Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the cost if your looking to understand solar panel systems from the initail bright idea to implementing your design...
Read this from the front to back in a week or so. Overall it was very informative and took me to a new level of understanding, and I would recommend it as easy to comprehend and comfortable read. The book is well laid out and builds knowledge and understanding of the subject in a logical progression.

There are, however, a lot of repeated paragraphs, (probably...
Published 20 months ago by B. Welch

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uk market?
Disappointed that the content related more to USA iinstallations rather than the UK. I was under the impression that the book would provide clear guidance on UK installation methods but the focus of the content is mainly on the function of the individual system component parts. Wouldn't recommend this book if you are looking for guidance on UK industry installation...
Published 21 months ago by Andrew Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the cost if your looking to understand solar panel systems from the initail bright idea to implementing your design..., 8 April 2013
By 
B. Welch (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition (Paperback)
Read this from the front to back in a week or so. Overall it was very informative and took me to a new level of understanding, and I would recommend it as easy to comprehend and comfortable read. The book is well laid out and builds knowledge and understanding of the subject in a logical progression.

There are, however, a lot of repeated paragraphs, (probably to facilitate readers who just skim to specific chapters they are interested in) and the main example used throughout the book was not akin to what I was looking forward to achieving. That said, I am much clearer on what I can and cannot do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar Electric Handbook 2012 by Michael Boxwell, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition (Paperback)
This gives an excellent, impartial account of the subject in a well ballanced way. It will appeal to readers with some (or even significant) technical knowledge. Diagrams and illustrations are of a particularly high standard and the author clearly believes in continuous improvement. It is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gauteng water heating has used the book to provide information for our office staff who were quite new to solar power. They needed the technical info in a brief for minor customer quiries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice book with lots of info, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition (Paperback)
Great book for a novice or beginner who wants to build a solar power system.
Not very technical, but still contains a lot of useful information for someone considering going solar.
The book contains tons of good information on which panels to select, where to place them for max output, which intervers to choose, voltage levels and so on.

Very informative without begin too technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great introduction to DIY domestic solar power, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seems to be a great introduction to solar electricity generation on a domestic scale, for homes, sheds, boats and caravans. The sections on sizing your installation and surveying your site seem to be comprehensive enough to cover most DIY purposes. The instructions on installing a solar plant seem a little sketchy to me - perhaps they're comprehensive enough if you have a deeper grounding in electrical installation than I have or maybe I'm making more of it than I need to. The insolation tables are comprehensive for the UK, but I imagine that you might want to use the website for more localised information if you're based in America or Australia.

I like Michael Boxall's style - the book is well laid out, the prose is clear and the headings are specific enough to allow you to skip big sections that don't apply to your goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar Electricity handbook., 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition (Paperback)
Very sensible. It covers many more systems than most internet articles. Will be important to have back up systems for possible power cuts in 2015 or thereabouts. Required reading for those who want to make use of sunlight to save power bills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Uk market?, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition (Paperback)
Disappointed that the content related more to USA iinstallations rather than the UK. I was under the impression that the book would provide clear guidance on UK installation methods but the focus of the content is mainly on the function of the individual system component parts. Wouldn't recommend this book if you are looking for guidance on UK industry installation practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dont buy as Kindle as diagrams and tables are chopped so you cannot see all of them otherwise very informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent. Informative and easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Needed as a background reader for a course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition
Solar Electricity Handbook - 2012 Edition by Michael Boxwell (Paperback - 29 Jan 2012)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews