Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for someone starting a craft business
This book is aimed at helping people turn their hobby into a business and has been written in partnership with Country Living Magazine. As well as providing advice on everything from business planning to sales and marketing the book also showcases 17 people who have successfully turned their hobby into a business, including one of our customers Arianna Cadwallader from...
Published on 16 Jan 2012 by Sewing Directory

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable book
I was slightly disappointed with this book, firstly for its size it's a small format which is a bit unusual. Also some of the information is very basic in the book , ok if you don't know anything at all about selling or making things to sell .
One of those purchases that if I had seen the book in a shop would probably of left it there.
Published 20 months ago by Rachel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for someone starting a craft business, 16 Jan 2012
By 
Sewing Directory (Devon) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
This book is aimed at helping people turn their hobby into a business and has been written in partnership with Country Living Magazine. As well as providing advice on everything from business planning to sales and marketing the book also showcases 17 people who have successfully turned their hobby into a business, including one of our customers Arianna Cadwallader from Saturday Sewing Session.

The book is really easy to follow with everything broken down in simple chunks with the text broken up with tips and case studies; there are also forms for you to complete to help guide you with your market research, and business planning. Several of the case studies relate to sewing and craft related businesses so if that is the area you are thinking of going into that will make their advice more relevant to you.

All the basics are covered including business form, market research, where to work from, finance, funding, selling (including the online handmade marketplaces such as Etsy/Folksy/DaWanda) and marketing. There are lots of useful web links in the book too, I found myself looking up a lot of the sites as I went through the book.

This book is ideal for beginners and covers all the basics to get you started. It doesn't go in depth on the subjects due to the amount of different topics that are included but the web links will enable you to get more information on the topics that interest you.

This review originally appeared on The Sewing Directory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start-up Business Book, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
Excellent book giving tons of advice and loads of links to places where you can find free stuff to start your own business - also lots of case studies featuring people who have already done it - not a boring read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Nettles (MIlton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
I'm your typical dippy hippy artist with no idea of how to run a business, however this book has changed all that. It gives brilliant advice on all the important things such as tax, marketing, running a website, grants, etc., and it gives addresses of different sites which may be useful. It also gives lots of examples of other small creative businesses and how they got started. Overall a really good book, very useful for people with bags of talent but no idea about business!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable book, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
I was slightly disappointed with this book, firstly for its size it's a small format which is a bit unusual. Also some of the information is very basic in the book , ok if you don't know anything at all about selling or making things to sell .
One of those purchases that if I had seen the book in a shop would probably of left it there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, very inspirational!, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
I am starting a business from my hobby and this book is brilliant. Lots of UK refs (not American which I was concerned about) and written well.

Lots of bedtime reading to fuel my passion from this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Vague, 14 Jun 2013
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
This book does give steps to follow for a start up but sort of vague. I was hoping the experiences of those that had success would be more elaborate but I find they don't say much...it's a book that only scratches the surface. If you are looking for a more detailed insight I recommend "Craft, Inc. Revised Edition (Paperback)" by Ilasco (Author) and "Craft Business Heroes - 30 Creative Entrepreneurs Share the Secrets of Their Success [Paperback]" by Alison McNicol (Author)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 17 Dec 2011
By 
M. Nichols (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
Having received the book in the post I started it and couldn't put it down.It is well written, easy to get the information and advice that I wanted.Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Ms Mags Duncan (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
It was ok, not quite as informative as I had expected, it more gave me a nudge than actually inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really easy to read and loved the layout plus the success stories throughout, really good inspiration and keeps you interested with different stories and businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous!, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby (Paperback)
this book was fabulous!
brilliant ideas, great to read about other peoples businesses, tips and words of encouragement.
very helpful for the things I was unsure about for selling my crafts, good recommendations of web sites etc,
I highly recommend this book to anyone wanting to start their own business, it was easy to follow and understand. :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn Your Talent into a Business: A Guide to Earning a Living from Your Hobby
£9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews