Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully presented and insightful pocket book, 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
My first impressions of this book were somewhat incredulous; its small proportions contain a comfortable size of writing and a wealth of good sized colour photograph diagrams, quite different to the eye-straining contents of other pocket and quick reference guides. Surely then the breadth and depth of material are compromised? Surprisingly, this book seems to maintain the elusive balance between comprehensiveness and accessibility.

The introduction covers practical aspects such as palpation techniques whilst refreshing the concepts of anatomical movements, positions and planes and dermatomes. Subsequent chapters address surface anatomy specific to thorax, abdomen, limbs, pelvis and perineum, head, neck and vertebral column. Clinical insight boxes throughout the text offer salient advice and information, encouraging the reader to grasp the wider applications of surface anatomy in medical practice.

The particular strengths of this book lie in its accessibility and overall presentation. The text is concise, easy to follow and nicely broken up by a mixture of tables, MRI, CT and X-ray images and photographs with diagrammatic overlays. The use of human models makes it easy for the reader to visualise and contextualise information as they would need it when dealing with real patients.

In summary, this pocket guide to surface anatomy is particularly relevant for the clinically oriented reader, who values a balance of text and diagram in addition to superb value. It contains a range of information pertinent to both early and clinical years of medical teaching, where its small size and rounded corners make it an easy bedside and lecture theatre companion. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, excellent value, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
Ive just bought this book to help with my 2nd year medical studies and Im really impressed. For under ten pounds it's full of great pictures and the text is written in a no nonsense easy to understand way.

The pocket guide concept is also really good. With the amount of stuff I have to carry round on a daily basis the last thing I need is another heavy textbook. I can pretty much just leave this in my bag and grab it when required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have for medical students & Drs!!!!!!, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
This book is so cheap for its content, it's small and light, fitting in your bag for daily use but still packs a massive knowledge punch. It's like someone has gone through all the larger textbooks and condensed the information we really need especially for our use :) Its easy to read, pictures are overlaid with clear drawings of underlying anatomy, which is so useful for both initial understanding and clinical practice. A clear must have!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential guide for your academic and clinical practice, 18 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
I have recently purchased this book and, as a medical student, I have to say it is one of a kind and an absolute must for anyone studying healthcare or health sciences.

It has, historically, been very difficult to find a concise overview of surface anatomy, with many text books littering the subject over countless pages which are hard to follow and lack detail. This book brings all of the surface anatomy together under one roof and allows the reader to easily reference important areas.

With its clinical bent and relation to diagrams and pictures of human subjects it really brings the subject of anatomy to life and is far less time consuming than trying to reference across several sources or worse trying to draw the pictures yourself on flashcards. I only wish that I had this book to hand during my finals last year as it made some of the 'hard to understand' features of muscle structures, nervous innervation and specific locations of organs and tissues far clearer.

Plus, at a price of under £10 and a size that does actually fit in your back pocket this book is a welcome addition to the Pocket Tutor series and one I can see myself using for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential everyday practical textbook!, 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
Knowledge of surface anatomy will always be fundamental to any medical, nursing or physiotherapy student. It forms the foundation through which any practitioner can apply their clinical skills. As an experienced Physiotherapist, I find myself constantly referring back to anatomy textbooks to refresh my basic knowledge. Illustrations of neatly drawn models have their value, however a thorough grasp of surface anatomy is what practitioners need on a daily basis in a clinical setting. This textbook is a handy, convenient, accurate and inexpensive way to access this essential knowledge. It is invaluable to any practitioner wanting to ensure that they are palpating and targeting specific tissue. This is a must have textbook! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars handy pocket book, 15 Dec 2012
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
I found this pocket tutor ideal for quick looks ups while studying, especially for clinical skills, but also for anatomy. I am in the academic phase of a medical degree and I imagine it will also be a great book for when the clinical placements start - I am hoping to be able to fit it in a pocket somewhere during ward rounds. It contains many clear photos with drawings indicating the underlying structures, and the accompanying text is full of extra information. Information is summarized in tables where needed and there are little reminders of clinical situations related to the anatomy described. The authors suggest it can be used as a stand-alone textbook too but I would think it is a bit too concise to be that. Overall a great little resource!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, 7 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. B. (LONDON UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
Having brought another surface anatomy book which was good but not particularly user friendly. This book gives you the basics in a nice format that is easy to use and remember. It provides a great foundation for going out and learning more on a whole manner of subjects. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
a handy sized guid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reference Book, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
This book was bought as a stocking filler for my son who is very pleased with it. It will be a useful reference book for his studies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent: Clear and concise with clinically relevant text., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) (Paperback)
The book is clear and concise, with excellent pictures and diagrams.
The text helps link the surface anatomy to clinically relevant points, which I really like.

Can we have it as an eBook please?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series)
Pocket Tutor Surface Anatomy (Pocket Tutor Series) by Nehal Shah (Paperback - 25 Jun 2012)
£10.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews