Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography marred by poor proof reading
Roe makes the story of the Rossetti family exciting and accessible, I enjoyed finding out about Gabriel's parents, grandparents aunts and uncles, as well as more about the less well known sister Maria.
The reading experience was marred only by the huge amount of typographical errors, including the laughable "fact" that The Spectator cost 99p in the 1850s! I...
Published on 30 Jan. 2013 by KayBee

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I had hoped for so much from this book, as an account of the Rossetti family has the potential to be fascinating and illuminating, but sadly this work disappoints. It has the appearance of not being proofread or copy edited - the text is littered with spelling mistakes and other errors and inconsistencies, not to mention irritating errors of fact, such as repeatedly...
Published on 3 May 2012 by SJR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent biography marred by poor proof reading, 30 Jan. 2013
By 
KayBee "Hemulen" (Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
Roe makes the story of the Rossetti family exciting and accessible, I enjoyed finding out about Gabriel's parents, grandparents aunts and uncles, as well as more about the less well known sister Maria.
The reading experience was marred only by the huge amount of typographical errors, including the laughable "fact" that The Spectator cost 99p in the 1850s! I felt as if I was reading a proof copy at times. Also the notes on the text are sparse and uninformative.
Nevertheless I would recommend this book if you have any interest in the 19th entry, artists, poets and the like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 6 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
I didn't know quite what to expect from this book, but I pre-ordered it because I love everything to do with the pre-Raphaelites. I am so pleased that I did because it is a totally compelling read that really brings the Rossetti family, and the whole period, to life. Roe writes beautifully and I quickly found myself immersed. I had been worried that it might be a little scholarly and dry, but it is anything but - and is a real pleasure to read, for anyone interested in the pre-Raphaelites. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rossettis in Wonderland: A Victorian Family History, 31 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
I really enjoy ambitious biographies which draw together a group of people to give the wider cultural and social context to their work, and this family biography of the Rossettis was an immensely satisfying read.

Roe structures her narrative extremely well; it is beautifully written, with real momentum, wit and vividness. It was very instructive to learn more about the less well-known Rossettis, and understand how the quieter members of families often enable and shape the life-choices and artistic decisions of their more celebrated siblings.

Roe brings an enormous amount of scholarship to this book, but she is a very dextrous storyteller so the wealth of new material she unearths does not for a moment impede the progress of her narrative. Academics and more general readers alike should derive a great deal of pleasure from this compelling history of a fascinating family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Powerful and Moving Account of an Unforgettable Family, 23 Oct. 2011
By 
Amy Plum ((Loire Valley, France)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
Roe juggles not one but six biographies with skill and insight as she weaves together the Rossettis' stories to present the tale of the exceptionally talented Victorian family. The fascinating biographical material is enriched by notes from contemporary history and anecdotes from the family's social and intellectual peers.

Seeing the poems and paintings set into the context of their creators' personal and social history allowed me to experience them with a more three-dimensional comprehension. And after reading Roe's thorough and touching family biography, I feel capable of approaching Christina Rossetti's poems and Dante Gabriel Rossetti's art with an informed, and therefore more profound, appreciation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
I had hoped for so much from this book, as an account of the Rossetti family has the potential to be fascinating and illuminating, but sadly this work disappoints. It has the appearance of not being proofread or copy edited - the text is littered with spelling mistakes and other errors and inconsistencies, not to mention irritating errors of fact, such as repeatedly referring to Georgiana Burne-Jones as 'Georgina'. The general effect is amateurish, and frustrating for the reader: the book would have been so much better if it had been rigorously edited; as it is it has the appearance of an early draft. As an editor and academic specializing in the nineteenth century, I would recommend Jan Marsh's works on the Rossettis and the Pre-Raphaelites, or Fiona MacCarthy's books on Morris and Burne-Jones - these are all readable, interesting, and thoroughly well-researched, and will not disappoint the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great group biography, 9 Aug. 2012
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
I will like to recommend this book not only because it is a great read but because it drowns you into the world of the Pre-Raphaelites. The lives of the Rossettis, mainly Christina and Gabriel are very well described and their story is inspiring. The research is superb, and the quality of writing is extraordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating story, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
A really enjoyable history of a fascinating family. Perhaps a little overlong and certainly not a very happy story but I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
Nice item well packaged good price and delivered with thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art and Religion in family life in mid-Victorian England, 24 April 2013
By 
Dr. Peter G. Buck (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History (Paperback)
This book draws out the very strong influences of religion, nationalist pride and the desire to be different from the general mass of people very well and shows, in the case of Christina Rossetti, the appalling effect religious fervour can lead to a mental condition almost of extreme insanity. The differences between the Rossetti children are clearly delineated allowing a rounded view of each individual to emerge, and the writer's command of English, both the more formal and more colloquial, makes the book a joy to read, packed as it is with so much detail of the family life and the professional lives which the children lived out, in a period of history which set so many difficult rules and regulations by which to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History
The Rossettis In Wonderland: A Victorian Family History by Dinah Roe (Paperback - 3 Oct. 2011)
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews