Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Lost in this amazing graphic novel
This collected edition of the Mazeworld stories contains all three volumes of the saga, originally published in 2000AD. The book was reprinted due to massive fan support on 2000AD's website, which prompted their publisher, Rebellion, to release this premium collection. The book itself is well made with a nice glossy feel to the pages, making it seem much more of a...
Published on 24 May 2012 by J Brackell

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great read
I expected more from this but I found it very disjointed and pasted together from what I think was a bit filler for 2000AD
Published on 22 Feb. 2013 by Steve Reffould


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Lost in this amazing graphic novel, 24 May 2012
By 
J Brackell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
This collected edition of the Mazeworld stories contains all three volumes of the saga, originally published in 2000AD. The book was reprinted due to massive fan support on 2000AD's website, which prompted their publisher, Rebellion, to release this premium collection. The book itself is well made with a nice glossy feel to the pages, making it seem much more of a collector's item than some graphic novel reprints.

The story concerns Adam Cadman, a convicted murderer, who becomes the first person sentenced to death by hanging in 30 years since it was outlawed. The hanging is botched and Cadman finds himself at the end of his tether (quite literally) and drifts between two worlds. His body remains in our world, but his consciousness seems to travel to the Mazeworld, where he finds himself embroiled in a rebellion against the Maze-Lords, the corrupt ruling body of this fantasy world. The theme of mazes is utilised heavily with the corrupt Maze-Lords building them to use as dungeons to punish those who dare speak out against them. Mistaken for the legendary 'Hooded One', a figure from Mazeworld's history, Adam finds he has a second chance at his life, allowing him to find redemption for his crimes in our world and to become a hero.

The story is very well written by Alan Grant, who doesn't delve too deeply into the history of the Mazeworld or its politics, letting the reader piece together the mythology themselves. Where the story really sets itself apart from other fantasy strips published in 2000AD is the amazing artwork by Arthur Ransom, whose photo-realistic art immediately draws you into each panel and believe in this world of Mazes. The inclusion of Ransom's artwork elevates what might have been a standard fantasy story of travelling to another world into something much more.

There are some amazing double-page spreads, such as the moment where Adam Cadman (still wearing his execution hood from our world) hijacks a flying lizard and flies above the Mazeworld, giving the reader a 'lizards-eye' view of the various mazes that comprise the realms. This image is so iconic to the series that it is given the honour of becoming the cover artwork to the book.

Out of the three volumes collected, I found the second, "The Dark Man", to be the most entertaining due to the villianous Dark Man, who becomes Adam Cadman's nemesis. The beginning of the book opens up with an interesting prophecy that 'one will live, but not live and one will die, but not die' and you read through the book wondering how this bizarre prediction will come to pass.

I would recommend this to recent fans of 2000AD who are unaware of the comic's long history of brilliant comic series, especially ones not set in the future, but then I would also recommend it to fans of the 'dungeons and dragons' fantasy genre too, as it is a unique take on that style of storytelling. All in all, this is 2000AD at it's best and one of the series that I had wanted reprinted for some time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Familiar Idea But A Very Well Done One, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
Stories of alternative realities and people crossing in and out of them via dreams or fevers have been the staple of Sci-Fi and Fantasy genres for decades so its hard to come up with anything genuinely new. However Mazeworld does just that. Good (if not exceptional) drawing coupled with a strong storyline makes for an engaging page-turner. I enjoyed it and I suspect most others who are familiar with comics and genre tales will feel the same. Apparently it was taken as a sign of 2000AD returning to its roots when first published back in the late 1990s. That turned out to be wishful thinking but it is easy to see why so many believed it was herald of better things to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get lost in the maze and enjoy it!!, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
An absolute work genious. Super story. Unfortunately, nowadays way too many graphic novels (and comic books) lack dramaturgy and a sense of chronology. Mazeworld is one of the rare exceptions. This isn't your average "wet" comic, rather one that leaves you thinking about the story long after you have finished reading it. While the artwork isn't as precise as a Segrelles one it supports the story well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arthur Ranson at his brilliant best., 13 Mar. 2012
By 
D. Austin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
I love Arthur Ranson's art and I had to have this item. Having read this story in 2000AD, years ago, I had forgotten how it finished and I am glad it has been released as a trade paperback. The gorgeousness of the cover is Mr Ranson at his brilliant best and the story is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mazeworld, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
what a good read ,,all right its a comic but a good old 2000ad story brill just as i remembered .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a great read, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
I expected more from this but I found it very disjointed and pasted together from what I think was a bit filler for 2000AD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 25 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Mazeworld (2000 Ad) (Paperback)
This is so good I dont want to spoil it for you , if your a fan of button man and the judge Anderson shambalia you must get this graphic novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mazeworld (2000 Ad)
Mazeworld (2000 Ad) by Arthur Ranson (Paperback - 10 Nov. 2011)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews