Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Chinese.. In... Steps...
Just started a Chinese course and made the mistake of flicking all the way through this book when I first got it and instantly feeling a bit sick about what I'd signed myself up for!

I'm glad to say the reality is very different. The course, much helped by this book, is a good mix of speaking, listening, reading AND writing! The text in this book is very clear...
Published on 21 Feb. 2012 by marcobie

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
actual book not best for learning Chinese
Published 5 months ago by Mr Caomhán Reilly


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Chinese.. In... Steps..., 21 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
Just started a Chinese course and made the mistake of flicking all the way through this book when I first got it and instantly feeling a bit sick about what I'd signed myself up for!

I'm glad to say the reality is very different. The course, much helped by this book, is a good mix of speaking, listening, reading AND writing! The text in this book is very clear and understandable, with a good introduction to some Chinese cultural references too. The CD's that come with it are an essential addition which gives you a chance to practice practice practice away fromthe classroom!

While I've already scared myself (again - I'll never learn) by looking at the second volume of this book, this volume doesn't seem quite so scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book for Adults/Teenagers, 18 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
It's a well structured book for adults and teenagers, combines 4 skills together - listening, speaking, reading and writing, great grammar illustration, My students and I like this book very much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant intro to Mandarin, 4 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
Bought this for some to learn a few characters, some words and phrases before I take on my Chinese modules at uni. It's surpassed my expectation of dodgy French textbooks with complicated grammatical obfuscation and the difficult and the overwhelming Japanese textbooks with clear sections of both English and Chinese, with well laid out word lists, logical ways to explain simple grammar to get you talking right away. The preface is a simple yet complete introduction to tones, characters, and everything else you need to get started, with the difficulty increasing as the chapters unfold, yet never getting too overwhelming. The CD isn't fantastic, but it's not bad either and will serve to get you started, and each chapter could easily go into more depth with conversation and examples. However, the key difference between this textbook and any other is the character drawing section, which shows the key characters for each chapter with stroke order and guides, so you can begin to practice the difficult task of writing straight away! Overall a steal at around £12ish and will get you familiar with the solid basics pretty quick, as it has done for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
An easy to understand and useful book. It was recommended to me by a highly educated Chinese Lady and I have not looked back. Excellent. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality material, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
Chinese is the 4th foreign language I am learning, so I know what I expect from a good book. I have been learning chinese for 7 months but without learning characters. Chinese in steps is brilliant for learning characters with the correct stroke order, this is better in the new edition, and to consolidate the vocabulary from the lessons before.
I can't tell how it is to start learning with this book at absolute beginners level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Book..., 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
Really good book, however I've had trouble getting the audio CD to play in various devices, it works in my car but that's not much good for studying. :-/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks useful, 6 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
I have not yet attended classes, so don't know how much help it will be. Looks good, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent way to learn Chinese. I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars informative & lessons are well planned, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
the lessons are well planned for beginners level & the audio cd is helpful in guiding beginners into pronunciation and words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) (Paperback)
Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express)
Chinese in Steps Student Book Vol. 1 (Chinese Express) by Linda Li and Lik Suen (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2011)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews