Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking..................But true
I had been looking for this book for some time and when I finally found a copy I was not disappointed. Hard hitting and in some ways totally SHOCKING. Shocking in a way whereby the historical British attitude on the legal system is that you are innocent until proven guilty. Dave Jones proves that this is 100% incorrect - It appears that if you are accused of the vile...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by S. Wheeler

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING BOOK
very much a book of anger and frustration due to the court case and developments surrounding same.
wish the guy well and hope he can move on with his life after such a traumaic experience.
Published 17 months ago by Mr. P. B. Parker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking..................But true, 26 Oct 2009
I had been looking for this book for some time and when I finally found a copy I was not disappointed. Hard hitting and in some ways totally SHOCKING. Shocking in a way whereby the historical British attitude on the legal system is that you are innocent until proven guilty. Dave Jones proves that this is 100% incorrect - It appears that if you are accused of the vile crimes that he was the attitude is you are guilty until you can prove your innocence? It stunned me that this process happened in the last ten years - we are not talking 30/40 years ago when police corruption was rife?

Dave pulls no punches and there are lucid and heart warming contributions from Dave's wife Ann also - Both are to be congratulated in putting pen to paper.

Hard hitting, yes, shocking, yes, thought provoking, certainly.

A must buy and I would recommend to anyone, not just football fans.

PS - And I am an ardent Bristol City fan. We are not meant to like anything to do with our friends from across the Severn - But I certainly liked Dave Jones's book and certainly the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courage and dignity in the face of erroneous allegations, 24 Aug 2009
Although far from being a literary masterpiece, Dave Jones's book (ghost written by Andrew Warshaw, who is one of the UK's top freelance football journalists) presents a no-holds-barred personal account of the total upheaval suffered by Jones and his family following the ultimately discredited allegations of child abuse brought against him.

Dave's wife Ann also makes a significant contribution to the telling of the story, and adds her views on the turmoil and upset including press intrusion, family bereavement and difficult relationships with management of Southapton football club, the police and social services.

The book contains moving moments of black humour from Jones's players, as well as an insight into the support and camaraderie received from his fellow managers including Sir Alex Ferguson.

Readers of the book will probably inevitably know the outcome of the story, but the colour and detail provided throughout the book paint a very honest and moving picture of an innocent man whose life is torn apart by groundless allegations.

It must take guts and determination to survive such a trial, and possibly require the same to commit the facts to print to ensure that the record is put straight. Jones emerges as a man of dignity and courage
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great combination of sport and true life drama, 23 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book to anyone, not just football fans but be prepared to be angry as what happened to the author could have taken lesser people to the brink of suicide or worse. Shining through the book is the loyal support of his family and his wife Ann regularly adds telling touches to the text. All in all a great read that I couldn't put down and the combination of football at the highest level and reality is brilliantly told
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brave man indeed!, 24 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. J. E. Adams "jeauk" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great read - even if you are not a football fan. Dave Jones, and his wife, have been very brave in describing the anguish they went through and are still, obviously, going through. Unfortunately there will always be those who believe in no smoke without fire and, sadly, a good number happen to be football supporters; the mindless version, of course. If football clubs had any sense of decency these types of supporters, who can be identified with CCTV and via stewards, should be banned from ever attending any football game.
It would have been very easy not to write an autobiography and to try and forget about what happened, however the book does highlight a number of issues and concerns - with the police and CPS not coming out of the episode in a good light; and this is an understatement. Let's hope they have learned some lessons.
One suggestion from Dave Jones is that there should be a ruling that allows accusers, who have blatantly , for whatever, reason told lies - in the case of Dave Jones, for financial reward - to have their identities released. Will this suggestion be adopted ? Probably not, as it will be opposed on human rights/data protection grounds. Something the `system' failed to address for Dave Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 17 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I knew Dave during his Stockport County days, when I worked for him as a scout. He is a smashing bloke and has fully deserved the successes he has worked so damn hard to achieve.

Reading about the disruption to his life and family the false acqusations caused to him, hurts me just to read about it all. it must have been an awful trauma to suffer and I am truly pleased that Dave rode above it and has shone through.

A great purchase and interesting read. I am glad it's on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIPPING, 31 Jan 2011
While this may seem like just another book by yet another football person, the rubbish that the police and the media put Dave Jones through makes compelling and jaw-dropping reading. The dark days of his arrest over child abuse allegations are very well articulated in this book and it will make your skin creep as you see how the behaviour of a few police officers made his life and his family a living nightmare.

It took me just three days to read this book, a record for me, which gives you some indication of the drama in its pages. This may not win any prizes for writing but for real life drama there cannot be too many more compelling books around. Well recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this book wil inspire others, 24 July 2009
By 
M. Tobin "cardiff74" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i throughley enjoyed this book and could not put it down .if dave jones wasnt the man he was he would not have one is case a case that should never have come to court that part of his life that he writes about was quite frightening at times for him and his family and his friends .He also writes about his love of everton and still loves them to this day and all the great players he played with and against and tells some nice stories about his time there .i am so glad that i read this book i think its a book which that will inspire many people .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no smoke no fire, 13 July 2009
No Smoke, No Fire: The Autobiography of Dave Jones
A very moving account of the sheer hell a very decent and honest man and his family endured. Very readable I couldn't put it down, although it moved me to tears. Written with honesty it is also humorous in parts. Highly recommended I loved it. I hope the success of this book will bring the writer the respect he so deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real eye opener. I am a Sheffield Wednesday fan and really wished things had work out better for Dave at Wednesday but after reading this book I have come to understand what obstacles must have been in his way at Hillsborough. I would recommend this book to any football fan or non football fan. The parts that cover what happened to Dave regards his court must have been the toughest time in his and his family lives and the book does show you this. Overall this is a fantastic read and shows things are not just black and white in life and in football.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could he be the one who will get Cardiff up or will it be another false dawn?, 28 Oct 2009
I bought this book on one of the days Jones was doing a book signing in which I managed to get it signed which I thank him for.

As for the book itself it was interesting reading about his playing career playing for Everton and going to Hong Kong for abit but to me his managerial career was a more interesting read from his days at Southport and working part time at a care home for children with bad backgrounds(more on that later) and then working as youth coach and then first team coach at Stockport with manager Danny Bergara then becoming manager himself and getting Stockport to its highest postion and reach the semi final in the league cup, two good seasons at Southampton, getting Wolves promoted to Premeirship through the playoffs(day after Cardiff got promoted in Cardiff!) and reaching the FA cup final and just missing the playoffs by a goal with my team Cardiff, I hope he does get that chance to prove and redeem himself only time will tell.

Then theres the sensitive part about the charges of child abuse brought upon him and how it affected him and his family and how it was overturned by the judge. As you read the book you feel upset on how anyone can ruin anybodys personal life and family by making false accusations as is the case with most high profile names these days.

The book itself was an enjoyable but I wish he would've held out abit longer till something good happened like getting promotion/trophy with a good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Smoke, No Fire: The Autobiography of Dave Jones
No Smoke, No Fire: The Autobiography of Dave Jones by Dave Jones (Paperback - 14 Oct 2011)
6.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews