Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've just Got to Get it
Wonderful book, great illustrations and is a throw back to days when football was more important than anything else, Superbly written and put together. ITV Sunday Afternoons is an absolute gem "Sunday dinner that had taken Mum hours was wolfed down in two minutes" spot on!! To appreciate this book fully I would say that you had to be around in the Seventies, it's magical...
Published on 14 Oct. 2011 by Spencer The Halfwit

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Font too small for Kindle Fire
I think the book subject is great. However the font is too small to read comfortably and cannot be made larger. It is disappointing as I have an eye impairment anyway but even with the use of glasses the print is tiny.
Published 18 months ago by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You've just Got to Get it, 14 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
Wonderful book, great illustrations and is a throw back to days when football was more important than anything else, Superbly written and put together. ITV Sunday Afternoons is an absolute gem "Sunday dinner that had taken Mum hours was wolfed down in two minutes" spot on!! To appreciate this book fully I would say that you had to be around in the Seventies, it's magical stuff it really is and the writers are to be congratulated, Well Done.
This book has saved me hours of boring Christmas shopping I shall simply buy a dozen and send them out.....I'm so chuffed I've Got It.(Crimond)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a scorcher!, 10 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
Anyone who spent time collecting Panini stickers, Shoot annuals or dreaming about owning late 70's Admiral football strips will love this book. After an initial curious flick, I found myself engrossed again in the trivia that so preoccupied my life between the age of 5 and 15 and laughing until my ribs hurt. The opening quote of the book from Ron Atkinson sets the tone. Really enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book, 18 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
If there's anyone in your life who attended football when it was still good (60s- 80s) buy them this book and they'll love you forever. You won't get much conversation out of them for a while, but when you see them smiling contentedly and chuckling away to themselves, you'll know that you've done a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got, Got, Got to read this!, 10 Nov. 2011
By 
J. Paterson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
As a self-confessed football nut and nostalgia junky, I waited eagerly for this book to drop through my letterbox. I wasn't disappointed. Visually rich and crammed full of fabulous artifacts from my youth Got, Not Got was a complete and utter joy from start to finish.

The nostalgia seeps from the pages, bringing back memories of lazy afternoons waiting for Final Score to come on the telly so I could update my League Ladders. It also includes memorabilia that I'd not thought of for decades - in the pre-internet age, getting hold of a set of stamps with footballers'on from somewhere far off like Equatorial Guinea was like winning the lottery!

This fantastic book does through photos and images what the equally excellent Modern Football Is Rubbish: An A-Z of All That Is Wrong with the Beautiful Game does with words - it allows me to wallow in the nostalgia of my youth. Got, Not Got is a 'must have' Christmas present for any middle-aged football fan. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit like Heroin.....Moreish.., 7 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
Sometimes you buy a book because you liked the cover. You judged it. You bought it, and it was OK. Got Not Got however is a work of art for any football fan, it's what any real football fan has always wanted but has never bothered to do anything about.

Silke and Hammond have brought the "good old days" back to life for us all in a book that is flooded with "I remember that" moments. You'll find yourself nodding your head in agreement with what is in front of you.

Close your eyes for one moment (this does make reading slightly difficult) and you are back on a dirty terrace wearing a cheap polyester football shirt reading a 35p program. I don't think the pages are scratch and sniff but the text does a great job of taking you back to an age of cigar smoke filled concourse and Bovril that burnt the roof of your mouth.

I have a copy, my dad has a copy, I suggest that if you like football as it once was then dust off your admiral shirt; pick up your Panini sticker swaps and click the "add to basket" button right now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem of a book, 23 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
Got, Not Got is one of those gems that appears out of the blue... I started by idly flicking through and then discovered that an hour had passed... totally engrossing. Football lover or not, this book will take you back to that place where the summers were sunnier, the sweaters were scratchier and Panini and Findus where two brand giants. A great book and a great present. The book is solidly constructed, has great typography, images, illustrations and the overall feel is redolent of those halcyon days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of rare beauty....., 26 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
This is a stunning work that captures the heart and soul of football as I knew it when I first fell in love with the game. If you love football on any level then I beg you to buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A major contribution to football history., 12 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
Superb. Amazing collection of really evocative illustrations. Excellent, entertaining, humourous and informative text. The whole book is jam packed with nostalgia transporting you instantly to the terraces of the past.The whole culture surrounding football of the 60s to the 80s is recreated very vividly, reawakening long forgotten memories such as the Lion Football League ladders.The book is a veritable treasure trove.The authors have created a major contribution to football and social history in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got Not Got, 26 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
This book's a real belter. From the smell of pipe smoke to the sound of punk rock, from mud and magic sponges to short shorts and fans on the roof, just about all things memorable from football's glorious golden age are lovingly described here. And the pictures are priceless. It will make you smile and snigger as all the memories come flooding back. The best football nostalgia book ever written. Probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 23 Nov. 2011
By 
Graham Richard Marsden (LEICESTER ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures (Hardcover)
This book got me delving into the loft to search out long lost treasures and memories.What a great read, something for every fan I,ve bought four copies already for my footy mates of all persuasions. Roll on got not got second half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Got, Not Got: The A-Z of Lost Football Culture, Treasures and Pleasures
£6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews