Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful compendium
If you don't know U A Fanthorpe's poems, here is the perfect reason to rectify the ommission. If you do know them then you'll rejoice that they are all here. Witty, subversive, rapier sharp and overflowing with gentle love.
Published on 30 Nov. 2010 by Philip Clandon

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A present gratefully received
I bought this for a member of a poetry group. As far as I know she hasn't read it yet
Published 15 months ago by Mr. Alan Hooker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful compendium, 30 Nov. 2010
This review is from: New and Collected Poems (Hardcover)
If you don't know U A Fanthorpe's poems, here is the perfect reason to rectify the ommission. If you do know them then you'll rejoice that they are all here. Witty, subversive, rapier sharp and overflowing with gentle love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming poems, 1 April 2011
This review is from: New and Collected Poems (Hardcover)
Truly beautiful poems of our time. To quote Gillian Clark "Tender and funny, without show, without noise, using ordinary language,she lit with love the familiar world we had not valued enough,shook us awake with her undecorated language,made us laugh and broke our hearts in a few phrases".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars U.A. Fanthorpe - New and Selected Poems, 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: New and Collected Poems (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful and creative book of poetry from a poet that is not well known. As a wordsmith the author is as good as her creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New and Collected Poems (Hardcover)
So happy to have found all of these works in one volume. A marvellous and sharp-witted, yet compassionate poet. St. George and the Dragon and Olive are poems I have shared with many people over the years and both are contained in this volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A present gratefully received, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Alan Hooker "kleptomaniac" (Marlow, Bucks., UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New and Collected Poems (Hardcover)
I bought this for a member of a poetry group. As far as I know she hasn't read it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New and Collected Poems
New and Collected Poems by U. A. Fanthorpe (Hardcover - 15 July 2010)
Used & New from: £38.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews