Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong latest instalment for Whitby's favourite lady adventurers
This book is a warm hearted celebration of Brenda and Effie's stories. It's not a jumping on point for the series - if you're new to Brenda and Effie go back to the earlier books, preferably from the very beginning, to get the most out of them. This book is most effective when you are familiar with their past adventures.

There's a sense of doom hanging over the...
Published on 31 Oct 2012 by V. Dunstan

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with the ending
I have loved the books and was really looking forward to reading how the series ended. The final book was ok. That's all ok. I wanted to rave about it but I can't. The ending was awful - a letter from another character. There were bits of the story that wasn't finished / explained the dust in the house and the food going off, the professors booking in to the B&B. I felt a...
Published 14 months ago by M. Lawrence


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong latest instalment for Whitby's favourite lady adventurers, 31 Oct 2012
By 
V. Dunstan "vivdunstan" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a warm hearted celebration of Brenda and Effie's stories. It's not a jumping on point for the series - if you're new to Brenda and Effie go back to the earlier books, preferably from the very beginning, to get the most out of them. This book is most effective when you are familiar with their past adventures.

There's a sense of doom hanging over the whole of this story, and I'm not going to give away the ending here. You'll have to read the book to find out what happens. But it builds a very effective atmosphere as you read.

Look out for some interesting new characters, both friends and foes. And the return of some old favourites.

Thoroughly recommended to all fans of the gothic and macabre. But enjoy the series from the very beginning.

And I really must visit Whitby some day ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed with the ending, 7 Oct 2013
By 
M. Lawrence (near WOLVERHAMPTON, WEST MIDLANDS Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved the books and was really looking forward to reading how the series ended. The final book was ok. That's all ok. I wanted to rave about it but I can't. The ending was awful - a letter from another character. There were bits of the story that wasn't finished / explained the dust in the house and the food going off, the professors booking in to the B&B. I felt a bit cheated by it. It was almost as if the author was going to miss a deadline and rushed it.

Shame really the others were great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing..., 8 May 2014
I've read this series since the beginning, and I've always throughly enjoyed the books, but at the end of this one I felt seriously let down. There were unfinished plot threads, no real sense of the story going anywhere, and the ending just came across as lazy, as if the author just wanted to be done with the whole thing. If a further book was written to properly close the series off then I'd probably give it a shot, but this instalment was a real let down. My 3 star rating is in deference to the higher quality of the previous books in the series, but if you're a new reader then I'd advise stopping with the last book, you wouldn't be missing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brenda&Effie misfire, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Denis Reed (Stockton-on-tees, Cleveland England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
The Brenda&Effie series has been an absolute joy and I was very much looking forward to reading this latest instalment.But oh what a disappointment.It takes ages to get going,never substantially goes anywhere,and ends in the most anaemic way imaginable.A very poor way to end such an excellent series.Better it hadn't been published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 27 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
As like the other books in the series, this one was as entertaining and a quick and easy read. Long live Brenda and Effie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please!!!, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
I am so pleased Paul Magrs decided to continue the completely bonkers story of the two dear old pensioners Effie and Brenda. This latest edition contained all the same flare and bizarre adventures we are all used too. Magrs has the ability to combine loveable characters we know and love and throw them into the oddest situations as if its everyday life- talking Pandas, ghosts of the Bronte Sisters to name a few. The story continues from their previous adventures so its best to have read the others before pursuing this one. I love the relationship between Brenda and Effie, they remind me of loveable mad aunties. Its been a pleasure sharing their adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
Great fun reading this book, but expect nothing else from Paul Magrs. This book was up to the standard of all the other 'Brenda and Effie' books in the series. I read the first one a few years ago on holiday & have been hooked ever since. the book arrived promptly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo...Bravo...Bravo! Paul has done it again!, 26 Nov 2012
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
Bravo...Bravo...Bravo! Paul has done it again!
I have read all the Brenda and Effie series and think they are brilliant!
The twisted and quirky humor of these books have always remained a constant with this series and Paul has been able to maintain this through out the series. This new addition is no exception, which has been a wonderful visit back to Whitby and well worth the wait. If you have already enjoyed the previous books then I can promise you, you won't be disappointed with this new addition.
Paul has managed to keep this series fresh and even adds another new layer of gloss to his charters and isn't scared to mix things up by adding new charters to the main group, which just keeps everything new and fresh, I do like `Panda' in this series, as your always kept guessing if Panda is good or bad!
Just from reading the outline of the story at the back of the book I started to laugh, so I new then that this was going to be another wonderful adventure.
I'm pleased to see that Paul has left the door ajar on this series for hopefully another story which would be wonderful if he does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition, 31 May 2013
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
Always enjoy this series ! I liked that Magrs has reverted to first person (Brenda) narration as he has experimented with different styles throughout the books . Also, this entry has one of the most effective use of expletive ever !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this Brenda and Effie episode as I have all the others. You'll never look at the Brontes in the same way after reading this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie)
Brenda and Effie Forever! (Brenda Effie) by Paul Magrs (Paperback - 1 Sep 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews