Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tara West writes like a dream - this book is insightful, hilarious and poignant. I read this in two days and loved it. Read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read!, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm sooo glad that I found this book. It was a delight to read. If you are looking for something a little bit different then look no further, you have it! Set in Belfast, the characters are real ,and nobody is perfect here,they make the kind of life mistakes we all make. It was engaging, funny and smart as a whip. Loved it,and read it in 2goes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT. from start to finish, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another fab book from Tara west. The characters we can all relate to. The description of charachters makes you feel like you know them. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nom nom nom... mmmmm, poets., 13 Sep 2012
By 
G. Brennan "CSNI" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Tommie Shaw is doing what she can to get her life back in order. It's
looking unlikely that she will, though. Her mother, Gloria, is about
to release a 'tell all' biography that'll take Belfast by storm as it
details the lurid affair between her and a prominent literary figure.
And worse, Gloria has been known to take advantage of her family in past
projects. Tommie and her sister Georgie can only hold tight and wait
for the embargoed story to hit the local paper and pray that they
escape unscathed.

In 'Poets are Eaten as a Delicacy in Japan', Tara West has created the
coolest bohemian odd couple since 'Withnail and I'. Tommie Shaw and
Blob the overweight Morrissey impersonator have their work cut out for
them, and they'll get right to it after that next bottle of red.
Tommie Shaw is a perfect unreliable narrator with a bag full of
zinging one-liners and Tara West is the perfect candidate for
Belfast's latest and greatest black-comedy genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy in a single sitting, 1 Sep 2012
I gobbled up Poets. The friendships, the personalities, the various levels of dysfunction and trappedness, the 'No! Don't do that!' decisions the characters make. I also enjoyed the way the homes and workplaces so accurately reflected the characters' car crash lives and domestic habits. The author can sum up a person and a place in a single sentence that combines laugh out loud humour and pain - because the pain IS the humour. I particularly enjoyed the dialogue, (which is something else), the Wee Tea, the office with all its trapped denizens (except one who finds a dramatic way out early on in the book), and the short poems which do crop up from time to time and are wonderfully awful. (You'll be relieved to know that this book is not actually about poetry, and does not contain any long and indecipherable poetic passages to wade through). The poets who do appear are a hoot also. There's strong element of mystery about the characters and what traumas they must have been through to end up this way, which will leave the reader thinking about Tommie, Blob and even the horrid Jude, and asking questions long after. Especially about that Mother! Better than sushi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I laughed so much whilst reading this book, it's very, very funny and a little sad too... It is packed full of interesting and colourful characters, all individually different to one another, making them easy to follow. There is something about all of them that is likeable, even the obnoxious ones. I liked the main character's voice and warmed to her very quickly even when some of her catastrophes were self induced.The intricate embroidery the author has stitched within this book is extremely bewitching... In short, I laughed a lot and cried a little...brilliant, I loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great fun, well written and a little anarchic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poets are Eaten as a Delicacy in Japan
Poets are Eaten as a Delicacy in Japan by Tara West (Paperback - 26 Sep 2013)
£9.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews