Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and a wonderful exhibition
A very impressive collection of Photographs covering many decades of London street scenes, the exhibition at the Museum of London was also very impressive
Published on 23 Oct 2011 by Andrew Buckle

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book but the photographs let it down
I found this book interesting but the photographs are lack-lustre and characterises. There must be a more socially aware set of more intimate London shots out there somewhere.
Published 3 months ago by Urban Ploughboy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and a wonderful exhibition, 23 Oct 2011
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
A very impressive collection of Photographs covering many decades of London street scenes, the exhibition at the Museum of London was also very impressive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and sometimes fascinating book, 21 Jun 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
As indicated in the title, this book covers 150 years of street photography in London, almost from the beginning of the art. There is not a continuous flow in time and there are sometimes rather longer gaps than I would have preferred but you cannot include in any retrospective collection that which does not exist or is unknown. The book reflects an exhibition held in the Museum of London in 2011 and is published by the exhibition's curators. I don't know how the collection was chosen but I do know that most of the photographs come from the museum's archives and may likely have been donated.

To the early photographers, taking a photograph in the street was a major and complex task and the Victorians were fascinated by it. The technologies and cameras used were crude and, until Kodak, most photographers would have needed to prepare their own plates and process them, unless they were able to afford an assistant. Photography was mainly a rich person's hobby the cameras were large and cumbersome and required the use of a tripod. The technologies were sometimes extremely hazardous, either in the preparation of the plates which had to be prepared and used almost immediately and which would have required a portable darkroom to be available on-site or in the processing after exposure. One process required a large volume of liquid mercury to be heated beneath the exposed plate, and no-one today would be quite so adventurous with something that dangerous.

The early cameras were relatively simple and did not initially need a shutter; to expose, the photographer uncapped the lens for whatever period of time he guessed to be needed, and it could amount to many seconds. In some of the earlier photos, you can see ghosted images where someone has stopped for a moment or two before moving on. Later, when technology improved and film rating systems employed during production only then did exposure times reduce and a means of controlling exposure times then down to a larger fraction of a second could be used. By the 1880s-1890s, photography was cheap enough to be affordable by the middle classes and the slightly wealthier working class. The photographers represented in this collection are, in the main, unrecognisable names rather than the Cartier-Bressons of their time.

The photographs evidence several different technologies up to and probably including digital; it is not the technologies that matter but the images. Most are fascinating in that they reflect the fashions and transport of their day. It is interesting to see well-known locations in a previously unknown way, empty streets, horse-drawn vehicles, and even animal fairs of which there still a few remaining up to the early 20th century but the increase in traffic forced them to close or move.

Of necessity, very few of the images are in colour and that is very appropriate. However, the use of colour is not a very modern technology but was available in an early form from the mid-1920s and it might have been interesting to include one or two of those vintage technologies. I know of one relatively famous collection shot using the Dufay process where photographers were sent around the world just to take photographs; several were shot in and around London.

It is easy to suggest that images could have been added, but an exhibition is of necessity limited to the amount of display space available. Some of the earlier photographs may well have been the actual exposed plate from the camera and therefore perhaps no larger than a few square inches. Others may have been enlarged from a negative and therefore be much larger, but they all require their own space. The representative images included are quite varied and for that the curators must be congratulated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating, 12 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
This book is fascinating to see old photographs as early as 1860. I bought this book to see if I could learn more about what makes an interesting shot in street photography and I think its done that. I looked through the whole book in a day and couldn't wait to get out on the streets and shoot. Even if your not interested in photography its a wonderful book to see what it was like back than.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars London has changed, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
I recieved this book at christmas and I love it. The whole idea of street photography is demonstrated in this book. The idea that photos of normal life may not interesting for many years, but once the years have passed they take on a different interest for the viewer. Seeing a whole London street of carts and horses would of been normal to the photographer. Those photos now look facinating because streets aren't filled with carts and horses.
I have liked street photography before but this year I have tried to compile my own images of 2014 of people and places. I may not get there but hopefully I can take photos that will be as interesting as the ones included in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book but the photographs let it down, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
I found this book interesting but the photographs are lack-lustre and characterises. There must be a more socially aware set of more intimate London shots out there somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I hoped it would be., 7 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
Maybe I had the wrong impression of what this would be - I was quite disappointed with the contents. The contents of some 'local books' that I have seen have been better than this one... local books that tell a story of an area with local photos.

It would have been useful to have included a paragraph or two to explain the photo, or the history of the photo, rather than just a title.

If you are interested in a historic impression of 'street photography' then you will too be disappointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
I went to this exhibition at the Museum of London and loved it. The book was quite expensive and could not afford it on the day so was very glad to find it on Amazon. Absolutely fantastic photos which I look at over and over again. I would recommend this book to anyone either with a love of London or photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Londo Street Photography 1860-2010, 8 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
Excellent book of pictures, well presented. For any one how loves London and taking good pictorial photographs.These are unplanned pictures of the mommet,history of street life.Always carry a camera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars London Street Photography, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
Bought as a present. The recipient was well pleased. Anything to do with London and it's History is of great interest and although
no longer lives in London frequently visits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of good photos, 25 Mar 2013
By 
P. Mercer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) (Hardcover)
More modern than historic but still good. Very informative. Captures life in different era's Interesting coffee table book.
Recommend as history for today's youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London)
London Street Photography 1860-2010 (Museum of London) by Anna Sparham (Hardcover - 18 Feb 2011)
16.99
Usually dispatched within 1 to 3 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews