Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!! - use it like a bible for smoking food!, 17 Aug. 2012
By 
Ms. K. Driesel "KatieD" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
This book is a brilliant way to learn how to smoke your own food at home - and also build your own smoker (if you so wish)!
Very in-depth and informative, Smoky Jo (and Georgina) take you through what the difference between hot and cold smoking is and how to prepare your food prior to smoking it. It includes all measurements and timings for brining/curing and also for smoking any type of food. The book gives you recipe ideas for flavouring your food before smoking and also recipes what to do with it afterwards. Furthermore it introduces you to all kinds of smokers, commercial and home-built.
Verdict: - If you are smoking your own food already or you are just wanting to start, this book is like a bible to read up on everything you need to know about smoking your own food.

And if you want to find out even more from Smoky Jo (and Georgina) you can attend their food smoking course :-) Fabulous!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you know a chef or keen cook forget Jamie, Delia etc THIS BOOK WON'T END UP ON A SHELF (and may need replacing !!), 22 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
Being a chef (and landlord) passionate about food I have bought, read, borrowed, thrown away & avoided countless books on surely all areas of cooking, catering and hospitality.

This book is an absolute 'keeper'.

Concise, factual, informative and above all accessible to ANYONE with a passion for food. You can smoke food IN YOUR OWN HOME for next to nothing ! Not only does this book have full instruction on food smoking - it also tells you how you can purchase, and from where, basic equipment that won't break the bank upto the "plus grande pose" food smokers.

"Smoky Jo" is a leading source of information for not only local food (Cumbria) but a definitive source for food smoking, I doubt you could find more information in 20 books on the same subject.

Buy a chef or passionate cook you know a book they will use, best money you'll spend !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 8 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
I have bought a number of books on smoking and can honestly say this is the easiest to read and understand and after reading it I no longer treat the smoking of food as a black art.

From the basics of smoking, types of smoker, how to make your own smoker, brines etc it should be a must for every home smoker and I'm sure will become the "goto" book for almost all modern food smoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book - Informative, well written, easy to read, well illustrated & current., 17 May 2013
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
This book is so easy and enjoyable to read. I've bought several books on smoking but this gives you all the info' you need, it is well illustrated with photos and illustrations, is well laid out and is the easiest of my smoking books to get through.

The book covers the process of hot and cold smoking, has pre-smoking brine and salting recipes, talks about flavourings, includes a huge range of different foods to smoke, includes recipes in which to incorporate your food once smoked, it explains the range of commercial or home-made equipment you can use to do your smoking and there's more, more, more!

I've attended Smoky Jo's food smoking course, if this book was available at that time I would have purchased only this smoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best smoker book yet., 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
I have bought many food smoking books recently but this is absolutely the bees knees.

Highly informative, easy to read and everything covered to show you the way to your first smoke.

The information is not so technical that it give you brain overload.

Follow the instructions and it works. We have had a whole hot smoked chicken, mackeral, salmon and duck for Sunday lunch today after my first attempt at hot smoking.

My first attempt at cold smoking produced smoked salmon, cheese, nuts, olives and some sunblush tomatoes.

There were lots of recipes for brines to get you started.

If you want to have a go at smoking your own, get this book first. Brilliant!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible of smoking, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
This has everything you need to know about home smoking, from beginner to experienced smoker. Everything is clearly laid out, there are loads of recipes and inspiration to try your own. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb book, 8 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
I've wanted to learn to smoke for years and was put off by all the technicalities and complicated spiel I have come across in other books. Well, no more! This book is clear, concise and complete. Every thing is covered, and simply. It is well laid out, interesting and entertaining. You really do not need another book on smoking. They have, after years of experience, broken all the information down into easy to understand language. There are some great recipes to try out, but it also gives you the confidence to experiment. I have used this book to great success. I cannot recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo, 12 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
bought for my husband. It was everything he was looking for in the process of making a smoker. Now he can get cracking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
A. J. Logan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
I can only agree with other reviewers that this is the 'must have' book if you are interested in having a go at home smoking. Written in a direct, no nonsense style it will give you the confidence you need to get started and the inspiration to experiment for yourself.

Lots of sound, practical advice and ideas from how to make your own smoker to preparing a brine. Don't mistake the lightness of style for hasty oversimplification: the content has clearly been carefully thought through by people who know their subject and who present it in an enthusiastic, easy-to-read/use way. And if the rainbow trout we smoked a couple of days ago is anything to go by, you really can't go wrong: it was delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 4 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo (Paperback)
This is a brilliant introduction to smoking your own food - easy-to-use, concise, beautifully illustrated and well-written. I was lucky enough to get this book and a stovetop smoker for my birthday recently, and have been trying out various different recipes to great effect. I had always thought smoking food was a bit of a secret art, but it turns out, with help from this guide, anyone can smoke delicious food. I'm looking forward to trying some cold smoking next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo
Smoking Food at Home with Smoky Jo by Jo Hampson (Paperback - 30 May 2012)
Used & New from: £12.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews