Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Footballing Read, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
Mr. D. W. Potter (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scottish Football: It's Not All About the Old Firm (Paperback)
This is a good book for those who enjoy the idea that there are more than two teams in Scotland. In recent decades it would have to be said that the performances of non-Old Firm teams have been woeful, with a particular tendency to "blow up" in the League competition, sometimes after a good start, to sell players irrespective of the wishes of their supporters whose intelligence they sometimes insult with "market forces" and "we didn't want to stand in his way" sort of claptrap, and to collapse pitifully in Europe - and then wonder why they are not well supported by their community! This book tries to redress the balance to a certain extent, and the author has done a good job in collating material. The photographs are good, but there is perhaps an over-reliance on players' memories - some of which are faulty and most of which are economical with the truth on occasion. Some funny stories, some less than totally believable ones like the ghosts which bothered Raith Rovers at a hotel in the Cleish Hills, but the narrative is always punchy and those who wish to recall their own team's triumphs will enjoy reading the relevant chapters. A good book for most football supporters.
David Potter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What Scottish football fans have been screaming out for., 28 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scottish Football: It's Not All About the Old Firm (Paperback)
A top, top book. I bought this book as a Dundee United fan but it offers so much more. We all know how our teams triumphed but the author has done a brilliant job in re-telling the stories through the eyes of the players, managers and coaches who helped to make history for their clubs. Dundee United's league win and two Scottish Cup wins are charted through the memories of club legends. The author has done a great in doing more than 100 interviews covering ever Scottish non-Old Firm success from the 1980s to last season's Scottish Cup final. A book I am sure that will appeal to fans of Aberdeen, Hearts, Hibs, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, Livingston, St Mirren and Raith Rovers. Also a bargain at less than a tenner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Read, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you're a non-old firm fan then this is the book for you, Plenty of good football reading filled with nostalgia of when there were more than 2 teams in Scottish Football(only 1 now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good well researched book, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A most absorbing read, read about the success of teams outside of the old firm, filled with fascinating players and managers views. The only down side is that it did not go back to the 1950's and 60's to reflect on the league successes of Killie, Dundee, Hibs and Hearts, still well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paper Roses, 12 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent look at the glory of teams outside the old firm. It is not biased against Rangers or Celtic but so much is written about their achievements that this is a nice read about other teams winning trophies. Especially when two chapters are based on Kilmarnock cup victories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book !!, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
J. F. M. Low "Gazrock" (Pethshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good product to buy !! Worth reading and gives a good account of Scottish football especially in the last 25 years !! Aberdeen and Dundee Utd's glory years are well documented !! A great buy for any football fan !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scottish Football: It's Not All About the Old Firm
Scottish Football: It's Not All About the Old Firm by Scott Burns (Paperback - 1 Aug. 2012)
£12.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews