Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book before buying your new DSLR
Although the user-level is described as advanced, this book is accessible to anyone interested enough in photography to buy a DSLR.
Starting with an introduction to the various pieces of hardware, it progresses through to exposure, lighting and colour management.
Calibration of camera, computer monitor, scanners and printers is also covered, topics which...
Published on 7 April 2006 by dodgeman69

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
As someone relatively new to Digital SLR's (but not photography) this gave me a brief overview however I found it a bit waffley and did not really get into assisting with getting the most out of your digital SLR camera. It covered a lot of things but not in any great depth.

I would highly recommend a couple of other books to look at as well if you are looking...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Londoner


Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The one to have, 8 April 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elegantly and atractively designed, this is the best Digital SLR guide for both committed amateurs and serious professionals. It's written in a direct and unfussy fashion by a British author and thus mercifully free of the arsey good 'ol boy style so beloved of the 'Photoshop Bible' school of US technical manual.
A fine example of how to write a technical book for creative people - crisp, clear, and comprehensive. It's helped my transition from Kodachrome to digital immeasurably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 July 2008
I am very much a hobbyist photographer with a limited in depth knowledge. This book is extremely helpful, not only does it help you understand how to use and set up your digital slr, but it explains technique for taking photos and provides a lot of helpful information regarding everything digital photography related. If you are only going to buy one book, i suggest you get this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that can be understood by all, 10 Jan 2007
By 
Derek Rogerson (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a superb well presented and illustated book, pitched at the right level. Above "teaching your grandmother to suck eggs level" and below "lets see who I can baffle". More complicated areas are explained with clarity. Keeps to the digital side rather than the photographic side. Will be looking for more from the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference guide, 27 April 2007
By 
Ms. Judith Passant "Rokemage" (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This isn't a book to sit and read - it IS very technical and best used as reference material to be dipped into for specific topics. I found it the best book on digital I've seen for a long time as it really explained technical terms and subjects. I didn't read it expecting to be told how to take a good photograph - there are plenty of books for that - I did expect a book all about a digital SLR and related areas, and that's just what I got. It's the only library book on the subject that I have been compelled to go out and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious reading!, 8 April 2007
By 
John Glover (Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book for anyone interested in the technical side of SLR photography. The book is very detailed and covers a myriad of all things SLR and SLR related. It can be hard going in places but even beginners will benefit from this book because as your hobby grows the knowledge that you may require can all be found within its pages. Subjects are covered in a logical well defined order and the illustrations are very well presented with explanations clear and concise. I personally learnt a lot about cameras and photography from this book alone and it would be my first port of call to find something out.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what it appears: neither a good guide to the Digital Darkroom and little or nothing about *using* your DSLR, 15 Jan 2009
By 
S. WRIGHT (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you're looking for one simple handbook to introduce you to your DSLR this is NOT it. If, on the other hand, you're looking for a guide to the digital darkroom this is a pretty good book.

But be warned - this is NOT a digital SLR handbook! To illustrate with facts not just my opinion: The term 'aperture' isn't even in the index! Nor is f-stop or shutter speed (though shutter does merit 4 references) By comparison Apple Mac has 6 references and Photoshop has 24 sub-categories!!!

Reading further since I first posted this review I feel this book is BADLY unbalanced and has a lot of filler - there's very little/nothing on using an SLR or the settings but a double-page picture spread of accessories you might want, a page of pictures of flash studio accessories and a double-page on wi-fi... Filler of he worst order and of no use to anyone really. The digital darkroom guides that make up 2/3rds of the book are not version specific or step by step

There is tons of technical detail on how the camera works, the sensor array and processor, comparisons of digital compared to film and then it's straight into digital detail - compression algorithms, dynamic range... Buit nowehre does it mention and camera settings or illustrate their effects.

After 70 pages (out of 250) you're off the camera and onto the computer and the remainder of the book is a guide to the 'digital darkroom' and not the camera at all.

Fr a book targetted at pros making a transition from film to digital it may have some good things but the filler will annoy I'm sure. It's got photographic theory on 3 double-page spreads on the zone system from B&W photography... But no depth or detail on how to DO HDR - just that it exists.

In fact I'd say AVOID - I can't believe this hits any market well unless calibrating your camera and monitor are high priorities (Michael Freeman seems obsessed with calibration...6 pages on changing your camera profile) It seems targeted at professional film photographers used to the darkroom looking to switch to and understand the detail of digital but not how to use it. There is absolutely ***nothing*** about camera settings, exposure, depth of field etc. But the types of memory cards get a double-page spread and the 'how does it work' section dominates the first bit - wikipedia does a better detailed job for free on that area and it has NO IMPACT or APPLICATION for using a digital SLR... So if you're after a pretty mix of 'how does it work' and what accessories to buy + non-specific info on how to use photoshop and image databases this is a great book but if you want to know how to use your camera, or how to really get into photoshop this misses both ends of the digital photography equation and has a lot of filler in between. If that's what you're after look elsewhere or online.

One day this will help me a lot with both technical background and post-production detail but it won't help me take a single photo or adjust my ISO or depth of field in the short term.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars never judge a book by its cover!, 16 Jan 2009
This is a intitially good-looking book which reveals itself to be really very poor by any criteria upon further examination. It is not a book about photography as much as a technical handbook aimed at an introductory level. It will introduce and 'label' different techniques for you around for example, using software packages such as Adobe for editing and optimising for example. If this is what you are looking for fine, although it does not actually go on to explain the practical procedures for using such packages in any detail. There is next to nothing on advice about using a digital SLR camera or on creative ideas about photography per se. To give an example; I wanted to find out about the differences between utilising depth of field in film cameras, and in Digital SLR's. Page 17 (early on in the book!) advises; "Quick calculation. Taking 0.03mm as an acceptable CoC for 35mm, this is -1/1442 of the frame diagonal. Use this fraction to calculate the CoC for your digital camera." (sic.) This is literally useless information. If you are a professional 'technician' you don't need it. If you're an amateur it's incomprehensible. Therefore, useless all round. Much of the book strikes me as an illustrated guide to a professional photographer talking to himself! An extremely annoying waste of money, very seductively marketed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good book if you want just an overview, 6 April 2009
By 
G. Dumitrescu (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a bad book at all. But if you are after the more "high tech" detail, you will not find it. At the same time I thaught that the author will introduce a lot more detail concerning the actual different shooting techniques using a DSLR (i.e. in terms of the settings used and the more unknown "pro" techniques that could make your pictures stand out). For a general knowledge, the book meets its target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but boring, 12 Mar 2007
By 
D. Jackson "barrysatan" (Pembrokeshire, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Warning this book is very dry. It contains some very useful information but it is a drudge to read. These is a lot on digital workflow a lot of which would probably be better gleamed from a photoshop manual. There is some good technical information on how digital SLR's are put together and work. A lot I found very obvious and a lot I found very technical. It has given me an understanding of some of the more technical aspects of digital SLR's but it is not the kind of book that will help you take better photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Digital SLR Handbook (Paperback)
I love this book, seen many gripes about in reviews being too technical not enough on cameras, but I like the fact that it covers most aspects of digital photography which isn't just cameras, any more than film was darkoom etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Digital SLR Handbook
The Digital SLR Handbook by Michael Freeman (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews