Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for amateur photographer.
For anyone who has experience handling a digital compact, point and shoot or larger bridge camera who knows their way around a camera and photographers terms, but is ready to move into DSLR level work, this is a useful book. A pro is likely to know most things in this book after years of experience. There is so much to know now in terms of the camera, the subject,...
Published on 25 Feb 2011 by Marcus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a pocket guide but good none the less
Bit too in depth for me and not quite what I was after but I guess it's very subjective. A very well written book though.
Published 3 months ago by not happy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for amateur photographer., 25 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
For anyone who has experience handling a digital compact, point and shoot or larger bridge camera who knows their way around a camera and photographers terms, but is ready to move into DSLR level work, this is a useful book. A pro is likely to know most things in this book after years of experience. There is so much to know now in terms of the camera, the subject, technology, and post-production. Terms such as contrast, EXIF, white balance, flash-sync, E-TTL, IS, aperture, f-stop, exposure, depth of field, noise, ISO, focal length, shutter speed, AE, AF, drive mode, prime lens, telephoto, wide angle, RAW, filters, Guide Number, UV, polarising, metering, RBG, macro, histogram, CCD, CMOS, vignetting, flare, EV, etc - it's amazing that a skilled photographer can look at a scene and evaluate all these factors in his head, set the camera/flash and take a great shot in far less time than it takes for you to read that list, which is an inexhaustible list when you consider camera manufacturers have their own proprietary terms for functions and technology applicable to their own cameras, lenses, flashes, etc. Those too you'll need to learn to purchase and handle them correctly in the long run, because photography on the DSLR level is not as cheap and easy as taking point and shoot shots with a fixed lens compact set to Auto - there are many tools available to help you get a good shot for the environment you are in - but in a matter of months you can be using them as second nature, with this book by your side to help you along.

This book will not teach you all those things I mentioned. If you're keen to learn you'll definitely need to read a few more books, a few websites that go into depth. Then when you're ready to go into the field, have this book in your kit bag for refreshing yourself when you find a landscape scene that you're not sure about, or want to try something and need to check how - such as depth of field, or fill flash. The more you learn, the less you'll need a book like this and one day you'll probably leave it at home or pass it to a friend. Michael Freeman has written a lot of books which will help you learn the theory in greater depth, and get you comfortable with these terms. He doesn't dally about with personal tales, but gets straight to teaching you and you do need to have a focused mind, and be comfortable with technical terminology to absorb photography books. The rewards speak for themselves, as you go through any pro photographers book and see the splendid photos they have taken using the same methods described. Most important thing is to read the handbook that comes with your own camera first - they may be boring and lacking in pictures and examples, but they will get you comfortable with the functions that you can then apply the methods to. Learning the menus, options and settings will let help get round them quicker later on and save you referring to the handbook every 5 minutes.

Don't be afraid of books like this, or to experiment in order to see if certain techniques will work for you - photography is something that can't go wrong. If a shot messes up, you can always try again and you will get better with practice and patience - especially with a DSLR!. The worst that can happen is your batteries go flat before you get a good result. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in 1 small book, 11 Jan 2013
By 
David PM Young (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
A superb book. I thought long and hard before buying yet another book by Michael Freeman. This book contains a terrific amount of technical detail that is explained in very clear manner. Certainly not in a Janet and John style and not in a highly technical way. I just wish I had bought it earlier. I would most certainly recommend this book to any one wanting to develop their photography skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DSLR POCKET GUIDE, 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
An excellent little book small in size but massive in information.
This great little book covers so many things for new and experienced digital photographers.
Covering everything you need to get to know your camera from set up to location styles lighting etc.
Wonderfull value and great for you to get info from small enough to put in with your kit if your new and might need a reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small, but well-marked...., 25 Jan 2011
By 
A. Jones (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
This is genuinely a pocket book, but for a coat pocket rather a trouser pocket, and would easily fit in DSLR gadget bag. I've only just got this book, and to me it seems this book would actually benefit from being physically bigger - the typeface used is very small, and the generous number of pictures/diagrams would be better appreciated. Having said this, it seems written logically and clearly, and provides useful information for those new to DSLR ownership. However, some basic knowledge of photography and photographic terms is required, so it's not really for a complete photography beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a pocket guide but good none the less, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
Bit too in depth for me and not quite what I was after but I guess it's very subjective. A very well written book though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
A useful guide to the basics of DSLR photography,I would recommend it as a good background read for people with no or little knowledge of photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helppful Book, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
Simple easy to read reference book for the amateur photographer that can be carried with you when, like myself, you don't use your the time and need reminders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I aint no Geek!, 2 Feb 2011
This review is from: The Photographer's DSLR Pocketbook: The Essential Guide to Getting the Most from your Camera (Paperback)
I bought this book along with another couple of "pocket" size guides when i purchased my SLR. This book starts at a level which is above my technical ability straight from page one. I my humble opinion this book is for someone who already understands all the terms and what they are used for, which wasnt me. I wouldnt buy this if you are new to slr's.
I think it would suit the more geeky photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews