Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's perfect, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
An easy to read book with your camera on your lap. This book takes you through each of the menus and settings. I've had my camera for a while and felt lacking in understanding all of the extras that come with it and felt that I had taken a backward step. Having read the book my photographs have improved.

I would recommend this book, it's what the owners manual should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cracking little Book., 18 Mar 2013
By 
Dave G "Dave G" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I've bought lots of books for camera's I've owned over the years, and to be honest some have been poor, some have been just a fancy copy of the quite frankly pathetic user manual that came with the camera, or for the unlucky one's on a cd :-(, and some have been "fairly" helpful but none have left me thinking wow this is all encompassing and will definetly help me get the most out of the camera, firmware for some authors appears to be sacrilege, when quite clearly it's the best thing that can happen to your camera, and some book writers forget about the dof preview button and get certain facts wrong. I've had a book from this author in the past, it quickly and deservedly got a bad review (since removed), and was sold on ebay within 2 weeks of getting it.

That's the history lesson over with, is this book any good and will it help you understand the Sony A77?.

Quite simply it's the best camera specific manual I have ever bought, it's not perfect but it definetly is of great benefit to anyone that wants a decent replacement for that poor Sony manual and who wants to learn more about one of the best camera currently available. Think of it as the manual that Sony should have provided; a high quality easy to understand and follow camera manual.

The manual is small, compact, very well made, there are lots of lovely photo's, the book's layout is logical and professional, it's not chummie, does'nt try to be amusing and there isn't masses and masses of boring unhelpful text, which if you need an urgent answer you don't have to trawl thru first.

As well as the menu's and what does what, handy information is provided regarding lenses & filters etc.

The authour does provide you with some little gems, for example I've known from day one that the A77 underexposes, and yet some authours fail to mention this, or even only go to iso 6400 etc, the author not only provides a pictorial display of the picture effects (toy, pop & hdr painting etc), as well as textual guidance but does indicate that the camera underexposes (pg 202, exposing to the right).

The only minor niggles I have are; the author has taken his time to compile an excellent little camera guide after getting to know the camera, and yet he hasn't passed on his experience of what settings are best by providing a cookbook of settings for certain situations e.g sports, landscape & fireworks etc, the second tiny niggle is that excellent features like Multi-Frame Noise Reduction etc seem to be deemed un-important (very little coverage/no expansion on what it actually is & the benefits), finally I'm not keen on the pull out reference card at the back of the book, it's ok but realistically is of limited use and would be best served as a normal page, a settings guide & grey card on the back would be of more use/benefit.

So for me almost the perfect camera guide, a few extra pages/details and suggested settings and it would've been 5 stars, in short it's a vast improvement over my previous expanded guide and is MUCH better than my other fancy dan A77 book; the quintessential guide, which is not only more expensive but heavily bestowed with text, countless directory paths & very few photo's/exif data.

If you want an A77 guide, this one will take a lot to be beaten, and that's before you consider the price, it's the cheapest A77 specific guide you can buy ;-).

Which leads me to another gripe about authors, what A77 owner wants to read about the A65 ?.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vastly more useful than the standard camera manual, 20 Sep 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Note: The publisher provided me with a sample for review evaluation, the opinion of the book is my own personal view

This book covers the A77 camera and to be blunt the provided manual is fairly poor leaving a bit of a gap for users looking to get the most out of the camera

The structure of the book is consistent and logical from the start guiding users through the layout of the body and through the menus with explanations of what the functions do and how they might be more appropriate for some shooting conditions. Later on the book touches on other areas such as macro, flash, colour balance and tips on exposure. The author has listed out the Sony lenses (some have been added since the book was published) and various flash options (again these have changed recently but it's still of use)

Don't expect an in depth guide to photography but the bits that are here are welcomed and go some way towards plugging the gap left by the original user manual, importantly the tips are camera specific and relevant to this model.

The flow and layout is very easy to follow with an index and glossary, photos and diagrams are clean and very clear.
If I had a few niggles to mention they would be, firstly the use of UHS cards is not mentioned (the A77 is UHS SD compatible) and benefits greatly from these higher speed cards esp for action shooting. A list of Sony lenses is provided, and Sigma but no list of the range Tamron offer (which is odd as Tamron have had a strong A mount relationship for a while) though he does mention alternative lenses that you can use on some pages (ie macro lenses offered not just by Sony but other makers)

David mentions that Minolta/Konica Minolta lenses are compatible, but really this deserves special attention on it's own as there are a significant number of second hand lenses (and some really excellent ones too) at very good prices, I'd have liked to have seen a list of these and at least a special mention for some of the "Minolta gems" that are out there.

Unlike the other guides I have looked at this doesn't give you a camera schematic card, you simply get the symbols on the pull out back card (less useful in my view). Under the front cover is an 18% grey card and the rear has a Raw white balance lighter one.

Overall it's still a good guide, there is enough information here to be of quite some use for newer users it's well worth a look if you're in need of some guidance on how to use and operate the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony A77 book., 27 Mar 2013
By 
G. Fisher "Geoff Fisher" (Tonbridge, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Ever bought a wizzy camera and tried to find your way round it using the supplied instruction book? Buy this crackin' books and bin your manufacturer manual!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A small, but useful investment, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
This book is an excellent companion to my newly purchased camera. Compared to the manual that came with the camera, I cannot say that I find much more information here. But this book is far more inviting, and I use it more frequently than the manual. The language is not complicated - which is a bonus to all of us who do not have English as our native tongue. The illustrations are good, the pictures are clear and instructive, other photos beautiful and inspiring.

Not much to improve here, then. The only thing I would like to know a little more about, is how to use the programs that are bundled with the camera, and how to maintain the firmware by downloading newer versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Taylor's expanded guide for the Sony Alpha 77, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
An excellent book. It is small enough to fit into my camera bag so I can take it with me wherever I go. The content is easy to read and full of advice on how to get the best out of the camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book, 14 Aug 2014
By 
P. Hampton "Phil Hampton" (middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Really useful book that is easier to follow that the Sony instruction book. I have used it quite a bit and it is small enough to carry around if needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
This is a great book tells you everything you need to know about this camera. Great to have easy to understand. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy for alpha77 camera owners., 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
At last a book that gets to the point rather than the usual blurb found in other books namely one for my Nikon F401 that was useless to the extent of been boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable., 5 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
Reading summaries and reviews of this book helped persuade me to buy an A77 along with David Taylor's book.. I had gone through Sony's PDF manual but this is much better and I this book is helping me to realise what a fantastic camera this is.
However: I wish that it had been printed on less glossy paper so that I could pencil in cross references, etc. and in the same vein that there were some blank pages at the back for writing notes, todo's etc.
Minor niggles indeed but it is great to have such a superb book complimenting one possibly not main-stream camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide)
Sony SLT-A77 (Expanded Guide) by David Taylor (Paperback - 15 Oct 2012)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews