Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book before buying your new DSLR
Although the user-level is described as advanced, this book is accessible to anyone interested enough in photography to buy a DSLR.
Starting with an introduction to the various pieces of hardware, it progresses through to exposure, lighting and colour management.
Calibration of camera, computer monitor, scanners and printers is also covered, topics which...
Published on 7 April 2006 by dodgeman69

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
As someone relatively new to Digital SLR's (but not photography) this gave me a brief overview however I found it a bit waffley and did not really get into assisting with getting the most out of your digital SLR camera. It covered a lot of things but not in any great depth.

I would highly recommend a couple of other books to look at as well if you are looking...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Londoner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this book before buying your new DSLR, 7 April 2006
Although the user-level is described as advanced, this book is accessible to anyone interested enough in photography to buy a DSLR.
Starting with an introduction to the various pieces of hardware, it progresses through to exposure, lighting and colour management.
Calibration of camera, computer monitor, scanners and printers is also covered, topics which previously never even occurred to me.
Image manipulation using editing software is then covered in detail, with tips on how to cure common image faults(Photoshop is referred to in most examples, although the same principles apply to The Gimp which I use, as it is available for free).
Having just moved from a point and shoot digital camera to a DSLR, I found this book has given me a good grounding in the basic technical principles of digital photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flash, bang, wallop - what a picture, what a photogaph!, 5 Oct 2005
As someone who is relatively new to photography generally and not simply digital photography, I was a little wary that this book as aimed, so it says, at those making the transition from film to digital. I need not have worried because the presentation of this book is straight forward enough for even a novice like me to understand. I have gained such an awesome insight into the world of digital photography from this book and I've only had it a week! Simply put, if you want to get the most out of your digital SLR, get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A recipe for DLSR success, 30 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The DSLR handbook is a great purchase for photographers making the transition to using a digital SLR for their photography. To get the best from this expensive toy, this book is a must read. Digital is different from using film for a host of reasons and this book help get you familiar with the whole digital world. It explains about the digital SLR, lenses choices,through the realms of digital capture, the digital workflow and the digital darkroom, and there's even a chapter on scanning your existing film images.
The book is well written in clear language with plenty of illustrations throughout. Read this and you will avoid some of the many pitfalls experienced by newcomers to digital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb guide for making the transition to digital, 9 July 2005
I bought this book on finally making the transition from film to digital (EOS 20D after using an EOS 50E for the past 10 years or so), being aware just how little I really knew about the peculiarities of working with digital.
This book has been invaluable, clearly and constructively explaining the issues and how best to deal with them, in realistic, practical terms. It contains reams of advice and illustrations, and helpfully even contains alot of key manufacturer & model specific tips and advice (for Canon, Nikon and others). I'd describe this book as a must buy for anyone with a keen interest in their photography making the transition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for those who want to really understand the medium, 12 July 2005
This is not for weekend hobbiest, it says for advanced user level on the back - it is in-depth detail as to how and why things happen in the digital medium. There is clear discussion over the difference between film and digital; pitfalls and benefits of digital; why you should use RAW; printers; colour theory, etc. If you want to know - this is the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best guides to Digital Techniques, 12 July 2007
By 
Fazel Ali "Fazmedia" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I would like to debunk some of the claims made about this book. This book is NOT about composition, so the previous comments about this book not explaining this aspect are missing the point. What this book IS about is DIGITAL techniques to download, store and print photos, amongst other things. People who have read some of Tom Angs's books will find material of a similar nature in here.
The difference is that this book, with no disrespect to Tom, is far superior in its presentation and instruction. Here you have a very experienced teacher of photography explaining concepts such as colour management and The Zone System in clear and interesting language. Only a few books on the market can match it in terms of explaining
and instructing on the use of digital photography technology. Perhaps total beginners would need to read up on some of the tutorials found on the better websites before tackling this book.
For those looking for a book on composition, Freeman's much older title 'Image' is in my opinion the best single volume I have read on the topic. It is very hard to find and I am glad I have a copy as I never fail to be inspired by its content. Look out for an update of it called 'The Photographers Eye', although I havent read it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the more serious digtal photographer, 9 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have learned more about the working and setup of my digital SLR from this book than by reading the camera's manual alone. This book explains the reasons certain features are useful and why you may want to use them, where the manual just skips over what options are available and a brief description.
For example, I now understand what the histogram display is telling me and what I can do with that information, why I may want White Balance Bracketing and what to watch out for when using my 35mm camera lenses on my digital SLR.
It does not just give details of the SLR itself, but proceeds in great detail on other associated subjects - Colour Calibration, editing, optimising, distribution and storage. It gives advice on accessories (flashguns, tripods, backup storage etc), hardware (laptops, wi-fi, printers) and probably every aspect of photgraphy that a professional would need to consider as far as 'tools of the trade' are concerned.
This book refers to Adobe Photoshop CS3 in detail, but does also give examples of other alternatives for editing and archiving your photos.
It is not a light read, but goes into a large amount of technical detail in several areas (it has the best article I've read on the differences between the various sensors used by different manufacturers).
If you just bought your digital SLR for a bit of light relief and aren't really concerned with how it does what it does then this probably isn't the book for you. However, if you are interested in getting the most from your camera and really want it to produce the picture your mind thought it had taken, then this gives the information and guidance that you wil need.
I have a couple of minor issues, relating to the sequence of the articles and the examples shown. For example the section on Advanced Optimising mentions Curves and Levels, which are actually explained a few pages after this article (although it is cross-referenced). And some of the before/after examples are printed too small for me to actually see any differences, although the descriptions in the related articles do describe what I should be able to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent...But Take Care, 17 Jan 2007
This is an excellent book which is well presented. However, might I urge a note of caution. This book is detailed and covers topics in depth which the average amateur may never need and which can make the text heavy going in places. The amount of information contained in the book cannot be faulted though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A reasonably experienced film photographer's guide to digital, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. Clg Bell "Christopher Bell" (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you understand film photography but have finally scraped together the money to buy a decent digital camera, then you will discover that your new toy is both familiar (focus, aperture, shutter speed) and very different (noise, histograms, washed out highlights). Also you will find that some film and darkroom processes (ISO rating, colour balance, cropping, shading) have moved to the camera or the computer.

This is the best written and most informative description of the technical aspects of the digital format that I have found. The illustrations are clear, the style is lucid, and the level of technical detail is sufficient to explain the technicalities without descending into horribly complex equations. It is also a good read - and definitely not boring.

Although the author explains things from the basics, in practice this is a not a book for a beginner, but rather for someone who already has a good basic knowledge of photography and wants to master the subtleties of the digital medium. So it is ideal for those converting from film to the new format.

One final comment: don't buy this book if you have a simple "point and shoot" digital camera! You'll get frustrated because, as the title makes clear, it is about digital SLRs and it assumes that you both have one and want to learn about using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone relatively new to Digital SLR's (but not photography) this gave me a brief overview however I found it a bit waffley and did not really get into assisting with getting the most out of your digital SLR camera. It covered a lot of things but not in any great depth.

I would highly recommend a couple of other books to look at as well if you are looking for a book of this type : (1) The Book of Digital Photography by Chris George or (2) The Digital Photography Book Volume 2 by Scott Kelby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Digital SLR Handbook
The Digital SLR Handbook by Michael Freeman (Paperback - 7 Nov 2011)
15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews