Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulpy undead apocalyptic adventure!
I found myself Double Dead: a 2011 vampire/ zombie novel from self-described "freelance penmonkey", Chuck Wendig.

Double Dead draws from different genres to create an engaging tale of action-horror that feels something like Mad Max with a vampire in the titular role, dealing with all sorts of problems that the Road Warrior would never have dreamt of having to...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by John Milton

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better
The success of the Walking Dead series is that it follows a group of survivors in a zombie holocaust crossing the States in a camper van. Double Dead also has a group of survivors in a camper van except they have the last vampire protecting them as his food source. The cast of the Walking Dead face all manner of trials and tribulations but on the whole their living...
Published on 17 Jan 2012 by PJ Rankine


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pulpy undead apocalyptic adventure!, 8 Jun 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Dead (Kindle Edition)
I found myself Double Dead: a 2011 vampire/ zombie novel from self-described "freelance penmonkey", Chuck Wendig.

Double Dead draws from different genres to create an engaging tale of action-horror that feels something like Mad Max with a vampire in the titular role, dealing with all sorts of problems that the Road Warrior would never have dreamt of having to encounter.

Speaking of dreams, Wendig must have some pretty twisted ones judging by the imagery he conjures up within this novel, which is at times nightmarish and bleak; at others, downright vivid and disturbing. I feel no shame in admitting that during one particular description of a zombie's phsyical condition, I felt a little queasy... and I'm not exactly new to the genre!

Wendig's antihero of the story: Coburn, is the most enjoyable character I have come across in fiction for quite some time. A sardonic vampire who spits out pop culture references and who makes for quite the refreshing change to the sparkly angsty vamps that seem to be so popular of late. Coburn feeds off of a lot of unsavoury characters, paedophiles and the like. I feel that this was a bit of an effort on the part of Wendig to make his anti-hero a bit more likeable but was maybe a bit blunt for me. One particular element of the story (which I will not reveal) felt a little twee to me and in Wendig's world overrun with zombies, cannibals, religious zealots, paedophiles and drug addicts, it didn't quite sit right for me initially.

Reading Double Dead was by no stretch of the imagination a chore to read. Wendig's work is well-crafted, enjoyable, compelling and (I mean this as a compliment) a good pulpy adventure! I couldn't help but think that this would transfer very well into graphic novel format and beautifully to the big screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lovely read. amazing use of imagery., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Dead (Kindle Edition)
Zombie book vampire book. Not much to work with... But the authors use of words was stunning. well worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars double good..., 23 Aug 2012
By 
Emmster (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Dead (Kindle Edition)
Another solid horse from the Wendig stable. Double Dead charts the voyage of Coburn (a recently revived vampire) and his food supply (a small band of human survivors) as they travel through the ravaged wasteland of post-zombie-apocalypse America.

There were a few things that stood out for me in this novel:

1. The concept of a vampire having a severely limited food supply (he can't suck zombie blood) and thus needs to effectively manage his human herd to maintain a steady supply.

2. The vampire being limited physically by the amount of blood he's drunk. Blood is a sort of "nitro injection" for him; he can store it in his body and use it on-demand to move fast and hit hard - but it's not unlimited and he can be surprised. In essence, he is a lot more vulnerable than vampires are in most other fiction.

3. The protagonist is essentially a vicious b@stard. Really, he's not very nice, and most readers will probably hate his guts - cheering at every arse-kicking that comes his way.

The plot is nothing outrageous for the genre: survivors have to get from here to there (no spoilers as to why!), battle zombies on the way, zombies are bad - but look at what the humans are now doing to each other blah blah blah. All good fun. The human characters are what you'd expect - a rag-tag mix of personalities just trying to get by. There's plenty of gore, plenty of violence and the usual word-filth you'd expect from the mind of Chuck W.

Loved it from page 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate zombiepocalypse story, 28 April 2012
By 
Tim Stevens (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How does a vampire survive after his prey have been turned into zombies? Wendig kicks off his riproaring novel with this great premise. Coburn, a vampire for fifty years and trapped underground for the last two or so, 'awakes' into a NYC overrun by marauding 'rotters'. Seeking fresh human blood, he joins a rag-tag bunch of human survivors, lured by the promise of a steady supply of sustenance in a world gone to hell.

The style is smart, sardonic, and utterly hilarious. Coburn is a terrific creation, a nasty, self-absorbed bloodsucker who manages to be as cool as any Tarantino character even after he's been burned to a crisp by the morning sun. The action is relentless, horrifying, utterly mesmerising.

Best of all, though - and the acid test of every novel - is the story. Wendig tells a tale that grips from start to finish, with no digressions, no pointless meanderings, no wasted words. The last chapter had me almost in tears, big horror-loving softie that I am.

Chuck Wendig is a storyteller of the highest order, precisely because he's grasped that telling a story is the most important thing a writer can aspire to do.

Buy this. Read it. Then - oh my god - buy Blackbirds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Dead (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyable romp through an apocalyptic world. Humour, gore, social commentary and even a little bit of sentimentality as well. A great idea, brilliantly executed. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feel-bad undead book of the year., 5 Feb 2012
By 
I've never been much taken with the zombie apocalypse genre. There just doesn't really seem like there's very much one can actually do with it that hasn't been done in film, fiction and comics many time before. Then along comes Double Dead, proving that the zombie apocalypse genre has plenty of life left in it. Wendig makes genre tropes his own, as well as adding a great, original twist. After all, in a world populated predominantly by zombies, what does a vampire have to do to get a meal?

Double Dead strips away any and all of the romanticism of vampires. Coburn is a player, only a dead one who's after your blood rather than your virtue. He's unsympathetic to human plight, he's not altruistic, he doesn't sparkle in the light. He's selfish, aggressive, and most of all he's hungry. The unfortunate band of survivors he stumbles across are easy prey. But then the mysterious daughter makes Coburn an offer that is very difficult to refuse: become their shepherd, protect them and they'll show him where to get food - picking on the worst elements of the leftovers of humanity; the cannibals and other scum who prey on the desperate few survivors.

Wendig gleefully plays around with a number of classic zombie-apocalypse tropes, and many readers will also be able to detect a hint of The Walking Dead in here. Nevertheless, the author manages to make it feel very fresh and original and wholly his own. And it's not only because he introduced a vampire to the setting (which really made the novel for me), although this does mean that seemingly familiar scenes or plot devices are turned rather nicely on their heads. Double Dead is a novel that fits comfortably in the sub-genre, but offers something more for readers to make this stand out.

Double Dead is slightly absurdist at times, with a somewhat gonzo-feel to the prose: visceral, it pulls back the curtain on all that is negative about humanity - greed, cowardice and selfishness. It's cynical, sarcastic, brutally honest. "Fear & Loathing in Zombieland" would be one way of describing certain chapters in the novel. Some scenes and passages have the feel of a young and angry Hunter S. Thompson collaborating with George Romero to write a zombie-apocalypse novel. While maybe listening to Carcass... It's not perfect, and lacks some subtlety and nuance, but for a debut novel this is very well written and composed. Sometimes the gory bits feel a little relentless, or over-long for my admittedly more-conservative tastes, but it's still a pretty fun romp through a zombie-infested post-societal America.

"I figure the end of the world just ripped off humanity's mask, and now the true face of mankind is out there grinning like a mad skull in the moonlight." (58)

For the most part, Wendig's negative portrayal of human nature works, but there are the occasional passages or scenes that seem just a little too negative. However, because of Wendig's brisk prose style, things move on at a near-breakneck pace, and any minor flaws are quickly forgotten as the motley group of survivalists make their trip to the promised safety in the West.

After a slightly par-for-the-course middle third, things get interesting again in Part 3, as Coburn's flock get into a little (more) trouble, and we discover a bit more of what constitutes politics in this dystopia. Can't give too much away, but I have a feeling Mr Wendig does not like the Insane Clown Posse. Or perhaps does, and offers up a weird, twisted homage to the bizarre rap crew. There's tons of action in the final third of the novel, as almost everything comes to an explosive and bloody conclusion. There's tragedy, there's hope, there's a little bit of redemption, as Coburn's continued exposure to Kayla and her post-apocalypse family leads him to develop feelings of attachment that are utterly alien to and uncomfortable for him.

Double Dead won't be for everyone - it's gruesome and very graphic, especially when it involves cannibals: Ambrosia, a particularly loathsome cannibal Coburn confronts, is the most horrific character in the entire novel (perhaps even the most horrific I've ever read), and events surrounding her almost made my gorge rise. Some scenes were outside my comfort zone - `disgusting' is one word, but it does fit the genre, and I have read worse. It's shocking, but also very well written (which makes it even more gross). This is the only novel in Abaddon Books' Tome of the Dead series that I've read, so I'm not sure if this is the norm, but if you like gribbly horror, then this should suit fine.

One thing is for certain: Chuck Wendig is a very talented writer. His prose style pulled me along throughout - it's fast-paced, cynical and very tightly crafted. It doesn't always work, but he has a real gift. He will undoubtedly become a force in genre fiction, and I can't wait to see what else he comes up with. I will eagerly read anything he puts out there (I've already bought one of his non-fiction works, Confessions of a Freelance Penmonkey).

The feel-bad zombie novel of the year, with a hint of redemption? Probably. Go read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully crazy ride through the zombie apocalypse, 4 Feb 2012
I enjoyed this a lot. The premise - a cruel, utterly selfish vampire forced by apocalyptic zombie circumstances to fight against his own evil nature and protect his prey - is refreshingly different.

Coburn, the sardonic egotistical vampire, is a fine creation; never likeable but always compelling and, in some dark hypnotic way, even admirable. A streetwise guy with a strong personality, he is witty, devious, and has some fantastic lines. In fact, like all the best vampires, Coburn is pretty cool. But, to his continual irritation, not quite as cool as he'd like to be.

The book is one crazy ride - I'm tempted to say romp - through a survivalist series of disasters involving much zombie mayhem. But Double Dead is far more than a blood and guts fest. Coburn the vampire is plagued with internal conflict and mysterious dreams of his past (or his future?). There are plenty of unexpected twists and revelations as he grows closer to finding his answers.

There are some extraordinary setpieces involving various grotesque and outrageous characters who seem to have escaped from a circus of horrors. Gobbling flesh is a surprisingly popular occupation in Double Dead. Turns out it's not just vampires and zombies who are monsters.

Throughout, the horror is described with a flavoursome gusto which only an author in perfect command of his depraved literary talent could produce. There's a great imagination at work and a lot of humour to enjoy. Great stuff. Wonderfully horrible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been so much better, 17 Jan 2012
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The success of the Walking Dead series is that it follows a group of survivors in a zombie holocaust crossing the States in a camper van. Double Dead also has a group of survivors in a camper van except they have the last vampire protecting them as his food source. The cast of the Walking Dead face all manner of trials and tribulations but on the whole their living opponents are normal people surviving, not the bunch of cannibals, freak clowns and religious nuts populating this book. Sadly what starts out promising just goes way off the map for this reader as it piles on the gore and weirdness for the sake of thrills.
I know its only pulp fiction but there's a lot better stuff than this out there. If you're a fan of this genre you'll probably love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb post-apocalypse page-turner!, 13 Jan 2012
By 
M. Middleton "stewartmiddleton2" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A vampire wakes up after the end of the world, to battle zombies, cannibals, and religious lunatics...oh, and stoners.
A great story, with a suitably cynical anti-hero. I don't really know why the other reviewers don't like this book. What do you expect from a novel where the main character is a vampire, and most of the world's population is either dead, or zombies?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Lainy (Bonnie Scotland) - See all my reviews
Aw I so wanted to love this book, the idea is pure brilliance however the story just didn't cut it for me (to be fair I had huge expectations). Some of it is really good to be honest for example we get to know how the disease started and spread and I love that and find it is usually lacking in zombie books (and movies). All questions that were raised throughout the book is answered which is another huge must for me.

However there was so much I disliked, for this to be a fair and honest review I had to give a two star rating. The vampire is a poor show compared to what we have viewed over the years, he gets his butt handed to him more often than not. His attitude really sucks for the most part (I did start to warm to him near the very end) and some of the dialogue seemed just a bit over the top although some of it was funny. That said the things I didn't like my o/h thought was quite funny (I read it out to him) so I definately think that whilst I thought the book was ok some readers will love it.

The other characters are varied and have some good traits but again there was noone who stood out for me or stayed with me, well maybe creampuff :D The way it ended I think there will be more to the series, will I get it? Yes I think so and hope that Coburn is more endearing and a better vampire than our first meeting. The writing of the book is very easy to follow and barring the swearing (which doesn't bother me but sometimes it just seemed over the top and there for the sake of it) I quite enjoyed the authors style of writing. 2/5 for me this time but I am very picky so if your a zombie and or vampire fan give it a try
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Dead (Tomes of the Dead)
Double Dead (Tomes of the Dead) by Chuck Wendig (Paperback - 15 Nov 2011)
Used & New from: £3.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews