Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the collection, 7 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
The book will stay on my bookshelf for a long time! A wonderfully illustrated journey through neuronal processes in the brain as well as brief introductions to some classic historical characters in the field of neuroscience. I anticipate this book to be read and enjoyed by many who are drawn in by the classic metallic leaf cover art and kept engaged by the overall simplicity of the illustrations. Would certainly make a perfect gift for anyone slightly interested in neuroscience/psychology and illustration. I hope to see some more graphic novels like this one - excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for neuroscientists, 4 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
Great comic and makes a fun gift for neuroscientists. However, I do recomend a science background to understand the book. It appears to be a good attempt at making neuroscience more accessible, but really seems a little hard to understand if you have no science background at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just too good for words, 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
I am on my second read through. I agree that it is suitable for readers of all ages. I learned so much on a subject on which I had no knowledge at all. Every family should have a hard copy of this great book to enjoy the illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun way to understand, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
Good revision of neuroscience for me and introduction for my son. Lovely pictures and story, which make the information stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a psychology student I really loved Neurocomic. I had not yet started learning about ..., 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
As a psychology student I really loved Neurocomic. I had not yet started learning about the functioning of the brain so it was really the first introduction I have ever read, but it was the perfect introduction, and such a delight to read. Now having a bit more knowledge about the functions of the brain, I am even more impressed with Neurocomic-it sums up crucial information in the most memorable and accurate way. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clever and beautifully executed, 23 Nov. 2014
By 
Amanda B (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
Marvellous way of communicating quite complex information. Works for all ages from GCSE to way beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
Brilliant, a little difficult to follow, best to be read in one sitting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
interesting and clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and approachable, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
This is a marvelous way to learn of the history and development of neuroscience. It is both easy to understand and a gateway for much deeper investigation. Giving a framework and vocabulary, it enables the reader to approach the subject with a degree of confidence not found in pure text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing Intro to Neuroscience, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: Neurocomic (Hardcover)
I'm really not sure how to describe this book because as it says near the end "...because nothing really happened if not inside [your brain]" The topic as a whole covers what happens inside the brain and the history of neuroscience. This is presented with a character who appears to be trapped inside a brain and is trying to find a way out, by the end he wants out of the brain and the discussion enters the realm of what can happen when one goes out of their brain/mind. Mind vs brain is explored and the end leaves us waxing philosophically. This is a deep subject and this amusing beginners intro shows the powerful format the graphic (or comic) presentation can be for educational purposes. As always from Nobrow, a high quality book as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Neurocomic
Neurocomic by Matteo Farinella (Hardcover - 10 Sept. 2013)
£13.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews