Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 January 2012
This is a great book, beautifully presented but also taking an intelligent and creative approach to French style in Interiors.It covers everything from French Chateau to Manoir House, Provencal and Parisian style. It shows many paint and fabric techniques that are simple and straightforward to adopt but achieve lovely effects.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 4 October 2011
French interiors are so chic and sophisticated - it's a look that many of us admire and want to replicate. This book identifies several looks we could emulate - divided into Chateau, Country, Provence and Paris. The latter are then subdivided into Rococo, Neo Classical, Manoir, Rural, Provence - Luberon, Provence - Riviera, Bohemian and Coco. The essentials are given for each style highlighting fabrics and decorative details. Part two looks at the elements of these styles for each room. Chairs, console tables, cherubs, armoires and more. This is more than just a style book, it also has details of how to create the look yourself. There are instructions on making unlined curtains with braid or how to crackle varnish a console. Discover how to line walls with fabric or antique a stone cherub and much more. This book is full of panache and the projects to create French style in your own home. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to create the French look in their home. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2013
I bought this book with two other annie Sloan books. Bought the paint...the wax...the brushes! Now my kids are frightened to stand still too long in case they get "shabby chicced"!
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
I recently took the Annie Sloan course and thoroughly enjoyed it. I also own her other two books which have a lot of useful tips and take you through projects on step-by-step basis. However `Creating the French Look' does not go in to detail on how to create the paint effects shown in the book. Would recommend her other two books over this if you are looking to find out more information on paint effects.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I had hoped this was more about creating a PAINTED french look, with ideas to copy etc. But found it had lots of glossy pages with gardens, curtaining, lampshades and 'setting the scene' And what looked like quite expensive furniture to start with!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
This book contains a lot of beautiful photography but little in the way of content. Overpriced and nothing new here. Nothing that I couldn't find by a 5 minute search on Google....
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
Too much information on the history of French furniture and not enough about the techniques of painting or creating the look.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
Really liked the ideas and how to do illustrations.
all materials for projects itemised.
Would highly recommend to chalk paint fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2012
A lovely book full of ideas and facts about French decor. It also gives full instructions for making and decorating furniture and fabric items. A must-buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2011
I recently did a course on furniture painting and found this book to be very informative with some great ideas. I would certainly recommend it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)