Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2011
First of all: it's so hard not to love this book. From the first moment, it sweeps you up in the telling, like a bard speaking a long-held tale by a cosy fireside. The characters come to life and before you know it, you're rooting for them, the pages almost turning by themselves as you're drawn into the world... of misty modern-day North Wales.

This is a contemporary tale, but with the echoes of history clearly felt as part and parcel of daily life. Ostensibly, it's a simple romance, as two people come together to fulfil promises from a thwarted past life, but that could describe any number of bad Harlequin novels -this is so much more.

Ryan is researching the stone circles of the Preseli Mountains, as a photographer working on a book with his old teacher. Sian is a local woman pulled home to the village by familial duty. Both are fated to meet, thus bringing to a conclusion a love that has yet to survive the centuries, with a vengeful spirit seeking to destroy them now as it has before.

The author builds her tale as one who clearly knows the community she is writing about - a small village with a well-realised cast of eccentrics, in the shadow of the stone circles and with the descriptive voice so strong you can practically hear the accents (and smell the air of a warm country pub!).

While the villains are a little too emphatically EVIL, in the manner of a fairytale complete with boos and hisses, this is remedied by the very much non-stereotypical nature of the protagonists and their friends. You cannot help but wish them well, sure that all will 'come right in the end', but with every cliffhanger there's still that doubt that keeps you up late reading on.

The spirit of Druidry is depicted beautifully - something that too many fiction authors fail to truly capture in words. The magic in this book is powerful as a thunderstorm, yet also as intrinsic and familiar as creativity in painting or even good home cooking!

A good part of me wishes that the book were longer. You want to find out more about some characters and what happens next with them, and the ending is far too abrupt, jumping from a great chase scene to a quick resolution. I can only hope this implies a sequel, as the community and mood of the tale easily holds more secrets yet to be told.
0Comment18 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2010
This book is a must read! I couldn't put it down until I had finished. Ceri weaves magic and mystery into every page.

The landscapes are so vivid you are transported up onto the misty moors, amongst ancient stones and eerie marshes. The characters are so well drawn that they pull you into the story with them and carry you along to the wonderful twist at the end! Can't wait for another one!
0Comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2010
From the moment i picked up the book I couldn't put it down, you are transported to a different time in place, where the smell of the moors and the touch of the stones are brought to life in the most detailed and amazing way.

The intricate wording and the way that the tale of loves from past to present are portrayed are beautiful. The creatures that emerge through the book are great!

The links to the history and the mythology are really interesting, and now im really keen to go visit the places mentioned in the book

Spell binding.. brilliant! Cant wait for the next book Ceri. xxxxxxx
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
Ceri Norman's love story, set both in the past and present and cleverly woven, is so absorbing that I was half way through before I knew it. The magic is leavened with humour and the characters ring true throughout. I look forward to her next book!
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2011
This book was so atmospheric I was there ! I could smell the beer in the pub, I could breathe the Welsh air on the mountains and I felt as though I knew all the characters. It was just like being home again and listening to the stuff of myth and legend. I devoured this like a Welshcake and can't wait for Ceri Norman's next book.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2011
This is a wonderful book. On one level the descriptions of the scenery are so evocative.
The strands examined in the book all twine together for a satisfactory ending which leaves you wanting more.
Ceri Norman is a delightful and informed writer and is well worth finding out more about. Can't wait for her next book
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
The story gripped me right from the first page, building to an exciting climax. But what kept me reading just as much was the atmosphere created through the mythology, history and mystery created by the author. Her knowledge of the area and its history, myths and legends really brought the tale alive. Would definitely recommend it as a page turning read!
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
Having never been to Wales I found I was there on every page. The book is beautifully written and the images created in my head by the words on the page truely took me there. A wonderful story and I look forward to more by Ceri! It's an easy read so perfect for the busy person on the run who like me may only manage a few pages at a time or alternatively has an hour to spare to be taken away from the mundane into the magickal!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
Nothing i write will probably do Celtin Maidens justice, as it is simply beautiful. I don,t normally read much fiction as i,v normally got my head burried in a Celtic/Pagan non fiction.
Ceri Norman though has managed to weave a beautiful enchanting love and mystery story with characters that all too believeable, they could be you or i, with such historical and discriptive detail,that to me the book has everything.
Even if you are not into Celtic mythology, the story on its own is magical, with actual characters that you like and are comfortable to be with, as believe me, when you read this book ,you are transported to the Preseli hills and you will wont to return again and again, preferably with Ryan (swoon)
For me though the important part was the Celtic thread,the history of each Megaliths, the legends and the storys of each circle. Plus i LOVED the way Welsh words were scattered through, just making the story so much more believeable.
Da iawn Ceri Norman.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2012
I was given this book by a friend who knows of my love of "fantasy" books and folklore / mythology. This was an absolutely magnificent read that draws you in from the first page and keeps you guessing until the end. Exceedingly well written with characters you can associate with. I have to admit that my favourite part of the book is actually the location of Wales and therefore the folklore given is Welsh. It make such a refreshing change to read about Wales' history and not just Ireland.

Would highly recommend it to simply everyone!!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.