Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect holiday novel?
It astonishes me that Ann Bridge is so unread these days. For anyone new to her work, Illyrian Spring is a wonderful place to start. It's one of those novels where the plot is almost an incidental pleasure. The real joy here is the freshness and acuity of Bridge's prose. Just like the two artists who are her romantic protagonists, Bridge can evoke the arid landscapes...
Published on 7 Jun 2012 by Rough Diamond

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S ummary
Liked the descriptions of the country.I found the plot unconvincing. Why would a wife need to leave home? Why did she not just get on with her life and her painting?She was wealthy and could afford to indulge herself.A rather trying character.
Published 10 months ago by patriciam mcdonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect holiday novel?, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Rough Diamond (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Paperback)
It astonishes me that Ann Bridge is so unread these days. For anyone new to her work, Illyrian Spring is a wonderful place to start. It's one of those novels where the plot is almost an incidental pleasure. The real joy here is the freshness and acuity of Bridge's prose. Just like the two artists who are her romantic protagonists, Bridge can evoke the arid landscapes and peaceful villages of 1930s Dalmatia with just a few deft strokes. The plot itself revolves around the aristocratic Grace Kilmichael, who in her early 40s suddenly loses patience with her three demanding children and her distant, possibly unfaithful husband. She escapes by means of the Orient Express to the sunlit Adriatic, to resume her long-abandoned career as a painter. There she meets Nicholas Humphries, half her age, but who like her is on the run from an uninspiring destiny. Unhappy with the prospect of becoming an architect, he has come to Dalmatia to follow his true vocation - painting. As their relationship shifts and deepens, Bridge handles its evolving complexities with tact, sensitivity and real emotional insight. There's a narrative tautness here too, which never slackens despite the many delightful detours on which Bridge leads us through the flower-strewn hills of Dalmatia in springtime.

Hats off to Daunt Books for putting a huge amount of love and devotion into this excellent re-issue. This is a real bibliophile's paperback. The typesetting is deft and crisp, the paper is smooth, fine and creamy to the touch, the endpapers are tastefully patterned. Books as good as this are the Luddite's reward for refusing to own a Kindle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Illyrian Idyll, 26 Oct 2012
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Paperback)
I loved this book. I picked it up straight from the horse's mouth - published by Daunt's and in their fabulous Marylebone High Street shop. But I digress.

I'm a great fan of the 1930s novel to start off with - having waltzed my way through my grandparents' library, built up in that era. Many of these books have dated badly in language and mores, though they remain entertaining reads written in a distinctive style: others are beautifully crafted, combining both literary writing and clarity of expression (the two don't always go together).

This one belongs to the latter category. The quality of the writing is superb. The lead character takes a holiday from her life with her husband and adult children, and a chance encounter with a young man changes them both: she is an established painter, he is an aspiring one, whose parents disapprove of his choice of career. For a book about painters and painting, the writing is appropriately visual: the local colour is established so vividly it unfolds before your eyes. Unlike many landscape artists, the author can also paint figures - we care about the characters and their interior lives, and want to keep reading to the very last page.

Although ultimately an escapist novel, it treats large themes with the care and attention they deserve and it's sometimes a bit Jane Austen-esque with a great deal of sly, understated humour.

Though "Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day" is a more obviously humorous novel, if you loved Miss Pettigrew, you'll love meeting Lady Kilmichael.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and perceptive, 16 Feb 2014
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
A novel about a female painter who feels trapped in an unsatisfactory marriage and takes time out from it in Illyria. On the way she meets a much younger man and most of the novel is about their evolving relationship and how it leads the painter to discover a lot about herself. This is a delightful book, full of emotional insight. I have given it four rather than five stars because, particularly in the first half, there is rather too much loving description of places for my taste - a few pages read more like a travel book than a novel. But this did not seriously detract from my enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The meaning of love., 6 Jan 2014
By 
roger hudson (London and Croatia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
As someone who lives in modern Dalmatia I was attracted to this title, when I read it I got a glimpse of places I know well as they were in the latter 1930s but the best thing about this book is its treatment of degrees of love without the modern obsession sex, i re-read the book in an analytic way and found great help from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual story, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Paperback)
Wasn't sure that I was going to like this when I first started but I persevered
and I really enjoyed it. Ann Bridge certainly wrote beautifully and I do hope more
of her books are reprinted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars evocative, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
I read this book whilst on holiday in Dubrovnik so was able to see the locations which added to my enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gentle, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
Slow but well developed. I read this on holiday and became entranced by its beauty. Ending was a little disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Terri jones, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book,with its simple,sweet past fashion of writing. Beautiful descriptive passages, with wonderful insights into the way things were, and so nostalgic. Perfectly descriptive of women's journey to personal freedom, with a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely gentle well written book with believable characters and beautiful countryside. Absolute bliss., 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book because it was very well written with believable characters you could relate to. The story was quiet an evolved in a believable way and the book was full of description of Italy wich added to the theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good old fashioned read, 8 Sep 2013
By 
P. A. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illyrian Spring (Kindle Edition)
Interesting archaic use of English and romantic though predictable story Good descriptive passages, especially of flora and fauna.
It reminds one of an England and the English of days long gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illyrian Spring
Illyrian Spring by Ann Bridge (Paperback - 17 May 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews