Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Slaine
In my review of "Slaine:Lord of Misrule" I said I didn't like the time-trevalling aspects of Slaine and the Slaine vs The Normans was too anachronistic. This is Slaine vs The Romans, but it works much better.

I agree with the previous reveiwer that this is not as good as "Horned God" but its still profoundly Celtic and suprisingly educational. Pat Mills is far...
Published on 21 April 2012 by Mr. I. C. G. Bell

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre Slaine
This ought to be good in theory. Its intelligent Slaine, with Pat Mills continuing his celtic exploration of British history and myth but somehow it just doesn't work this time. It feels like one of those childrens books were ubiquitous characters walk you through a particular historical period or country. It would have been better for Mills to have done an Arthurian book...
Published on 15 July 2012 by Mr. I. C. G. Bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Slaine, 21 April 2012
In my review of "Slaine:Lord of Misrule" I said I didn't like the time-trevalling aspects of Slaine and the Slaine vs The Normans was too anachronistic. This is Slaine vs The Romans, but it works much better.

I agree with the previous reveiwer that this is not as good as "Horned God" but its still profoundly Celtic and suprisingly educational. Pat Mills is far more clearly on a mission to do justice to the celtic/pictish mythos and inform the reader in these somewhat unrelated tales than in the more recent Slaine. The humour is also fresher and subtler in early Slaine. The villain, Elfric, is not one of Slaine's best foes and hard to take seriously. Having an unmagically assisted mechanistic and disciplined Roman occupation machine would have been more effective I think.

The artwork (Glenn Fabry, Gregg Staples, Dermot Power) is good. It feels more timeless than Langley's later photoshoppery. Fabry's is particularly intersting, a sort of "fantasy noir".

No interesting extra materials. There is "Cauldron of Blood" from the Slaine Gaming Book but a printing error results in the instructions appearing twice and the first page of panels omitted, which is irritating. Also 5 covers/"poster" pages which are nice but no big deal Some Pat Mills commentary on the relevant history would have been far more welcome.

But overall: if you already have Horned god and either of the first two Invasions books, this is probably the best next Slaine to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slaine never fails !!!, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaine: Treasures of Britain (Paperback)
Not much to say.Any Slaine comic is perfect to me.A dream that comes true in fantasy and heroic adventures full of humour and gore!When will it be a Slaine movie ?????? (Dredd is taking all the staring so far)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre Slaine, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slaine: Treasures of Britain (Paperback)
This ought to be good in theory. Its intelligent Slaine, with Pat Mills continuing his celtic exploration of British history and myth but somehow it just doesn't work this time. It feels like one of those childrens books were ubiquitous characters walk you through a particular historical period or country. It would have been better for Mills to have done an Arthurian book without involving Slaine I think; because none of the interesting content or perspective requires Slaine and his presence feels contrived. The demonic Cyth villains are somewhat mundane. Dermot Power and Stephen Tappin's artwork is adequate but nothing special. The battles in particular are token and lacklustre.
Even weak Slaine is far better than most fantasy of course; but by Slaine's high standards, this is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Celtic warrior returns, 9 April 2010
By 
Mr. CD Bunyan (Chesterfield, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Time travelling Celtic warrior Slaine returns in a compilation set of stories, this time pitting Slaine against the Roman Empire. Hardly a classic, but essential for completists. The storyline is set several(previously published)books ago & reprinted out of sequence. The story by Pat Mills is so so, though some of Glenn Fabry's art is great. It is nowhere near as good as "The Horned God" that preceeds this book or the Clint Langley drawn "Books of Invasions" that have been available for a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slaine graphic novel, 27 Mar 2013
This review is from: Slaine: Treasures of Britain (Paperback)
Great artwork and the usual Slaine storyline, blood and guts, looking forward to the next novel which is out this April!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slaine: Treasures of Britain
Slaine: Treasures of Britain by Steve Tappin (Paperback - 21 Jun 2012)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews