Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
This is a truly excellent book. It contains lots of diagrams you may have come across before (useful as a reminder), and loads you won't have done. I was initially doubtful that such as small book could be worth the purchase price, but at a thousand words per page, it was well worth it ;-).
Published 7 months ago by DavidS

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as I hoped
I really wanted to like this book. I do like the way it's laid out, and each diagram is well explained, but there is nowhere near enough depth or breadth.

The problem is that the diagrams, and the concepts they convey, are very limited. Some of them, frankly, are so shallow that they're closer to clipart than conceptual diagrams. All of them are from a very...
Published 2 months ago by Stephen Hampshire


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. A. Spridgeon (Southampton, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This book really is a visual problem solver that is purposefully short on words.
Each section of the book is clear and concise, it will allow you to read in a single sitting and understand quickly what you are being shown.
Examples appear obvious, but lend themselves to other scenarios with minimal creative thinking.
Within a week I've used some of these.

A bargain of a book, but do expect a brief reference journal rather than a management bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a truly excellent book. It contains lots of diagrams you may have come across before (useful as a reminder), and loads you won't have done. I was initially doubtful that such as small book could be worth the purchase price, but at a thousand words per page, it was well worth it ;-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. I run a sales and marketing consultancy and refer to this book time and time again and recommended it to all my clients.

Kevin has a knack for condensing complex and useful content and making it accessible and enjoyable.

Can't wait for his next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book if you think in pictures, or even if you don't...., 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
The Diagrams Book is an excellent resource for anyone who needs to use drawings, figures and yes, diagrams, to explain concepts to others. I've been using it to help illustrate some parts of my PhD thesis, but I could equally have used it in my previous lives in finance and commerce. It's straightforward, and jargon-free, and full of ideas for diagrams which illuminate rather than diagrams which complicate. I recommend it wholeheartedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Problem solved, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a really great book and so useful in the setting of presentations, reports and many other business settings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
Very interesting - I wished it provided a little more depth but a great into and quick read which allows you to research more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A very weak book, 23 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
This is a very simple, small book - most of the diagrams are covered in GCSE mathematics.
Not only is it simple; its small pages are sparsely populated with words. Not surprisingly with such simple concepts does the author struggle to write much, that which is written is not particularly worthwhile. I can't believe someone reviewed this book with "superb"...... maybe they never went to school. Poor value for money - you have been forewarned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as I hoped, 9 May 2014
By 
Stephen Hampshire (Huddersfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually (Hardcover)
I really wanted to like this book. I do like the way it's laid out, and each diagram is well explained, but there is nowhere near enough depth or breadth.

The problem is that the diagrams, and the concepts they convey, are very limited. Some of them, frankly, are so shallow that they're closer to clipart than conceptual diagrams. All of them are from a very narrow domain of marketing or basic business strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually
The Diagrams Book: 50 Ways to Solve Any Problem Visually by Kevin Duncan (Hardcover - 30 Mar 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews