Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky
I bought this book as I'm a fan and subscriber to Fortean Times.

Although the subject matter is somewhat dour, once you start to read a few of the stories, you'll find youself immersed and quite intrigued at some of the bizarre ways in which folk have met their maker.

Sometimes sad but often strange enough to make you raise your eyebrows, I would...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Doc

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read
After seeing this advertised in Bizarre magazine I knew it was the perfect read for the bathroom! Each story is a fascinating insight into the weird ways of death. It's not a thick book, it's a magbook, but there's plenty to read.
Published on 22 Jan 2012 by Leona Zombie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky, 13 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook (Paperback)
I bought this book as I'm a fan and subscriber to Fortean Times.

Although the subject matter is somewhat dour, once you start to read a few of the stories, you'll find youself immersed and quite intrigued at some of the bizarre ways in which folk have met their maker.

Sometimes sad but often strange enough to make you raise your eyebrows, I would recommend this book to all of you out there who have a taste for the unusual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Slings and Arrows of outrageous Fortune', 21 Feb 2012
By 
A. McGrath - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook (Paperback)
An offbeat look into the many strange and varied ways of shuffling off this mortal coil. Arranged into various categories of departure from 'oops' to 'the perils of karaoke', you'll find the strange, mind-blowing and tragic in here. From the sad case of the avant-garde artist whose suicide was mistaken for a work of art, to the terrorist whose suicide bomb was accidentally detonated by a Happy New Year text. 'Memento homo, quia pulvis es et in pulverem reverteris' - Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook (Paperback)
After seeing this advertised in Bizarre magazine I knew it was the perfect read for the bathroom! Each story is a fascinating insight into the weird ways of death. It's not a thick book, it's a magbook, but there's plenty to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Different, but Somewhat Surprisingly Compulsive Read, 18 April 2014
By 
Andrew McCann (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having originally purchased this book as a Kindle download for the wife, I was quickly drawn to her responses to the subject matter, which ranged from the "Oh dear, I shouldn't be laughing at that really, as it's so tragic!" to the, "What a stupid thing to do, served him/her right really..."

Consequently, I felt an obligation to read the book for myself and was amazed at the number of supposedly insignificant day-to-day happenings that resulted in the unexpected demise of the unfortunate individuals involved.

Who would have thought, for instance, that the dwarf on a trampoline, in the opening account, would have faced the Grim Reaper, as a result of having been swallowed by a yawning hippopotamus?

If anything the book has made me extra vigilant about the possibility of unforeseeable dangers lurking in seemingly innocuous situations.

A fascinating, if rather macabre read, which would make Health and Safety experts quake in their shoes, at the realisation that it is almost impossible to fathom all instances of potential life-threatening dangers evident in our everyday lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good book fun and surprising, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You know what you're getting with this book from Fortean Times. I subscribe to the magazine so they were preaching to the converted with this one. Thoroughly enjoyable, only problem was I finished it too quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook (Paperback)
Bought this for my fiancees birthday as she loves books like this, She was not disappointed when she read this as she loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book enjoyed every page!!!!!, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook (Paperback)
Such a great book can't wait to read more of them, great price too makes me very happy and bests other book stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook
The Fortean Times Book of Strange Deaths MagBook by MagBooks (Paperback - 21 July 2010)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews