Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-horror at its bloodiest best
I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptica. No matter how terrible it is, much like armageddon, I'll see it through until the end... unless it's Uwe Boll's House of the Dead; I walked out of that particular flick.

Thankfully, I encountered no such problems with Fever, the latest undead offering from Wayne Simmons.

Although this novel can be categorised as a...
Published 22 months ago by John Milton

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not to be sneezed at
I have to admit I am a fan of Wayne Simons books having enjoyed both Flu and Drop Dead Gorgeous, but Fever just does not live up to its predecessor while still being an ok book in its own right I just did not get anywhere near as much enjoyment from it as I did from Flu.
Published 24 months ago by Xux


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action-horror at its bloodiest best, 9 Jun 2012
By 
John Milton (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptica. No matter how terrible it is, much like armageddon, I'll see it through until the end... unless it's Uwe Boll's House of the Dead; I walked out of that particular flick.

Thankfully, I encountered no such problems with Fever, the latest undead offering from Wayne Simmons.

Although this novel can be categorised as a sequel to Flu, I would suggest that description is not entirely accurate. The events of Fever not only encompass the chronology of Flu but add a little preamble and also reveals the fate of those left standing at the end of Flu. Simmons skilfully weaves the events of Flu into Fever without them becoming intrusive, obvious or simply an exercise in repetition. Fever is very much an expansion and development of the nightmarish vision of Northern Ireland that Simmons created in Flu.

For me, the greatest surprise came when Simmons employed a plot device that I have encountered only in Justin Cronin's The Passage and again, the revelation that came with it was quite the shock to the system and made Fever all the more memorable.

Critically, I suspect that some may not appreciate the set-up of Fever, with very small chapters, darting between the different threads that Simmons develops here. However, I would suggest that such criticism is ill-founded since this particular style compelled me to read on and at all times the plight of the characters involved was fresh in my mind.

On that note, yet again Simmons conjures up characters that are certainly not your stereotypical Hollywood zombie fodder. Although you may feel that you have seen some of these characters within the genre before, the author makes them incredibly believable by infusing them with all the faults, failings and experiences that come with living life, rather than the two-dimensional creations found in some books and films within the genre. As equally impressive as his characters is Simmons willingness to despatch those same said characters when, if you're used to more traditional films, you may expect certain individuals to make it a little longer...

Whereas Flu offered commentary on prejudice, politics and sectarianism, Fever is a straight-up action horror set in the environment created by the Troubles in Northern Ireland and narrated amply by Flu; and really jacks up the pace set by its predecessor and delivers plenty of gore while still developing the Flu universe further and leaving the door wide open for a third instalment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unrelenting and claustrophobic zombie horror. No one is safe., 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Again, Wayne Simmons has created another slice of zombie-fried gold! FEVER surpasses FLU in unforgiving, blood-soaked terror. No character is safe. There are no real heroes, just realistic, terrified individuals trying to survive as the world falls down around them. The characterisation is superb, and apart from one part of the story I wasn't sure about, the story is written with no small amount of skill and energy.
From the beginning at the research labs, where the there is a deep feeling of being suffocated and surrounded by the undead, to the end where the plot strands converge, it is non-stop brilliance. FLU was very good, but FEVER is better, in my humble opinion. The story opens up and the destruction of society is described as the virus sweeps Northern Ireland and beyond. Mr. Simmons doesn't hold back - he kills characters you come to care for and grow fond of. He has no mercy - I even think he enjoyed killing them!
Remember, no one is safe in the world of FEVER. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, a must read, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
I stumbled upon wayne's books and have never looked back, read 'Flu' first and was caught up in how good the writing was, strong characters, particularly Lark, action fast moving and always kept my attention. finished and was hungry for more, then along come comes 'Fever'. to be honest it doesn't get much better than this, this book will leave you feeling as though you have been hit by a ten ton truck, fast paced, action sequences are some of the best i've read setting up quite nicely for the final sequences, won't give anything away, can't wait for the next installment, just buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good to Put Down!, 12 April 2012
By 
J. B. Hancock (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
I've been waiting for this since I read FLU. Long wait but worth it. FEVER goes back to the start but you eventually catch up with the previous story. I particularly liked Part One of the book - will say nothing but let you read it yourself. My only gripe is that the book was read very quickly and now I have to wait and see if there will be a third to the series.

In short, if you liked FLU you will definitely enjoy FEVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars death by sneezing, 20 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Be warned this book does not immediately follow the events in Flu (Simmons first book in the series),but shifts around in time a bit, once I got my head around that we were off at a hundred miles an hour.The book is broken into snappy chapters that once again breathe life into the dead old clichés of zombiedom. The Northern Ireland setting (so haunted literally by the past) comes into play and characters you thought might survive succumb and those you wish would really die, er go on. The last line is very chilling as in Flu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fast Unforgiving Killer Fever, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Mr Dave Lightfoot (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Wayne Simmons has outdone himself with this fantastic sequel (prequel) to his brilliant novel Flu.
The story starts of fast and continues at a break-neck speed right until the very end giving the reader, all out action and a plot that will leave you begging for more.

The horror in this book is gory and violent. The zombies are those of the traditional Romero style, shambling through the book and ripping the throats of the characters you grow to love.... but the real class and story telling comes from the intricate plot Wayne Simmons has created. Conspiracy and Government cover ups drip from the pages of this book and the thrill and suspense created by the author will keep you gripped until the very end.

The little nods to Flu - dashed throughout Fever's chapters, helps the reader to connect the plot to the orignal and also reminds us that there are survivors from the first instalment, just waiting to be rescued. The subtle hints the author gives us provide a nostalgic excitement and keeps the reader emotionally involved with the characters.

I highly recommend this book to fans of the genre. It is possibly one of the best plot driven zombie novels available today and Wayne Simmons has once again proved he is one of the leading new voices in the horror genre. All praise must go the authors ability to create such a great story, with such a twisting plot that remains exciting throughout the entire book.

I want more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anyone else feel a FEVER coming on?, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
After reading FLU and waitinf for what seemed like years for the sequel, I must say that it does not disappoint!

In this sequel it takes us back to were the flu all began, giving a reason for it which is unusal for zombie themed books. But in no way is this a bad thing, you form a connection with these lab techs and what they go through, guilt, denial or downright enjoyment of their job!

Again as in FLU there are various characters and references to the former which would require you to read it to pick up on. Again there are connections to Northern Ireland that you will recognise and know.

Character wise you feel for these survivors, their hopelessness and despair in a situation like this.

After reading about these new characters, you also get introduced from the heroes from the first book. I couldn't put it down, I just had to know what had happened to them since FLU!

If you're a fan of the original then this is an essential purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FEVER has to be Simmons best novel to date, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Wayne Simmons has written what must be one of the most exciting and tense sequels of the last couple of years. I really found it hard to put down once I'd started it.

FEVER is the sequel to the fantastic FLU (released in 2010), that introduced us to the city of Belfast and a mutated virus that was slowly turning its inhabitants into the living dead. The sequel carries on the originals' narrative, expanding the story and introducing us to new and believable people (no American stereotypical characters here) and terrifying situations all written at a breathtaking pace.

Simmons has used short chapters which really heightens the tension and creates a sense of urgency. This format is ideal in this genre and I wish more authors would take note.

If you're a fan of the works of Richard Laymon, Brian Keene or Shaun Hutson you will like this.

I cannot recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AAAAACCCCHHHHOOOOOOOO, 6 Mar 2012
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Fever
Flu have you in a cold sweat? Get FEVER!!! The second in the great Wayne Simmons apocalyptic viral series, Fast paced with great new characters to chew on, with a few oldies threw in. The Northern Ireland backdrop makes a great change from your usual america saves the world same old,same old we've been use to. Gritty and dark with litres of blood and gore makes this a must buy for all zombie loving fans. The only down point of the book is.....the wait for the next one. So board up the windows, locked the doors, get your supplies in and tell the boss you won't be in cause you got the fever. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fever (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyed this!

More than flu's equal ( this also was a fantastic read)

Look forward to more from Wayne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafea8fc0)

This product

Fever
Fever by Wayne Simmons (Paperback - 1 Feb 2012)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews