Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and at times challenging perspective on the immigration issue.
This book will upset those who champion immigration as 'a good thing' by definition and refuse to accept any other viewpopint. It looks at the history of immigration into the UK and explodes a few politically convenient myths along the way. It asks some serious questions about the real reasons why there was a dramatic increase (by historical standards) after 2000 and...
Published 19 months ago by Steve Hewitt

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Concerning
Whilst we can reasonably ascertain that immigration slightly benefits our economy (with the exception of the working class) in the short term the same cannot be said of its social impact. Ed West relentlessly bombards the reader with facts, stories and quotes in trying to grapple with the consequences of immigration on the UK's social capital although he appears short...
Published 3 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting and at times challenging perspective on the immigration issue., 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will upset those who champion immigration as 'a good thing' by definition and refuse to accept any other viewpopint. It looks at the history of immigration into the UK and explodes a few politically convenient myths along the way. It asks some serious questions about the real reasons why there was a dramatic increase (by historical standards) after 2000 and whether or not sufficient thought was given to the social and cultural implications for the country, for the indigenous population and for the immigrants themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Examination Of How We Have Handled Immigration, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of those books that probably most needs to be read by the sort of people least likely to touch it.

However even for those already sceptical about the virtues of multiculturalism, diversity and mass immigration there is plenty in here to think about. Ed West examines the dogmas and platitudes associated with diversity and repeatedly finds that the virtues are often merely assumed rather than tested. The costs of immigration have generally been ignored or attributed to the bigotry of those who bear them.

The author is adept at drawing on different areas of research from social psychology to economics to support the claims he makes. A reader wouldn't have to agree with everything he says to become better informed about the issue.

One of the most illuminating chapters was about the rise in authoritarianism that has accompanied multiculturalism- we have for example effectively reintroduced blasphemy law by the back door in order to maintain the harmony between different religious groups. This should not have surprised anyone who is familiar with how ethnic tensions are kept under wraps in India, Singapore or any other ethnically divided country but none of the advocates of mass immigration seem to have seen it coming.

The tone of the book is important too, immigration sceptics are frequently characterised as ignorant and angry racists who dislike people who are different to them. The calm yet good humoured writing along with the solid grounding in facts makes it difficult to portray the Diversity Illusion in this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 18 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Diversity Illusion covers the topic of mass immigration into Great Britain from every possible angle. It is very well researched and the tone of the book is calm and logical, never hysterical or alarmist for the sake of it. The author explains why the indigenous population will be in the minority in the later half of this century and how and why we have come to this situation. There are many facts and figures in this book which will surprise the reader. Most importantly, Ed West debunks the myth that immigration is good for the economy, and that in fact, it does not make a jot of difference. Immigration damages the working poor and has enabled the government to sidestep the issues of welfare dependency and low pay. It has also made Britain more segregated and divided.

If you are interested in this issue - read this book. It is a real eye-opener and will leave the reader well informed on this very important topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book that should be read by all, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
Charles "mrfreedom" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diversity Illusion: What We Got Wrong About Immigration & How to Set It Right (Paperback)
They say we read to know we're not alone, and West's book certainly proves that. This is the book I've been writing in my head for the last 15 years, but haven't got round to penning due to being too angry, too lazy and not talented enough.

In clear and readable fashion, West articulates how diversity has virtually NOTHING going for it, and virtually EVERYTHING against it - common sense, logic and human nature all point in opposite directions. So why are we in the situation we are in? West explains the reasons, from the Holocaust to the violence in 1950s Notting Hill to the growth of state-sponsored multiculturalism - and it's enough to make you weep.

He brilliantly explodes every pro-diversity myth you've ever heard (and schoolchildren are now being taught as fact). His wide-ranging knowledge of history, psychology, religion and science is continually brought to the fore, and he writes with wit and knowingness.

Virtually every page has a few excellent points about how mass immigration and diversity has been a bad thing. Curiously, this is both refreshing and depressing, but at least it gives the willing reader sound arguments (if only we were brave enough to make them!).

West exposes the disastrous policies of Labour governments - Conservative governments aren't blame-free, but it's largely Labour administrations' fault, particularly the 1945-51 and 1997-2010 ones, that Britain has been poisoned - and you wonder how anyone could possibly ever vote Labour again after reading this book. West demonstrates how everything Labour has done has betrayed their original voters and intentions, the cruel irony being that the welfare state (birthed through national unity), was set up in the same parliament as the British Nationality Act, which led to the mass immigration of the 1950s and beyond (which led to disunity).

This book, probably the best of many I've read on the subject, made my head move around a lot: shaking it sadly and slowly from side to side when reading of the UK's disastrous policies over the last 60 years, to nodding it vigorously in agreement when West skewers the issue once again and nails liberal fallacies. If I was a billionaire I'd arrange for a copy to be put in every hotel room in the land.

PS Minor declaration of interest: I worked very, very briefly with Ed West at Front, no less, more than ten years ago (but he won't remember me). Then when he was at Nuts and I was at FHM I saw him at parties occasionally. I never ever would have guessed then that he had a superb book like this inside him! Well done Ed, this is a triumph, and well done for being so brave to write it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the best books I have read so fare on immigration, 2 Feb. 2015
By 
Mr. S. Walsh (kilkenny , ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the best books I have read so fare on immigration , the fact that the left and the right are so into on limited immigration . The left because it shows there so called liberal credentials . While with the right and especially different business owners they can get cheap labour pushing out native workers . And most immigration's wont join a union and will work for less money . A fact most unions will over look and not help the native workers for fear of being labelled as raciest . How ever one of the most interesting facts in the book was the way the former PriMinster of England Tony Blear could not get enough immigrants' into the country to break the old social order .
But it also covers the history of immigration over the generations into England and while for a long while in England and other European country the new immigrants' all became part of the country they were living it and see them self as English . With the advent of technology and larger number of immigrants . They are living in ghettoes and in a lot of case don't wont to learn the language of the country they are living in. And this is especially the case in the Muslim community .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Relentless but incontroverible, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even before the Equality Act, every public and most private body in the UK paid homage to "diversity" on the basis of the glibly unexamined assumption that more diversity would make us all happier and burnish the halo of moral rectitude of those promoting the idea. Ed West cooly dismantles this, using a vast array of evidence to demonstrate that "diversity" not only has no democratic support but how its promotion is liable to have effects that run counter to the benevolent effects assumed by the proponents of diversity. The book is very much focused on the experience of the UK and can be seen as a companion to the wider perspective of mass migration into Europe analysed by Christopher Caldwell's "Reflections on the Revolution in Europe".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (sadly) spot on, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent review of how Britain finds itself unable to discuss the most profound change to have occurred to it outside of war. the Orwellian references are brilliant, the Left having proscribed the language necessary to question immigration. A super read if frustrating / depressing given the demographic (Islamisation) time bomb that European nation states face today. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A refreshing look at the multiculturalism issue- saying how it is. It shows that we have come so far along the road that it is difficult for politicians to admit their mistakes. Esay to read and understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worrying look at the shape of things to come ..., 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A worrying look at the shape of things to come in the UK. Spot on with what it says about mass immigration not being part of any overt manifesto yet it has happened without any of our collective consent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am happy with controlled immigration and I am married to a ..., 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's as if someone read my mind and wrote a book. I am happy with controlled immigration and I am married to a new immigrant from another culture. With controlled immigration England could gain so much but with uncontrolled immigration England is losing everything. Many people these days speak of culture but it seems they only value it if it is non-white etc. As a visitor to England I can say that English traditional culture is as beautiful and special as any. Any who are ashamed of their Englishness, history and traditions don't deserve to live there (native or new immigrant!).
One memory in England of this was there was a garbage man who was told to stop wearing a St George bandana because it was a divisive symbol. Absolutely appalling and would never happen in in another country that you can't wear your own country's symbol. The man was a West-Indian by the way.
This ridiculous way of thinking isn't just in England though. Some years ago a colleague of mine said he visited my home town. He despised it because it was "too white". I thought to myself would he dare say something similar if he went to Africa? As in England where I live the biggest supporters of diversity tend to live in the trendy, least diverse suburbs.
As this book states there can be no open discussion on any topic like this, our world has gone mad and I can't see it changing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diversity Illusion: What We Got Wrong About Immigration & How to Set It Right
Used & New from: £14.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews