Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mapp and Lucia take Italy by storm
Lucia and Georgie head for Italy on holiday only to find they've been outmanouevered by the Mapp-Flints. This is a hugely enjoyable read, full of classic Mapp and Lucia scheming and intrigue. It's great to see Lucia and Georgie reunited with opera diva Olga Bracely and (much to Georgie's horror) Poppy, Duchess of Sheffield. This new story also introduces the gorgeous and...
Published on 29 April 2012 by Jeremy Hewitt

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good intentions not quite good enough
Tom Holt, as mentioned elsewhere in these reviews, came as close as anyone to a very passable E F Benson style with the same engaging and lifelike characters. Mr Fraser-Sampson does not quite pull it off. There are two main reasons for this: a failure to observe the niceties of the period with sometimes out-of-character remarks, notably Georgie; and characters which by...
Published on 1 Sep 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Benson stuff, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
I would always welcome any amount of Mapp and Lucia and this is another triumph; a bit too racy for his original style I'd say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucia on Holiday, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
A very good follow-up to the E F Benson novels and the later ones from Tom Holt. It certainly goes a long way to capturing the feel of Mapp and Lucia and Tilling in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
Saving this for my holiday but great quality and very speedy delivery. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O Bliss O Rapture More Mapp and Lucia, 19 April 2012
By 
Elaine Simpson-long (Colchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
After my rather late discovery of the Divine Duo I laid waste to every Mapp and Lucia book I could find but of course there are only six. SIX! I ask you what was Fred (EF Benson) thinking? He could have trebled that amount and we would still have been gasping for more, but luckily one author, by the name of Tom Holt, came along with Lucia Triumphant and Lucia in Wartime to keep us going. Brilliantly written, hard to tell if I was presented with an untitled manuscript that I would be able to spot that it was not the original author, and I chased these down and bought them.

But that was that, no more thought I. WRONG. Along comes Guy Fraser-Sampson, who I think should be knighted for service to literature (Sir Guy of Tilling?) and he wrote a book all about Major Benjy, which has kept me going for a year or two. Flushed with success he has now written Lucia on Holiday which has had so many pre-orders that its publisher has brought forward publication date. So many fans out there and delighted to hear it.

Lucia has made rather a lot of money on the stock market so she and Georgie decide to splash out and Luciatake a holiday abroad. Off they go to Bellagio, near Milan, a location cunningly decided upon by Georgie and Olga Bracely, the world renowned opera singer. At first Lucia is dubious:

"I hardly think that Milan is our sort of place.....one must be very careful when visiting unknown locations on the Continent...Why it might be positively full of Italians"

Georgie was taken aback. " Well, it is in Italy you know" he said with some asperity "I understand most Italian towns have a quite high proportion of Italian inhabitants"

Lucia looked at him severely. "Don't be silly Georgie" she admonished him "I mean the wrong sort of Italians, naturally"....

Priceless.

Well off they go but to their total astonishment and dismay Major Benjy and Elisabeth Mapp turn up. They are being treated to an all expenses paid holiday by a Maharajah who the Major knew in India, in return for looking after his son Ramesh. The Wyses are also there with the Contessa ("cholera in Capri") so by the time the Mapp-Flints arrive we have Tilling in microcosm settled in at the Bellagio and we can sit back and wait for the fun, the gossip, the infighting, the vying for centre stage to begin. And it does.

This is a simply delicious book and I loved every single word. Georgie has the most wonderful suave, rather glamorous valet to take care of all his personal needs (Lucia disapproves), the Major flirts outrageously with a young lady who is under the mistaken impression that he is rich and wealthy and worth cultivating (mainly because the Major has driven the Maharajah's Bugatti to Bellagio), Poppy the Duchess of Sheffield in love with Georgie and his beard turns up much to his dismay - the Bellagio is populated with all these characters that are so dear and familiar and wonderful and it was a joy to see them again.

I might also add that Guy Fraser- Sampson is the author of a book called Cricket at the Crossroads which I have also read and reviewed here and I think it is highly unlikely that you will come across somebody with such an eclectic range of interests - I am hoping that he will combine the two and let Lucia form the Tilling Cricket Team in her next book. I think she would make a demon bowler...

Loved loved loved this book and all fans of Mapp and Lucia and Tilling will be glad to add this to their bookshelves. Lucia is as infuriating and as wonderful as ever, Mapp as awful as ever (there are times however, when I do feel sorry for her as she never ever gets the better of Lucia), Georgie a delight and I take great delight in the hugely laid back opera singer, Olga Bracely. I hope this sells in millions and trillions as it deserves to do so.

I leave you with one more quote. Georgie is being taken on a tour of Italian gardens and hating it:

"He took out his handkerchief and mopped his forehead. At this stage Lucia, who if truth be told was beginning to feel a trifle warm herself even though she had taken certain liberties with her undergarments, became a model of solicitude"

I do wonder what the 'certain liberties' were I really do.

Au reservoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joy!, 4 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
What joy it is to have yet another "Mapp and Lucia" book, even if it is not from the pen of the master! Guy Fraser-Sampson's second book, based on the originals by E F Benson, takes the Tillingites out of Tilling, to spend a long vacation lakeside in Italy, and the usual fun and games and one-upmanship abound. The only complaint I have is that there are a few loose ends that are not cleared up, and I would have preferred it if there was some sort of closure, with all the protagonists back on home soil, but most enjoyable never-the-less!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
Great book and great price thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear!, 6 Sep 2012
By 
John Perry (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
The cover says: "What bliss" - no.
The cover says: "needle-sharp dialogue" - no.
The cover says: "perfect reading" - no.
The cover says: "pitch-perfect" - no.
The cover says: "deliciously enjoyable" - no.
I say: "tedious and unfunny" - YES !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Can't review, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
Another birthday present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel (Paperback)
A really excellent revisit to EF Benson' s so perfect original characters. A wonderful re-imagining of Mapp & Lucia; an excellent addition for all Mapp & Lucia fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel
Lucia on Holiday: A Mapp & Lucia novel by Guy Fraser-Sampson (Paperback - 29 Mar 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews