Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class guide
i have a number of Leica based books and recently bought Brian Blowers guide on the M8/M9. I liked that guide but in my opinion this is a far better researched book and the way it is set out means you can pick and choose what chapters you read. it covers other areas too like lens, flash and using Lightroom. In the later case if you buy a new Leica you can get Lightroom...
Published on 7 Mar 2012 by Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An intro to digital photography and a Leica M9
I found this book sadly redundant. While others may find it slightly more useful, I doubt there is a single person on earth for whom this book is correctly targetted.

It's a combination of

1. an introduction to digital photography
2. an introduction to Adobe Lightroom
3. an instruction book for the Leica M9.

While 2 & 3 make...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by S. A. Baker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class guide, 7 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. G. Bridgeman-clarke "Graham BC" (Rayleigh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
i have a number of Leica based books and recently bought Brian Blowers guide on the M8/M9. I liked that guide but in my opinion this is a far better researched book and the way it is set out means you can pick and choose what chapters you read. it covers other areas too like lens, flash and using Lightroom. In the later case if you buy a new Leica you can get Lightroom free so its a good idea to add a chapter to the book.

The book now sits in my camera bag and its small light and informative.

I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars An intro to digital photography and a Leica M9, 26 Jun 2011
By 
S. A. Baker "Hove" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I found this book sadly redundant. While others may find it slightly more useful, I doubt there is a single person on earth for whom this book is correctly targetted.

It's a combination of

1. an introduction to digital photography
2. an introduction to Adobe Lightroom
3. an instruction book for the Leica M9.

While 2 & 3 make sense to some extent since buying an M9 gives you rights to Lightroom for your RAW processing, item one is aimed at someone who has never picked up a DSLR before let alone a Rangefinder.

I've been using Lightroom since the day is was launched since Adobe bought the company which made my preferred RAW processing engine, so item 2 for me was also redundant. Only item 3 was relevant, but since I'd already downloaded the camera instrcutions from the net, it too was redundant.

So the perfect buyer here has only ever owned a cheap compact camera, has never done their own digital RAW processing, and yet wants to skip owning a DSLR, and go straight to the Leica, costing 2 - 3 times as much as the best Nikon and Canon DSLRs. It's be like the household gardener branching out into diamond mining because "it's all diggin', innit?"

Caveat Emptor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leica Fanatic, 15 Jun 2014
By 
A. D. Taylor (Kings Lynn, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
As someone who loves Leicas and not only collects them but also uses them I found this book a great insight into this lovely camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent introduction, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I don't have the M9 yet, and I don't know what the camera manual looks like, but before spending some 5000, I found it extremely useful to spend a few and study this expanded guide which is richly documented, comprehensive and easy to consult so as to have a better idea of what I was planning to buy and which lenses would be more useful to me. I would say a must have before buying the camera itself, because once you have the camera in your hands, who would care to dream about for hours looking at it in the manual?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars sound, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
I find the manual from leica absolutely flat to read. This is not exactly gripping but is a little easier to digest and has occasional tips that would be easy to miss (though i am sure they are overed) in the supplied manual. Good to cross reference with information available on the web. Pleased i bought it - and for under a tenner it is hardly expensive. A fair amount of generic stuff but hey a reminder of basics is can sometimes make you think in a different way about things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
This is a pocket size guide to the Leica M9.
What the description doesn't make clear is that it's in full colour throughout, printed on quality glossy paper.

It's about an exhaustive a guide to the M9 and its accessories as you could wish for; it also includes information and advice about focusing, metering, using histograms etc. And there's a substantial chapter about using Adobe Lightroom.

It will be a while before I can afford the M9, in the meantime this guide keeps me drooling!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very informative, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) (Paperback)
To my mind, a very basic book indeed. Scant info on most areas, virtual non-existent info in others. Look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leica M9 (Expanded Guide)
Leica M9 (Expanded Guide) by David Taylor (Paperback - 8 Jun 2011)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews