Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good rather than great bio
It's a good account of the man's life and illustrated with many rare photographs. We learn just why Troughton was so private. He had, shall we say, a rather complicated home life and incredibly he managed to keep it a secret from even his mother for nearly 25 years.

There are lots of lovely anecdotes here as well as a brisk telling of his extensive film and tv...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by The Hamster Factor

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a biography, more an exposè
Behind almost every truly great actor, artist, singer or sportsman is a story of how much of a scumbag they are. I seem destined to discover that every celebrity whom I respect and admire is really a bit of a prat.

Mr Troughton is no exception. I feel like I should warn fans of the man (not just Doctor Who fans) that he does not come across as a pleasant man...
Published on 28 Mar 2012 by Greg Boyd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good rather than great bio, 16 Dec 2011
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
It's a good account of the man's life and illustrated with many rare photographs. We learn just why Troughton was so private. He had, shall we say, a rather complicated home life and incredibly he managed to keep it a secret from even his mother for nearly 25 years.

There are lots of lovely anecdotes here as well as a brisk telling of his extensive film and tv career. Predictably, and perhaps the reason why we are all reading this, there is plenty of first hand detail about Troughton and his work on Doctor Who. It's interesting to read that some of the creakier episodes were seen for exactly what they were even back then ie tv produced on slightly too little budget with the results being less than convincing.

There's a bit of a feeling of reading his life through a filter (perhaps inevitable when your biographer is one of your children and a fair amount of time has passed). The effect is a bit like watching the Zarbi through a Vaseline smeared lens. You kind of feel you are close to seeing the real picture but not quite. Tellingly, there is almost no contribution from Patrick's third wife - and that's a real pity. And one point of annoyance - quite a few spelling/grammar mistakes and other typos have been left in. It's not enough to spoil your enjoyment, but you might laugh at some of the dafter ones.

In the end, while I felt I'd got a few flashes of insight about Troughton, I still found him a bit of enigma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Less a biography, more an exposè, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
Behind almost every truly great actor, artist, singer or sportsman is a story of how much of a scumbag they are. I seem destined to discover that every celebrity whom I respect and admire is really a bit of a prat.

Mr Troughton is no exception. I feel like I should warn fans of the man (not just Doctor Who fans) that he does not come across as a pleasant man. The author, his son, does try to throw in the occasional heartwarming tale of fishing or visits to the studio but when you look at the bigger picture you see a lying womaniser. However, I can't review a biography based on my opinion of the subject.

The book itself is very nice to look at and hold. The glossy hard cover is beautiful with a lovely design which is very pleasing. Clearly a lot of care has gone into crafting this book and the result it stunning. Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for the content. The book gets three stars because it is interesting to read about Mr Troughtons life. The interviews, diary extracts and photos paint a very intimate picture of the man as his family and close friends knew him. If you're as nosey as I am, this is gold. However, I'm not sure anyone proof-read or edited this book. Glaring spelling mistakes, misused, commas, full. stops in the middle of sentences and frankly wierd paragraphing keep cropping up which is quite jarring and can stop you mid flow.

The writing style is occasionaly awkward with events mentioned twice and details repeated. Some events are mentioned twice and details often get repeated. Photos appear in random places with little relevance to the writing. Michael Troughton may be a good actor, I don't know, I've never seen him in anything but he's not a writer. Certainly not a biographer. Some events get mentioned several times, long after they were first revealed and many details are repeated.

As I've said, If you want goss and dirt on Mr Troughton, this book is full of it. The information held withing the pages is fascinating but is delivered poorly. It took me a long time to track down a copy of this book and I paid a lot of money for it. I don't know if I'd say I regret that but I was slightly disappointed. I would say that the man deserved a better biographer but... well I'll let you make your own minds up about what he deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Life depends on change, and renewal!', 28 April 2012
By 
Greystone (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
And never was a truer word spoken in regard to Patrick Troughton. I think the most disappointing aspect of this book is not Troughton's cheating - many are guilty of that, and the man was human - but his cavalier attitude towards it and the people around him who suffered because of it. Almost immoral in some ways as though he had no consideration for others at all. Or when interests came into conflict, Patrick's interests would always be the better served whatever the circumstances. I've done some things I'm not particularly proud of but I was quite shocked at some of Troughton's antics and his disregard for others closest to him.

This is the problem when you have heroes; your expectation of them is so high that they could never possibly live up to the ideal. After all they are just people and carry the same burden as the rest of us.

The book is very informative and well worth reading; it is quite confusing at times due to the writing style not being made clear, but that said very enjoyable.

I did feel for Troughton's first wife, out of the three she was the only one that came across as a genuinely decent person and she was shoddily treated by him. It is quite understandable that the straw that broke the camel's back, as far as his daughter was concerned, came with his dealings with another woman and his daughter never spoke to him again. I think Troughton genuinely regretted that, but by that time the damage was done and a reconciliation never occurred - speaking as a father - that is sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pat Troughton Book, 15 May 2012
By 
G. Reed "gazzathegaz" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
This is the first book I am aware of about a much loved actor, and a great Doctor Who. Little is known about Patrick Troughton the man, and having read this book, that is as he wanted it. A secretive and distant man, who at times seemed incredibly cruel to family, he was incredibly well liked within the acting profession. A man of contrasts and contradictions then.

But what do we know about Mr Troughton's long history after reading this book? Disappointingly little. For really, in some ways, this is less about Patrick Troughton the actor, and more about a man's relationship as a father, with his young child; a child who was understandably sad and hurt to have been abandoned for the 'love' of a woman who wasn't his mother, and the children she and PT were to have together. This book while acknowledging the 'other' family, the 'other' partners, and wives, only superficially deals with them. For example, we know little about Pat's second wife other than they married and that fact was discovered by Michael from a newspaper. Michael met and had a bad meal with her and his father once and got sick and maybe didn't go round to his father's new place after that. Maybe he and his step-mum just didn't get on. Who knows? It's never really said one way or the other. No clues as to whether she was spoken to in researching the book, or even if she is still alive. And "Bunny' his long standing partner, and their children. There was very little about them, or how they saw things, at the time things happened, or reflecting on events now.

What the book does do well is to fill in our knowledge of Pat's early days from birth to his road to drama school, early theatre, tv and film. This was all nicely cataloged, with some good picture research, without much obvious attempt to contact actors, directors etc who might still be around for comment. One or two actors, and old friends, are quoted without getting any great perspective on events. And Michael's brother David is THE big glaring omission in the book. Even his sister, Joanna, seems to have little to say. There seems to have been access to Pat's diaries which are quoted a few times in the book, but nothing is really reflected upon in any depth.

There is a better biography to be written about Mr Troughton than this book; more detail on his work by those who worked with him would have been interesting, and more from his family about how they saw him while growing up and looking back. It doesn't need the salacity, but an exploration of events may explain more about the man. But, as a personal memoir about a son's relationship (or lack of) with his father, this book does have insightful, emotional, moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So Many Questions, 28 Jun 2013
First, read or listen to it.

It is a difficult read as other reviewers have mentioned, for practical purposes. It does appear to have been printed unedited in any way, shape or form and that causes confusion at times. Stories begin and go nowhere too often and crucial facts are raised and dropped almost immediately. Much is overwritten.

It is a tale of facts rather than an insightful, critical biography. We meet a man of divided loyalties and questionable conscience. A man who was remembered as a true gentle man but also a womanizer who could pick fights over religion at the drop of a hat or sink into deep, inconsolable depressions as quickly. There is also a mention of childhood sexual abuse, which is raised as crucial then dropped like a stone.

What we have here is a trail of breadcrumbs which, in the hands of a skilled biographer, would reveal the portrait of a man beset by mental demons. Workaholism, hypersexuality, depressions, religious obsessions are all hallmarks of disorders such as PTSD (his war years), Bi-polar (childhood sexual abuse), or any number of others. In his last year of Doctor Who he even referred to himself as feeling schizophrenic, as his son writes.

One would hope that one day someone decides to write Patrick Troughton's life story from an outsider's point of view. With luck all of the pieces of the puzzle will be made available. Input from all of his children, the mother of his second family, and his last wife would be welcome as would the complete family archive.

The current biography is a tantalizing teaser to a deeper, richer story that deserves to be told intelligently, compassionately and completely. I would caution readers to see beyond Troughton's seemingly inexplicable and despicable actions. Don't let the surface facts in this book or the poor writing style keep you from seeing the human being beneath the surface.

The most touching part of reading this book was the sense of the author struggling to come to terms with his dad, still trying to make a connection so many years after his death.

Sadly Michael Troughton seems to have been left with more questions than answers, just like the rest of us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revelations Of The Actor Behond The Second Doctor, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Wow!

After hearing this Autobiography of the Book now on Audio CD I'm quite shocked at how deep this audiobook went into detail about the exploits of Second Doctor Patrick Troughton.

It is read by the Author of the biography & Patrick Troughtons son Michael.

In this book we here another side to the actor who played the Second Doctor as his son pulls no punches in his narration of his dad's autobiography as Michael reads about his dad's earlier career & of course his time on Doctor Who playing the Second Doctor but the shock for this listener was he had a cavalier womanizer attitude were he had affairs from one woman to the next.

Patrick Troughton was married 3 times & his son here makes it very clear of the relationships he & his other siblings had on there fathers behaviour with other women that put a huge emotional strain on the Troughton family resulting in his daughter severing all contact with her father never to be reconciled which is sad.

The other thing also was Troughton was a very private man whom rarely gave interviews & never spoke about his private life, Now one can understand why that was as his immoral attitude to casual affairs would've thrown him into the public eye, Imagine those event's happening now with a Doctor Who actor & how the press would react in 2013 it would be a media frenzy splahed all over the papers.

It wasn't until near the end of his life that he mellowed becoming more approachable & starting doing the conventions with a little prompting from his friend & former Doctor actor the late Jon Pertwee.

Make no mistake though the effect Troughton had on Doctor Who & his portrayal was magnetic & engaging performance.

Troughton played to his strengths channeling the Cosmic Hobo with that Columbo type thinking which was very far removed from the authority figure of William Hartnells approach.

But with all great actor's Patrick Troughton proved you could completely change the Doctor's personality & characteristics yet make him still the same character & like him as the Doctor which no doubt in the 1960's was a achievement in itself as at the time audiences were less keen on a change of lead actor in shows or movie's.

I having listened to this audio biography & i feel a little disappointed that one of my heroes was not as a honourable man at times to his family by engaging in casual affairs & yet Patrick Troughton was capable of giving some outstanding performances in Doctor Who but also in other roles like Jason & The Argonauts & The Omen.

This is a no holds barred audio biography but buyer beware you may not like all you hear on these CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The life of the second doctor., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting listen of the life and times of Patrick Troughton unabridged which makes for a much fuller insight into the actor best remembered for playing the second dr who from 1966 to 1969.
From his early days as a child to becoming an actor and through his personal life makes this a fascinating Biography on Audio.
Well worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who, 5 Jan 2012
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
This much anticipated biography of Patrick Troughton is a candid, revealing and entertaining account of this much loved and highly talented actor. The book begins by giving a fascinating insight into Patrick's childhood and early life. Of particular interest to me was the opportunity to learn about Patrick's heroism during the Second World War. Michael Troughton writes with honesty about his father's family and professional life, showing us the complexity of Patrick's character with warmth and affection. The book is filled with both humourous and touching anecdotes which are enhanced by a beautiful collection of photographs. This is an entertaining and thought-provoking book which is a "must-read" for anyone with an interest in Patrick Troughton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Autobiography, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
A thoroughly enjoyable read from the son of the best Doctor Who of them all. Highly recommended. Patrick troughton Number 1...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Who Gift, 27 April 2012
By 
Jan Young (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who (Hardcover)
I purchased this book through Amazon as a birthday gift for my son-in-law and he was delighted as he has been looking everywhere for this book, as has my daugther and myself. One of only two on offer we were all very pleased to be able to purchase this copy. It is a must for every Dr. Who fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who
Patrick Troughton: The Biography of the Second Doctor Who by Michael Troughton (Hardcover - 1 Dec 2011)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews