Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Anit-hero is back ...
Well he couldn't be killed off could he? David Charters is back in fine form with the next installment in the life of Dave Hart. This time, he's trying to save the world economy (having caused the Financial Crisis in Where Egos Dare). Is he finally going good? Does he get the ultimate girl, Two Livers McKay? Answers to these questions are contained in the usual blend...
Published on 26 Jun 2011 by 18BT

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok,
If you know anything about the city you will know that there's far too much truth in the situations and attitudes portrayed here - the arrogance, the greed, none of it will surprise you. For a series which has lasted for 5 books, there's enough here to like for many - but I can't say I found the book anything but tiresome in the end. A little of Dave Hart and his...
Published 23 months ago by Andy Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Anit-hero is back ..., 26 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Well he couldn't be killed off could he? David Charters is back in fine form with the next installment in the life of Dave Hart. This time, he's trying to save the world economy (having caused the Financial Crisis in Where Egos Dare). Is he finally going good? Does he get the ultimate girl, Two Livers McKay? Answers to these questions are contained in the usual blend of sex, drugs, alcohol and details of how the financial markets make money.

For Charters' loyal fan base, this doesn't disappoint - this can be read in the chauffeur-driven cars from Mayfair or Canary Wharf or in one of the "smokers" which Hart uses and is the perfect complement to a bottle of Cristal or Allesandro's martinis at Dukes. He writes with the detail of someone who has spent years in and, now, alongside the City and Hedge Fund industry.

Just don't let the wife read it if you are in the business and don't allow your sons to pick it up or they'll want to go to Cambodia by the time they get to page 4. And this is one author you never want to get an acknowledgement from ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where Egos Fly, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first time I have come across Dave Hart, as I have not read the previous four books in which he featured. However, he could have been the twin of Alan B'Stard of New Statesman fame. B'Stard is described in wiki as selfish, greedy, dishonest, devious, lecherous and sadistic. Dave manages to exhibit all these admirable qualities together with a total lack of any moral scruples. In other words you really cannot help but like the guy!

Actually I am probably being a bit hard on Dave. This time round he has been resurrected from the dead after his 'suicide' in the previous instalment. His masterplan to make billions on this occasion is to start up a new Salvation Fund, using his excellent contacts in the underworld to raise the initial funds. However, whilst the whole idea is market manipulation, he wants to buy stakes and build success when shares go up rather than short selling shares he does not own and make money buying them back when the companies and share prices have crashed. He also wants the bad guys, who have supplied the cash, to give up their drug running, people smuggling etc when he has made them their billions - yes, that sounds really likely! Dave is highly smitten with his former colleague, the so called Two Livers due to her prodigious drinking talents and this seems to be his overriding concern. So he is not all bad really.

This book is written with some authority and the author clearly has a background of experience in the city. Some of his observations, for example on the workings of AIM (Alternative Investment Market) are, in my opinion, bang on the money. Obviously the comments are often witty and incisive, but clearly completely over the top in the main. However, there is more than an element of truth there.

Personally I thought The Ego's Nest was great fun and I thoroughly enjoyed it. It is very short so most readers will read it very quickly. It is easy enough to write a page of two of entertaining prose, but extremely hard to keep the standard up for a whole book and I think this is all very good stuff and very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The city hero?, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
David Charters is fast becoming one of the funniest writers I have read in a long time. Not normally a reader of the finance world, his Dave Hart books are a brilliant parody of life in the Square Mile. Starting with a smile and shaking of the head I ended up laughing out loud so many times, I lost count.

The main character, Dave Hart is the epitome of badness in the banking world who surely cannot be based on a real person... or is he?

The stories are very fast paced with each situations becoming funnier and funnier as he dashes from meetings, dealings, ex wives, board members, drug dealers, gangsters etc through a haze of martinis, chauffeur driven cars and the 'smokers' - all the toys. Despite his devious, and total lack of morals, he grew on me and I wanted to yell at him for the obvious - Two Livers. Each book ends with a `Nooo!' and you ended up waiting eagerly for the next one.

Having now read the final one 'The Ego's Nest', each book has many memorable moments and names, Gross Bank and Fred the Bed to name but two, had me in stitches. Sartorial humour at it's best. A TV adaptation is surely the next step?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking, entertaining read, 18 April 2012
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is the first book I've read in the David Hart series and it's certainly entertaining enough to make me go backwards and catch up on the previous ones.

This is a short, sharp, funny book with a negligible plot-line- Hart [literally] returns from the dead to try and win the heart of the woman of his dreams, whilst making a few billion on the side with fantastical ease during the depths of the Great Recession- but that doesn't matter. David Charter's books are obviously Experiences, and on the strength of this one, I would imagine very enjoyable ones at that.

The central anti-hero's one-liners and sly observations of the financial world and the characters in it are to die for and more than make up for any predictable plotting or simplistic technique. The Ego's Nest is about having a laugh whilst at the same time having some astute observations about the sheer madness that runs rampant in The City, suddenly hammered home to you from out of the blue.

In many ways, this makes Charter's books probably more effective than a shelf of more serious studies of our semi-criminal financial system, and that must be seen as a laudable achievement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dave Hart- back with a bang !, 28 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
The latest in the Dave Hart saga sees our antihero return from the dead (not a spoiler- it happens right at the start) before setting out to single-handedly reshape the post-crash world and kick organised crime into touch for good measure. Fantasy ? Well, yes, surprisingly enough. Entertaining ? Absolutely ! I was in stitches. And for those who think that Dave Hart as a character could never exist in the real world, I just wish you could have been there in the City in the glory years......

Tremendous knock-about fun- maybe less appealing to committed Liberal Democrats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok,, 18 Oct 2012
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you know anything about the city you will know that there's far too much truth in the situations and attitudes portrayed here - the arrogance, the greed, none of it will surprise you. For a series which has lasted for 5 books, there's enough here to like for many - but I can't say I found the book anything but tiresome in the end. A little of Dave Hart and his obnoxious accomplices goes a very long way.

it would have helped had the plot hadn't been full of holes, although I guess the theme here is that anyhing that seems beyond credibility pales into ionsignificance beside the realities of recent times.

Full of humour, though, that just about rescues the book, but I won't be seeking any more Dave Hart tales thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Banking can be fun, 4 April 2012
By 
Pat Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was my first foray into the world of city banking and it was a hoot. Dave Hart is the chief protagonist in this romping tale with lots of sex, drugs and champers. No doubt die-hard fans will love it as it's entertaining and great fun. It's all to be taken very lightly even though it is concerned with the heavy world of finance and banking. Surely people don't exist like this or do they?? Dave Hart hurtles through his life trying to juggle too many balls at once and has this man got BALLS!

I'm sure many chaps will love this book as it is a real flight of fancy or should I say 'fantasy'?

Laughs guaranteed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gulfstreamV entertainment, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
If you planning a business trip in your "smoker" and are tired of mile high dangerous liasons with girls, champagane and charlie, its difficult to think of a better way to pass the time than reading David Hart's latest romp through political correctness. Witty, yes, but also at times thought provoking about the hypocrisy that imbues not just the City, but everywhere else as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bad Boy makes good, 24 July 2011
By 
B. Bello (Stourton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was my first outing with Dave Hart, a bad boy of incredible panache, the book starts fast and speeds up , an incredible ride through a story that all about excess taking you places that you did not realise you really wended to go, I loved it, it was fun and could not put it down til the incredible end, give it a go I think you will love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ego's nest, 27 Aug 2014
By 
E. Dale "elained2" (W. Yorks, England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ego's Nest (City 5) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
love the humour in this book Dave Hart, charismatic leader of the fallen giant, Grossbank, is dead. But it s worse than that. He's in love. In the midst of an opium-and-sex-fuelled haze in the heart of Cambodia, having made billions of dollars from Grossbank s collapse before faking his own death, filled with amazing imagery and interspersed with comic moments told against a thrilling backdrop...great story, really enjoyed it and found myself laughing out loud in some places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ego's Nest (City 5)
The Ego's Nest (City 5) by David Charters (Paperback - 24 Jun 2011)
5.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews