Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read
I enjoyed this book immensely. Exceptionally well written and generally informative. I deducted a star because it's just too much a fan homage at times; the writer is well capable of a sharper pen. That said, it's the best Spurs book I have read for a long time.
Published 22 months ago by Patrick Hunt

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An indefinite article
At the outset I must declare an interest, a triple interest in fact. Firstly I liked Julie Welch from the moment I saw on television her "Those Glory Glory Days", a factional account of her love for Tottenham Hotspur and Danny Blanchflower in particular. Secondly I enjoyed reading her match reports of football in The Observer. Thirdly I am related to one of the schoolboys...
Published 18 months ago by Peter T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An indefinite article, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
At the outset I must declare an interest, a triple interest in fact. Firstly I liked Julie Welch from the moment I saw on television her "Those Glory Glory Days", a factional account of her love for Tottenham Hotspur and Danny Blanchflower in particular. Secondly I enjoyed reading her match reports of football in The Observer. Thirdly I am related to one of the schoolboys who founded the club now known as Tottenham Hotspur in 1882, when he was a mere 12 years old. So I am disappointed to some extent with the history prior to World War II (WWII), also its reliance on quotes from blokes in pubs (that is how it feels when reading the book)otherwise known as fans of Spurs. The stated facts are often just what some chap says, not necessarily an authority on the Club. Anecdotal. Easy to read, but not necessarily accurate. Hard to tell. The style of writing is chatty,and the factual matter comes alive when Julie herself does, post WWII. Do I want a stiff,boring history? Not for a moment, nor would it sell, but the reliance peoples views is too great. There are mistakes, which I suspect are down to the editor/publisher rather than Julie Welch. Inside flyleaf starts with gross error "In 1892 three schoolboys...". No, 1882, and there were more than three boys. There are only 2 pictures prior to WWII and one is an illustration incorrectly stating the opposition as Sheffield Wednesday in 1901 Cup Final, when it should be Sheffield United. No photographs of early teams, but many of recent players. No mention in Acknowledgements to having read the definitive history "Spurs" by Julian Holland published in 1956, from where she would have found facts to help for the early days of the Club. Therefore I do not think it entirely right to call it "The biography" of Tottenham Hotspur, the indefinite article would be far more appropriate. But it is readable, extremely readable and enjoyable. A lot of hard work has gone into it, and it is really a long love letter to a Club. For that we should be grateful. Thank you Ms Welch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 24 Dec 2012
By 
Patrick Hunt (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
I enjoyed this book immensely. Exceptionally well written and generally informative. I deducted a star because it's just too much a fan homage at times; the writer is well capable of a sharper pen. That said, it's the best Spurs book I have read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thfc by dame Julie, 9 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
This book is ideal for any spurs fan wanting to know the history of the club and to add personalities to the names and faces of old players,managers and other characters involved in the thfc legend.it is written with humour and just the right amount of bias in favour of this great club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting book, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
Spurs supporter really pleased with this book bought for Christmas present.
Am sure he will enjoy filling in the caps on the history of the team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur, 30 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
What a great book, couldn't put it down whilst on holiday recently!

If you don't know much about the history of the club you will do come the end,from the beginning to the end of the 2012-2013 season.

Amazing book and well done to the hard work of Julie Welch and all involved COYS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great biography!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
H. Goldstein Esq "Spur1" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
I have been going to White Hart Lane since before the double and have read many books about Tottenham but this one was the best written and also catches the soul of the club.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 19 July 2013
By 
S. T. Barry "Saracen44" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
What an excellent read about the history of this club. It may be hard to obtain but well worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for all Spurs fans - especially those of the Premier League generation!, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
Ruined only by being one of the first edition with typos on the spine and p.25 - this book is the definitive history of the mighty Tottenham Hotspur - my affliction since 1967 - I still thoroughly recommend this book for Spurs fans, young and old, to understand why we are a team of genuine history and tradition, our indebtedness to Scottish football, the origins of the rivalry with Arsenal and why all achievements of other clubs are only the wake of Tottenham as the pioneers - first Double winners of modern era, first European title, only non-league FA Cup winners - a specail football club and wonderfully written by Julie Welch or @DameJulieWelch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is there not to like?, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
Written by the first 'Dame' of THFC.........as usual with her work, it is extensive, informative and a perfect read for all who follow THFC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come On You Spurs, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur (Hardcover)
Brilliant read. Captivating from start to finish. Absorbing writing as only Julie can produce. A must for all Tottenham fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur
The Biography of Tottenham Hotspur by Julie Welch (Hardcover - 12 Nov 2012)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews