titanium oxide, from a reputable supplier). A few recipes also call for things you will probably struggle to source even in Paris (e.g. butter from specific districts in France), though these can be readily substituted. Perhaps these issues can be amended for future editions?

Word of advice also on the recipes; the amount of colouring appears to refer to fairly concentrated gel colours. Using UK supermarket brands of food colouring necessitates a rough doubling of the amount to achieve the characteristic vibrant PIerre Herme macaron.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As you would expect from Pierre Herme, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
You can never go wrong with a Pierre Herme book and this one is no exception, a master at his trade of patiserie the details are exact and if you only buy one macaron book buy this one (I have eleven macaron books!!) Invaluable expert advice, thank you for sharing your expertise with us Pierre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English version, 24 Nov 2011
This review is from: Macarons (Hardcover)
Finally found the english version and its awesome, The pictures leave you drooling at the mouth and I have yet to attempt making some of these unusual recipes. I actually went to his shop in france and got to try some. Delish!! I would recommend this book to anyone who loves macarons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macarons
Macarons by Pierre Herme (Hardcover - 19 Sep 2011)
£15.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews