Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of nice ideas for creative portraits
The first thing to do before buying this book is to have look online to see whether you like Natalie Dybisz style of photography. If you do not then you will not like the book, so do not buy it. If you like what she does (which I do), it is an excellent book. It assumes a reasonable knowledge of photoshop, which some reviewers have not liked, and basically talks you...
Published 10 months ago by Tescodirect

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trick photography and Photoshop - if you want photography, don't bother.
It may be creative at times, it's sometimes portraiture, but photography it is NOT.

Miss Aniela expressively waxes lyrical about all the famous artists through history that she based her work on, or is inspired by. No problem...she's certainly got a talent with words and selling herself; if only her photography could support those words.

Almost every...
Published on 27 Mar. 2013 by JustMe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Trick photography and Photoshop - if you want photography, don't bother., 27 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
It may be creative at times, it's sometimes portraiture, but photography it is NOT.

Miss Aniela expressively waxes lyrical about all the famous artists through history that she based her work on, or is inspired by. No problem...she's certainly got a talent with words and selling herself; if only her photography could support those words.

Almost every explanation of how Miss Aniela set up her (90% self portrait) shots simply details how she applied A LOT of heavy Photoshop to fix errors made while originally shooting. On the rare occasion that she did not admit to a mistake the "photography" is just a lot of compositing in Photoshop (adding parts of photos to other photos, such as adding a background to an existing shot, or adding a person to a background, replacing a sky etc.)

The other aspect is the cheating/trickery ("floating"/cloning people) which in my opinion gets pretty tedious and repetitive after the first few. If you want to learn this just do a search on Google for Multiplicity/cloning or 'floating in photoshop'. Not to mention the seemingly constant and narcissistic desire to pose naked in her self portraits, of which I can only really see one as being truly beneficial to the creative aspect of the photo.

In addition to this, any avid amateur or professional would certainly see the blatant errors in her editing immortalised in this book with so many halos around many of the composite figures. I find it surprising this these images actually comprise a book printed by Ilex, a respected and reputable publisher whose books rarely do anything but impress me.

___________________

ON THE PLUS SIDE...

There is a small section at the end of the book featuring other photographers (a few pages dedicated to each) and this was the saving grace of this book.

I adore the feature on Alex Stoddard, a teenage boy from the USA with a truly creative and conceptual style, coupled with an astoundingly amount of talent and imagination. Had this book been filled with his text and photos I'd have surely rated it 5 stars.

Same goes for Kirsty Mitchell - some epic work with a strong focus on styling, props and fashion design, all pieces being created and photographed by Kirsty. Really creative and hugely impressive.
___________________

I am not being critical due to a dislike for a creative style or just complaining: I rarely write negative reviews but I truly feel like I have WASTED my money and time in reading this.

I adore dream-like images such as Tim Walker's and in terms of well known Flickr photographers Rosie Hardy and the two I mentioned in features about are very inspirational but this book could hardly have disappointed me more :(

If it had been called Creative Photoshop or Trick Photography or HEY, CHECK OUT MISS ANIELA NAKED! I would have avoided it and it may appeal more to its real audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Here is a random review that I will justify after I've written it., 19 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Naked. Random pretty thing. Overlaying in Photoshop. Naked. Self-indulgent, photos. Naked. Overlay in Photoshop. Naked. Nude.

If you understood that, then you will have got more out of my review than I did out of the book. I bought this book hoping to gain an interesting, non-technical perspective into portraiture. Sadly the author is not yet capable of writing such a work. I think she has it in her, but I think she is currently lacking in the experience and consideration required to articulate anything philosophical or interesting about portraiture.

Most of the book is overly indulgent, nude self-portraits (involving overlaying frames) that seem to be justified post-shoot as opposed to taken with deliberate artistic intent. Every chapter conveys the same meagre information and ideas in a different setting, making the book very repetitive.

While I found it generally quite irritating to read, there were a few things that I found quite useful. Sadly I can't remember them for all the other rubbish that I was forced to wade through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of nice ideas for creative portraits, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Tescodirect - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
The first thing to do before buying this book is to have look online to see whether you like Natalie Dybisz style of photography. If you do not then you will not like the book, so do not buy it. If you like what she does (which I do), it is an excellent book. It assumes a reasonable knowledge of photoshop, which some reviewers have not liked, and basically talks you through a range of her photos and how they were shot and processed. She does not provide you with images to download so you can work through the processing, nor do you get enough detail on her workflow to do this, so it is not a strict instructional book along the lines of Matt Kloskowsi or Martin Evening. But if you want to get into creative portraiture using post-processing, there is plenty of stuff here to provide inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent., 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Wow. A talented photographer offering a creative and conceptual approach to portraiture. If you want to get ahead of the competition this book gets you not only thinking, but experimenting. A great book for the coffee table too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good photography, but not necessarily portraiture, 25 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
There is a distinction between classic portraiture and the modern, creative form. With classic portraiture, the concept was to show the personality of the sitter and sometimes their profession or occupation, and certainly not least, for the sitter to be recognisable. In the 1930s-50s, the names to follow would have been those of Cecil Beaton and Yousef Karsh for their studio work and Edward Weston and Robert Doisneau for location photography. From the 60s onwards, it would be David Bailey, Richard Avedon, and the Lords Snowdon and Lichfield, amongst others. Although they often photographed those becoming famous and famous, the viewer can often understand what the sitter is if not whom. With creative portraiture, the purpose is very different and it is often more about the photographer and the final image than the subject/sitter, who is usually irrelevant, unknown and non-identifiable. The end purpose is perceptive art!

With most classic portraiture, there may sometimes be some retouching and, if originally for advertising purposes, more extensive retouching would be acceptable, but there would be a limit as to how far was too far. Creative portraiture has no limits; the original image may form the basis for that presented but may include substantial layering, object removal and addition, extensive retouching and other techniques available via Photoshop and sometimes also Adobe Illustrator or CorelDraw. The face, rather than occupying a major portion of the image space, can either be obscured or in deep shadow, turned away from the camera, or so tiny as to be unrecognisable. In essence, the person in the image is almost incidental and sufficiently unimportant as to be replaceable by any other.

It also common for some proponents of the creative portraiture idiom to use themselves as their models; Natalie Dybisz, the author of this book and another purely about self-portraiture, is one such and there are many others.

I do not subscribe to the Natalie Dybisz cult which has been created via her web-site and blogs. Her imagery is decorative and often pleasant to view as are the other photographers' efforts also included in this book. I do not consider more than a few to be classifiable as a portrait in the more traditional sense. The cover image is one that could qualify, but only just!

In brief, I would suggest that this is more for those who are followers of the Natalie Dybisz approach. If you are not, it may convert you - it didn't me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very ceative, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
This book is packed with very technically brilliant photos. However the general type of photography is a bit nearer to fine art / designer type shots that are far from the average.
Nice to look at but more of a theatrical essence than that for the budding enthusiast portrait photographer.
The text is rather more philosophical and arty than instructional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really interesting ideas and techniques for Fashion Photography, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Really interesting ideas and techniques. It is a good inspiration for sparking your creativity and ideas, for portrait or fashion photography. Has many photoshop ideas. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 1 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
I bought the book on a whim, I hadn't come across Dybisz's work before but it caught my eye looking for books on portraiture. I had hoped for some technical pointers but the book has given far more than that and has been incredibly inspiring. The selection of images and the flow of the book is excellent. The prose on the shooting process is lovely to read as well as informative, without getting bogged down in the technical details.

It seems like a small point but the quality of the paper is really good which makes a difference to the whole experience of absorbing the book. I feel really inspired and thoroughly enjoyed the book, I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not really what I was expecting, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
Usually a big fan of ILEX books but this is really not that great. It didn't stir my creative juices at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early days still but love the inspiration!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Creative Portrait Photography (Paperback)
If you are looking for a photography book that shows and describes very high-end creative, stylish photography to wet your taste buds for what can be done, this is an excellent read. It proves that location is important in taking a shot to another level, and to be honest, I'd say over 90% of the people who buy this won't ever get a chance to do shots like it, but if it's inspiration you need to do something, it's worth buying. The approach and thought process behind the shots is interesting reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creative Portrait Photography
Creative Portrait Photography by Natalie Dybisz (Paperback - 30 April 2012)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews