Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely recipes and vegetable suggestions
i'm not a vegetarian but i do struggle sometimes to make interesting vegetable dishes and this book was a great inspiration. I'm buying more and more locally grown produce and it's nice to see such a lovely selection of recipes and ideas for vegetables that i normally wouldn't make. It's published in conjunction with the National Trust and so the sections do talk about...
Published 10 months ago by Pat B

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT VEGETARIAN as categorized by Amazon but a lovely book if you don't mind meat recipes
It's not the book, amazon have categorized in the vegetarian cookery books and it's not.
Have requested amazon re-classify it
Published 6 months ago by Claire Sallows


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely recipes and vegetable suggestions, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
i'm not a vegetarian but i do struggle sometimes to make interesting vegetable dishes and this book was a great inspiration. I'm buying more and more locally grown produce and it's nice to see such a lovely selection of recipes and ideas for vegetables that i normally wouldn't make. It's published in conjunction with the National Trust and so the sections do talk about the Trust's involvement in sourcing their own sustainly grown British vegetables in their Trust property restaurants, kitchen gardens and farms. For anyone (like me) not totally clued up about which vegetables are in season when, there is a brilliant seasonal chart at the beginning of the book which tells you what's growing when throughout the year - genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional recipes, organised by season, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
Published by the National Trust, this is a fairly traditional set of recipes organised around British vegetables. Not all the recipes are vegetarian (fish pie, lots of things with bacon and beef), so this is more for someone looking for imaginative things to do with vegetables as ingredients and side dishes as well as main meals.

What I like about this is the way it's organised around the four seasons: even though we're used to vegetables being available all year round, it's still nice to have recipes focused on what's in season.

This stretches from the not-really-a-recipe (roast beef and watercress sandwich) to more complicated things like carrot cake, pastry, home-made breads, tempura and mayonnaise.

The tamarind chilli seared beef is delicious (perfect for January despite it being in the summer section), and there are some interesting soups (lettuce soup) and salads (crunchy cauliflower; cucumber, pear and radish; papaya, mint and watercress).

So for anyone bored of their repertoire of vegetable dishes looking for stimulation, this is good. It's probably not the most imaginative of cookbooks but is a solid addition to the kitchen shelf.

(This review is from an ARC courtesy of the publisher)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars NOT VEGETARIAN as categorized by Amazon but a lovely book if you don't mind meat recipes, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
It's not the book, amazon have categorized in the vegetarian cookery books and it's not.
Have requested amazon re-classify it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars debijbell, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
Lots of ideas to turn your veggies into deliciousness whether home grown or from your own garden /
allotment.Interestingly interspersed with historical food facts and glimpses into our heritage.
Well laid out and in seasonal sections so easy to follow,also the book stays open on the counter when following a recipe always a plus point with me.
Cucumber ice cream anyone?
Yes please!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not user friendly, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After downloading this book I discovered that the recipe index does not work. If you want to find a recipe you have to search by location which is time consuming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great cookbook, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
I had expected this to be a vegetarian cookbook, but it is actually a general cookbook, majoring on vegetable recipes.

Already tries some and found it to be a very sensible (not stratospheric) cook book.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great British Vegetable Cookbook, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
It follows the seasons and recommends the vegetables for that in a very good way.
Lovely pictures and very good recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great recipes, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Great British Vegetable Cookbook (Hardcover)
Got this for someone as a present and looked at it myself and was very impressed. Perfect for a vegetarian cook but does have some recipes which include meat.. fast delivery and a good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Great British Vegetable Cookbook
The Great British Vegetable Cookbook by Sybil Kapoor (Hardcover - 15 Aug 2013)
17.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews