Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Concise Guide to Low Light Photography
For decades one of the best writers on photography and photographic technique, Michael Freeman, has a fine new introduction to low light photography, "The Low Light Photography Field Guide". While the vanishing breed of film-based photographers - including yours truly - may not find this as useful a text, there is still much in Freeman's new book that could apply easily...
Published on 18 Dec 2011 by John Kwok

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Poor Field Guild
Despite the low rating I believe that the author, Michael Freeman, has done a very good job at writing a readable and informative book on the topic. It is also refreshing in that it treats both shooting and post-processing together as a part of the photographic process rather than keeping them separate. There are many useful lessons here and I'm sure there's something...
Published on 22 Feb 2012 by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Concise Guide to Low Light Photography, 18 Dec 2011
By 
John Kwok (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
For decades one of the best writers on photography and photographic technique, Michael Freeman, has a fine new introduction to low light photography, "The Low Light Photography Field Guide". While the vanishing breed of film-based photographers - including yours truly - may not find this as useful a text, there is still much in Freeman's new book that could apply easily to film photography of all formats, from 35mm to large. However, this book is aimed primarily at digital photography. Freeman delves into the nuts and bolts of working in Photoshop and other, similar, software in adjusting image contrast, depending upon different lighting conditions and subject matter. He also devotes time to recommendations for various kinds of lenses, not only the latest autofocusing image stabilizer zooms of the kinds offered by Canon and Nikon, but even fast prime lenses like those currently made by Zeiss in Canon and Nikon mount. There is also an excellent section on camera support, including discussions of tripods and tripod heads. Without a doubt, Freeman has written a most insightful guide that will be useful to most photographers, not only novices, but also those who regard themselves as serious amateurs and even, professionals too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent little guide, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
Michael Freeman is a brilliant writer on photography, putting complex theory into simple, understandable pieces that are easy to digest.

I was drawn to his writing after purchasing the very successful 'The Photographer's Eye' which is an essential tome on creating photographs.

This little field guide is genuinely useful and mixes hard, technical information, with quality info on shooting strategies when working in low light.

One example of his thinking that caught my eye was elegant and simple, creating handheld HDRI images in low light. Sounds like an impossible challenge but he suggests setting your camera to exposure bracketing (+/- 2 stops) setting the shooting mode to hi-speed continuous and rattling off three frames. A brilliant idea and one that has been genuinely useful to me.

Freeman offers good post-processing advice too, suggesting taking a single raw, reprocessing it a couple of times to favour lighter or darker areas of the shot then blending them together, again another simple yet useful tip.

The book is full of these and, as a person drawn to shooting at dusk and night time, I have been dipping into this book a lot prior to going out on a shoot.

A simply essential guide to anyone looking to shoot in reduced light or less than ideal conditions (so, basically anyone into photography) and the small size is definitely no indication of the amount of helpful tips in here.

Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another bargin, 9 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
i also purchaised the exposure feild guid a few months back and hav enjoyed useing it and am now half way through this book both are great and the perfect size 2 fit in my camera bag id definatly recomend this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, Poor Field Guild, 22 Feb 2012
By 
JJ (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
Despite the low rating I believe that the author, Michael Freeman, has done a very good job at writing a readable and informative book on the topic. It is also refreshing in that it treats both shooting and post-processing together as a part of the photographic process rather than keeping them separate. There are many useful lessons here and I'm sure there's something that photographers of all levels of experience can take from it.

There is a down side though, and that is down to the publishing rather than the writing. To make it into a "field guide" the book has been crammed into a 12cm X 15.5cm format which means that the text is so tiny and would be a struggle to read in anything but perfect conditions. Worse still is that many of the images are no bigger than a postage stamp. Consequently it is impossible to really tell from looking at them the extent to which Freeman's lessons hold true. We just have to take his (very small) word for it, as there's no way that we can see for ourself. It may have been possible to give both pictures and text more space, by cutting out some of the text, as some of it though great at giving comprehensive coverage is surely superfluous in a field guide. Alternatively, and my preferred option, would have been to publish everything scaled up in a larger volume so that it is easier to read and a joy to look at. Sadly the publishers have done neither of those two things.

In short, if you've got 20/20 vision and want a book that gives lots of suggestions on how to improve your low light photography that you will read in perfect conditions, this could be the one for you. If you are looking for something to use in the field in low light conditions, you might prefer to look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does not quite hit the target, 14 July 2012
By 
Andy_atGC (London UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
'Field Guides' are an increasingly common phrase used in titles of books.

From a purely personal viewpoint, a Field Guide should contain whatever information is vital to the activity that comprises the remainder of its title. Low Light photography is a subject that has reared its head in others of Freeman's titles, but usually in a rather limited way. What he may have done is to assemble all those bits and brought them together is a more meaningful and complete way, adding whatever additional information that was required to fill-in any gaps. Freeman is usually a very safe author, but he does sometimes miss his target. This may be one such, but the miss is a narrow one.

A field guide should also be small enough either to fit into a pocket or in an available corner of a camera bag. At a little over 5x4 inches, this fits that bill and the number of its pages is just about at the limits of pocketability at 192, although fewer would have been better.

As some of Freeman's books pre-date the near-complete takeover by digital from film, some portions may have needed a rewrite. Digital imposes some limitations and a tripod may be needed as it was before. However, with digital being able to utilise ISO speeds way beyond those commonly found in film (200-400 was typical for many colour films, but there were few faster) and with a fast prime lens - possibly f/1.4-2.8 for the shorter focal lengths and f/2.8-4 for the longer ones - in combination with some of the higher ISO settings but not necessarily the very highest, hand-held photography may be possible at moderate exposures in some situations.

How much of this book you will find useful may depend on your personal experiences. It is pretty good, but I feel that it is somehow incomplete. There are several alternate titles on this subject, some of which are a little better. As with several photography titles, this may be one of those books that you will want to peruse before committing to a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Low Light Photography Guide, 6 Dec 2011
By 
Simon L - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
This is a very well written book. Serious amateurs and I think professional ones too will find this book very useful. However, because the intention was to keep the book small enough to put it in the pocket, the fonts are too small for easy reading. The photographs presented could also be bigger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you could read it, 1 July 2014
By 
Andersen Torben (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
As far as I can tell, the author has done a fine job. The text is interesting. But (and this is a big BUT) the decision to make this a field guide that you can carry around is crazy. If you were standing at some dark place, why would you want to pull out a field guide from your pocket? All this material is something that one should study in peace at home and use later in the field. The decision to make this a field guide has almost destroyed the book because it is printed with very small letters and the figures are almost impossible to see. To make things worse, the book is at places printed with a gray background. Indeed the most crazy book I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for use in a low light field, 1 April 2014
By 
NR16 (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
I hesitate to criticise one of Freeman's books as the ones I've bought so far have been informative and well presented. Much of the content of this book is excellent but it's severely disadvantaged by the 'field guide' (=tiny) format of 12x15.5cm. There are good but short chapters about using equipment, also about colour blending and RAW editing so much of the content is there to be read and learned before and after you struggle with your low light photography, not being carried in your pocket during a shoot. The very small print is difficult to read unless brightly lit, the guide would be hopeless to have in a low light field!
What a pity - such a good book with such a handicap. It is however inexpensive so even two or three good tips come cheap compared with the price of expensive equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sensibly organised, well written, thoughtful, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Ian (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Michael Freeman. If you're interested in low-light photography, buy this book. The format (pocket guide) is perfect. No, sorry, not quite: needs a torch to read it in the field. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amust have book in your photographic library., 3 Feb 2013
By 
M. Graham (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) (Paperback)
I chose this because of it's subject matter and in particular because of the Author..
Michael Freeman has a wealth of experience and he manages to impart it in a very understandable way.
Where Photography is concerned, low light is a particularly neglected subject matter and for anyone wishing to cope with this and the difficulties that it can produce then this is the book for you.
The format of the guide means it is truly a 'Field guide' and can be used for reference when tackling those tricky light situations..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide)
The Low Light Photography Field Guide (Photographer's Field Guide) by Michael Freeman (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews