Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very modern short stories
The stories are in general very well written and with some of the most original ideas - highly recommended to any lover of short stories.
Published on 29 Dec. 2012 by Jethro

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odd
bought for wife and she either liked the stories or thought they were just plain stupid but at least they were talking points!
Published on 15 Feb. 2013 by Mr T P Lanetos


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very modern short stories, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The stories are in general very well written and with some of the most original ideas - highly recommended to any lover of short stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great short stories, 15 Sept. 2012
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
If you enjoy the short story form, you'll love this book. The stories are weird, adventurous, moving and at times hopeful. My favourites - and it's hard to choose - are the first and last stories both dealing with libraries. 'I arrive first ' by Emma Jane Unsworth kept me guessing and AK Benedict's story 'The Last LIbrary' - the last story in the collection - was brilliantly written, deeply involving and engaging. I enjoyed the top and tailing of the collection in this way, too. In between are stories by Stella Duffy, Jeannette Winterson and loads of others - what's not to like?
PS AK Benedict has a novel coming out in February 2012. I can't wait. The Beauty of Murder
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great British Short Stories 2012, 12 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
Thes stories are inspiring especially for a budding short story writter like me. We all need to aim as high as these writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British short story is thriving, 1 Nov. 2012
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
This is a fantastic collection. I actually couldn't put it down, which is rare for an anthology. Each story creates a world of its own and there are some truly masterful examples of the form. There's a wide range of genres and writers, but the level is universally high. I'm already looking forward to the 2013 collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 20 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
I chose this rating because, although I didn't read the book myself because it was to give as a present, I did look at the table of contents and realized that it did include most of the authors I love and think highly of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
Excellent book of selection of short stories - from many different authors. Great as a stocking filler for Christmas or birthday gift for reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading., 23 Jan. 2015
By 
Amanda Giles "Amanda Giles" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
I bought this for research into writing short stories and flash fiction. An enjoyable resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
lovely stories and helped to have it come so quickly for my course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars odd, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best British Short Stories 2012 (Paperback)
bought for wife and she either liked the stories or thought they were just plain stupid but at least they were talking points!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very odd, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like all styles of writing from bios to sci fi but this was very very odd.
There was not one tale I could get my head round.
Get the sample first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best British Short Stories 2012
The Best British Short Stories 2012 by Nicholas Royle (Paperback - 1 April 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews