Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating
In a 1995 book titled Bizarre Beliefs, the authors emphatically stated that "there are no ghosts, no poltergeists, and no hauntings. They are all mistaken, imaginary or fakes." Much of mainstream science shares this view, but Guy Lyon Playfair, the author of this book, knows better, as he has been involved in investigating a number of poltergeists, including the Enfield...
Published on 5 July 2011 by Michael E. Tymn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book
I enjoyed this book but found it to be a bit tedious at times. I like the way that the investigators to the haunting were so committed, but it wasn't all I thought it would be. It didn't have me on the edge of my seat and I slept in the dark afterwards.
Published 10 months ago by Geraldine Pollard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 5 July 2011
By 
Michael E. Tymn "Michael Tymn" (Kailua, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
In a 1995 book titled Bizarre Beliefs, the authors emphatically stated that "there are no ghosts, no poltergeists, and no hauntings. They are all mistaken, imaginary or fakes." Much of mainstream science shares this view, but Guy Lyon Playfair, the author of this book, knows better, as he has been involved in investigating a number of poltergeists, including the Enfield Poltergeist, one of the most intriguing cases in the annals of psychical research and the subject of this book. He will agree with the "bizarre" part, but definitely not with the denial of such phenomena.
\
The Enfield case took place during 1977 and '78 in the northern London suburb of Enfield. It involved a divorced mother, Peggy Harper, and her four children, Rose, 13, Janet, 11, Pete, 10, and Jimmy, 7. The phenomena included large pieces of furniture being overturned, objects flying through the air and floating through walls, dancing slippers, levitations, coins falling from the ceiling, strange voices that often responded to questions, people thrown from their beds and chairs, mysterious writing on the walls, electronic disturbances, a number of ghostly apparitions, stones seemingly falling from the sky, excreta appearing in the sink and on walls, inexplicable outbreaks of fire, and mysterious knocks and footsteps.

As a member of the Society for Psychical Research (SPR), Playfair, a Cambridge graduate who spent many years as a freelance journalist for The Economist, Time, and the Associated Press, was, along with fellow SPR member Maurice Grosse, asked to investigate the anomalous activity at the Harper home. Beginning in September 1977, the two researchers devoted some 14 months to investigating the case, often spending nights at the Harpers' home and observing first hand some of the bizarre phenomena, which gradually declined and ended in early 1979.

This book gives a near blow-by-blow account of the intriguing phenomena, which will no doubt exceed the boggle threshold of many readers. I must confess that although I am very much interested in paranormal phenomena, the subject of haunted houses has not been of particular interest to me. However, I found this book difficult to put down once I started it. There are a dozen or more photos in the book.

There were three alternative the researchers faced: Was it fraud? Was it a dissociated fragment of the personality of one of the girls? Or was it a mischievous spirit or a number of spirits? Playfair thoroughly examines the three alternatives and provides some updates to his original book, which was first published in 1980.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic and believable haunting., 12 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
I had wanted to read this book for a long time and was delighted when it was re-printed. Although Janet and her sister admitted faking a small percentage of the occurences they were usually caught out. On looking at some of the dubious web sites you would think that the whole haunting had been faked which would have been impossible. The case was well researched and documented and events were witnessed by reliable sources such as the police. This is not a book for someone who wants a scary read although it must have been terrifying for the family involved but it is a fascinating read for those genuinely interested in poltergeist activity and things that cannot be explained by science.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This House Is Haunted, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this book a few years ago. I managed to loan a copy from the Library.
It's a genuinely scary acount of The Enfield Poltergeist happening.

10/10 on the Poo your pants scale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A straightforward and fascinating recount of the events.., 25 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
By his own admission, Guy Lyon Playfair's book is no sensationalist horror story so if it's an Exorcist-ripoff you're looking for, look elsewhere. What you get here is a straightforward reselling of the events of the well-known Enfield poltergeist case. No less affecting for the lack of a three-act narrative or any concrete conclusions, the book is a little longwinded here and there, particularly in its explanations and assurances that events couldn't have been faked, but the matter of fact tone - and many of the events described are chilling to say the least.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guy Playfair's account of the case shows him to be an honest and decent man., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Guy Playfair maps out the whole case in minute detail. He tells it as it was without 'Hollywood Movie' embellishments.
After reading his account I am in no doubt that, besides some minor trickery on the part of the girls, the events mentioned in the book are true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying but factual, 17 Dec 2012
By 
A. S. Griffiths "Alison Sarah" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
What's most frightening about the Enfield Poltergeist case is that it happened to a normal family in a normal street. Guy Lyon Playfair was part of the investigative team and was there from the beginning to the end of the case. His account of the incredible goings-on is factual, detailed and exhaustive. There is no over-the-top hysteria, just the truth as he saw it. He gives a very frank account of the unfolding events at Enfield, and for me the true spook factor is in the fact that this was a real family home, not a film set. It's a must-read for any paranormal fan and I will definitely read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very informative and gives the story of the Enfield Poltergeist in much more detail than any other account I have seen on television or in print. A very good read and very enjoyable. I would recommend this book to anybody with an interest in the paranormal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trustworthy, 13 April 2014
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
The investigators are known to me personally. They are fastidious researchers and one hundred per cent honest. I have the advantage of having heard the tapes from the investigations. The number of reliable witness testimonies to the phenomena should alone give one of open mind food for thought. As I always say, the proof of the pudding is in the eating and the 'person' causing the problems was identified as a previous tenant of the building. This is a classic case and should always be remembered. Well done Guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Written Account Of Poltergeist Activity Ever!, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. P. Neve "Phil" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
This is quite simply the best written account of poltergeist activity around; the case itself is fascinating on a psychology level but the accounts of paranormal events in this book are also truly engaging. Written in simple terms the book never slips into the fault of so many overs if it's kind with over the top explanations or ridiculous abbreviations: In one book I have recently read the author refers to poltergeists as 'polts' and is also quite an arrogant writer, nothing like this book, which sounds honest and full of accurately described events, it never takes every event as being solely provoked by a paranormal force and regularly provides alternative explanations (where possible, some of the witnessed events are truly remarkable).
Terrifying from beginning to end, this book is brilliant on so many levels, I can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Poltergeists in London? Crikey!!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
The Owler (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This House Is Haunted (Paperback)
I really liked this - a blow-by-blow account of some of the weirdest, true events which occurred to a normal family living in a normal house during the late 1970's. Mr Playfair has written out a full, comprehensive record of events, including furniture and stuff moving about with no visible means of propulsion, noises and rappings from no apparent source, strange voices, ghosts, levitation and teleportations. Is it true? Who can say - Mr Playfair certainly writes a good, clear account without seeming to embellish or exaggerate. The two sisters who seemed to attract the majority of the action did create some of it deliberately, but there is plenty to suggest they were not responsible for everything - there were credible, independent witnesses to some of it. Additionally, there is no apparent motive for the family to go to such lengths; no fame nor fortune. Take it at face value, put yourself and your family in the house during these strange times, and I think you will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This House Is Haunted
This House Is Haunted by Guy Lyon Playfair (Paperback - 20 April 2011)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews