Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply indispensable, 25 Oct 2010
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
Anyone expecting an esoteric, jargon filled, long winded epic on Neuro-linguistic Programming, quantum psychology, self-hypnosis and Zen will probably be bitterly disappointed by Dr Simpson's `Play Magic Golf'. Conversely any golfer wishing to discover an almost guaranteed way of improving their game or any sports psychologist looking for a beautifully simple synthesis of `flow' and quantum psychology ready packaged in a user-friendly format for their clients may find this to be indispensable.

In a field that is beset by often impenetrable psycho-babble Dr Simpson's gently humorous and plain speaking style is a breath of fresh air. I found the book quite addictive and read it in just one sitting. Like the best guilty pleasures I was left exquisitely dissatisfied and yearning for more. I am hoping a follow up will soon by on its way. Rumour is I may be not be disappointed.

Considering the quality of the content, the reputation of the author and the low price point I would expect this book to be sold in quite some volume. So don't be surprised if your golfing peers soon `mysteriously' start to improve their game in leaps and bounds. It might be an idea to level the playing field, no?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a new way to improve your golf, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
i have played golf for about 17 years and have spent a lot of time on the driving range trying fof the perfect swing, i would not say that this time has been wasted but you only gain so much by doing this. after a while you find that it is your mental state that can change your score. i have found that dr steve simpson,s idea.s are one of the best on the market and also one of the cheapest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for any 'mind' sports, 25 Nov 2010
By 
J. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
Although a bit on the thin side this book is full of useful tips and techniques. It is applicable to any 'mind' sports not just golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
A short and enjoyable read full of psychological interest and insight for the golfer who'd like to get his mind into a place where better golf might just result. I found the sections on using the creative right brain, self-hypnosis and Zen particularly useful. (Also see ZEN GOLF by Joseph Parent for a fuller treatment.)

This book is not a replacement for proper physical practice and training. There's little point in pondering the complexities of quantum physics if you can't make decent contact with the ball, but for those of us who have been playing for a while and struggling with self-destructive thoughts and doubt this book is very worthwhile. Changing bad habits is extremely difficult but not impossible if you can get your head around new concepts.

If you like reading Bob Rotella, Timothy Gallwey or Steven Pressfield you'll like this. Some of it is pretty out there it's true, but if you want to play magic golf you have to believe in the possibilities of magic. As in golf, so in life.

The author is very accessible via the contact e-mail given at the end of the book, and likes to hear from his readers. There's also a monthly newsletter full of great tips and advice.

Give it a go. Even if it doesn't reduce your handicap you'll have lots to think about while searching for your ball.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This has changed my approach to golf, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book that has helped me become a happier golfer. I am hoping that, come the spring, it will also shave some shots off my handicap. The second half contains all the practical, useful stuff, so stay with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB-U-LOUS, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved reading this book....it's helped my golf no end....I've come down from a 28 handicap to 16 in 12 months all through adopting the advice from this book.....can thoroughly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational and Informative, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
I have just finished reading your book and I am a believer in Zen, meditation and visualization. I found your book to be very inspiring and informative in all areas. I am a lover of the golf game and truly want to improve my score. My present handicap is 22 and of course this varies during the year. I will relax more and enjoy the game more by not thinking so hard and hopefully I'll have more fun with friends and game. Thank you for sharing your experiences and encouragement with anyone who will take the time to read or listen. Evelyn Lansden
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read and all so play the CD regularly. Soothing, level headed advise, these series of books has charged my temperament on course , personal and business life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book useful and food for thought, 4 Dec 2010
This review is from: Play Magic Golf - How to use self-hypnosis, meditation, Zen, universal laws, quantum energy, and the latest psychological and NLP techniques to be a better golfer (Paperback)
A good book with some interesting ideas, which need to be digested and worked with. Don't just read it and put it away.I see it as work in progress, shame the snow has stopped us playing golf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews