Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content
This is a wonderful book. I run a sales and marketing consultancy and refer to this book time and time again and recommended it to all my clients.

Kevin has a knack for condensing complex and useful content and making it accessible and enjoyable.

Can't wait for his next book!
Published 15 months ago by HelenK

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as I hoped
I really wanted to like this book. I do like the way it's laid out, and each diagram is well explained, but there is nowhere near enough depth or breadth.

The problem is that the diagrams, and the concepts they convey, are very limited. Some of them, frankly, are so shallow that they're closer to clipart than conceptual diagrams. All of them are from a very...
Published 7 months ago by Stephen Hampshire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. I run a sales and marketing consultancy and refer to this book time and time again and recommended it to all my clients.

Kevin has a knack for condensing complex and useful content and making it accessible and enjoyable.

Can't wait for his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a truly excellent book. It contains lots of diagrams you may have come across before (useful as a reminder), and loads you won't have done. I was initially doubtful that such as small book could be worth the purchase price, but at a thousand words per page, it was well worth it ;-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Spridgeon (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This book really is a visual problem solver that is purposefully short on words.
Each section of the book is clear and concise, it will allow you to read in a single sitting and understand quickly what you are being shown.
Examples appear obvious, but lend themselves to other scenarios with minimal creative thinking.
Within a week I've used some of these.

A bargain of a book, but do expect a brief reference journal rather than a management bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful pictures of our thinking, 6 Sep 2014
By 
Dr. Peter Davies (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a very helpful little book. It packs a lot into its few words and limited pages. It shows well how certain shapes convey certain relationships. Basically it's a meditation on similarity/difference/overlap. Do you emphasise similarity or difference? Do you need to get away from the old? Have you a clear goal in mind. Are things closer together or further apart? Do certain things need to come closer together? Diagrams allow us to illustrate such thoughts graphically and easily.

Each diagram has a use- and can be adapted to multiple settings. The author describes scenarios mainly from a business setting but they can be adapted to other settings easily- fundamentally this is a book about structures and representations of thought- and the similarities of these structures across disciplines and specialities is more remarkable than the differences.

The Personal Motivation Triangle (10) is more easily summarised as satisfaction, salary and support. All triangular descriptions collapse into instability- the three concepts in them can never all be fully achieved at once- one is played off against another in any scenario. We have perpetrator-victim-rescuer triangles in psychology (Drama Triangle from transactional analysis), thesis-antithesis-synthesis in philosophy (largely from Hegel- but with lineage back to Aristotle) prosecutors-defenders-judges in courtrooms, the doctor-thepatient- and the illness in medicine (from Michael Balint) The instability of the triangle is what actually creates the interest in the scenario.

This is a very useful and sensible book, and the pictures within it can be adapted to many settings. I wonder if the author could improve it by describing some examples from differen settings- to emphasise the similarities in human thought patterns across disciplines. We think along certain mind lines- and diagrams allow us to show the direction of these mind lines across our mental and physical time and space.

Overall this is avery helpful book, that contains more than you would expect within 116 pages. The models given are useful, and readily adaptable into many contexts of work and life.

I'll expect better diagrams and clarity form people who use this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
Very interesting - I wished it provided a little more depth but a great into and quick read which allows you to research more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Problem solved, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a really great book and so useful in the setting of presentations, reports and many other business settings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book if you think in pictures, or even if you don't...., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
The Diagrams Book is an excellent resource for anyone who needs to use drawings, figures and yes, diagrams, to explain concepts to others. I've been using it to help illustrate some parts of my PhD thesis, but I could equally have used it in my previous lives in finance and commerce. It's straightforward, and jargon-free, and full of ideas for diagrams which illuminate rather than diagrams which complicate. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 31 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
A clear collection of useful diagrams to use as a springboard and build upon.
Nothing groundbreaking but nice to have in one place
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as I hoped, 9 May 2014
By 
Stephen Hampshire (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
I really wanted to like this book. I do like the way it's laid out, and each diagram is well explained, but there is nowhere near enough depth or breadth.

The problem is that the diagrams, and the concepts they convey, are very limited. Some of them, frankly, are so shallow that they're closer to clipart than conceptual diagrams. All of them are from a very narrow domain of marketing or basic business strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very weak book, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a very simple, small book - most of the diagrams are covered in GCSE mathematics.
Not only is it simple; its small pages are sparsely populated with words. Not surprisingly with such simple concepts does the author struggle to write much, that which is written is not particularly worthwhile. I can't believe someone reviewed this book with "superb"...... maybe they never went to school. Poor value for money - you have been forewarned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually
The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually by Kevin Duncan (Hardcover - 30 Mar 2013)
£8.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews