Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Yes, But A True Work Of Art
The New Ghost is one of the most beautifully drawn and put together books I have on my book shelf: the paper is thick and matte, and is the sort of paper you just want to rub your face against; Rob Hunter uses space in an innovative and beautiful way, making following the story an experience in itself (which is, after all, one of the main aspects of a graphic novel); the...
Published 23 months ago by Georgiana

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The new afterlife
A ghost on his first day as a ghost gets separated from the other ghosts floating across the sky. On Earth, he befriends an astronomer before witnessing what looks like an abduction by the other ghosts - and now they’re after him and his astronomer friend!

Robert Hunter’s sweetly surreal comic is an inventive, fable-like story that continuously...
Published 7 months ago by Sam Quixote


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The new afterlife, 5 May 2014
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
A ghost on his first day as a ghost gets separated from the other ghosts floating across the sky. On Earth, he befriends an astronomer before witnessing what looks like an abduction by the other ghosts - and now they’re after him and his astronomer friend!

Robert Hunter’s sweetly surreal comic is an inventive, fable-like story that continuously usurps the readers’ expectations on where it’s headed, managing to keep the reader engaged the whole way through. The book also makes ghosts seem more interesting as a result - rather than wandering aimlessly through castles or manor houses forever, Hunter gives them a far better purpose and a more exciting afterlife.

Though brief at 24 pages - and really more of a single issue comic than a trade paperback/graphic novel - it’s a satisfying read with Hunter displaying a strong understanding of how to tell a story as a comic. Using different sized panels, the story flows very naturally with the text and pictures complementing each other nicely.

I’m not sure I would say the story leaves much of an impression, especially due to its brevity, but if nothing else The New Ghost shows the potential of this writer/artist who could well go on to create something more substantial and powerful in the future. For now though, The New Ghost is a promising beginning and a decent comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short, Yes, But A True Work Of Art, 15 Jan 2013
By 
Georgiana (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
The New Ghost is one of the most beautifully drawn and put together books I have on my book shelf: the paper is thick and matte, and is the sort of paper you just want to rub your face against; Rob Hunter uses space in an innovative and beautiful way, making following the story an experience in itself (which is, after all, one of the main aspects of a graphic novel); the story is sweet and poignant. It is the sort of book you want to share with everyone, because everyone should know and celebrate it, but that you also want to keep all to yourself because you want to savour the private magic of it. Rob Hunter has struck ghostly gold in the writing of The New Ghost; I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Storyline is great, illustrations are amazing, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
The textures and colours in the illustrations of this haunting story are just the ticket to feed my thirst for stories. Check out Nobrows other publications, the quality of the paper and print is perfect throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The New Ghost by Robert Hunter, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
At 24 pages or so I couldn't really call this a comic novel, so comic book will have to do but it doesn't really do this little wonder much justice.

Limited palette, muted colours, very artistically drawn and more importantly a beautiful story. Ghosts fly in the sky and our narrator is the new ghost following his colleagues trying to find his role. He engages with humans and eventually meets a stargazer who he bonds with. He has to save the stargazer from the other ghosts. I won't say anymore because I really don't want to spoil the book. At just under £5 you'd be hard pushed to find a better way to spend your money.

As an aside, I'd like to highlight the publishing project that got this little book out - 17x23 is a project to get graphic short stories out and help talented new writers/creators. I will definitely be seeking out other books under this umbrella.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful story a beautiful book, 7 Sep 2014
By 
E. Badger (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
I love this book. Its so beautiful and flows well. I have read it more than once, add it to your collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book which I bought for a Christmas present - It hasn't been opened by the recipient yet, but I am sure she will love it - the illustrations are absolutely superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The New Ghost, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
Another great, dark, little tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely art work, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
I bought this as a birthday gift for my Daughter it was on her Amazon wish list, unfortunately I've not read it myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice book, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Ghost, The (17x23) (Paperback)
nice book, great artwork. was a good read before bed. enjoyed every bit of it, only shame was i wish there was more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Ghost, The (17x23)
New Ghost, The (17x23) by Rob Hunter (Paperback - 10 Jun 2011)
Used & New from: £2.43
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews