Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars21
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2012
This is SUCH a lovely book! Even my children are inspired by it and are nagging me to begin something! Many of the ideas are quite simple yet very pretty and the templates provided in the back are excellent and could be adapted for other projects too.Many of the creations can be made from inexpensive and easily available materials. Several of the ideas have a scandinavian look which is simple yet beautiful. I shall def be making several projects for Christmas and shall simplify others for the children to make.There are also some food gift ideas.
Chapers included are;-

DECORATIONS (incl Advent pocket calendar, paper scandinavian horse garland, embroidered stockings, papier mache baubles, embossed folk felt heart +several others)
CARDS AND GIFT WRAP (incl button and paper flowers, Russian doll cards, layered tissue paper reindeer cards +4 others)
COOKING FOR CHRISTMAS (incl iced snowflake cookies, sugar mice, fab gingerbread spires, crystallized ginger+ 4 others)
GIFTS (incl simple vanilla sugar, gift wrapped soap, little felt mice, winter throw, teacup candles , embroidered dala horse + 3 others)
TABLE DECORATIONS (incl scandinavian card tea light lanterns,christmas crackers, v.pretty yet simple embroidered table runner,Lovely mexican Tin horse candle holders (made from foil)+ several others.

Hope that helps!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 1 October 2011
Christmas crafting in No Time is a wonderful Christmas book full of projects to make your home, party or Christmas dinner go with a bang and to provide gifts for friends and family. You can stamp, do papier mache, cook, sew and decorate the table with this beautiful book. The projects are easy to make and the instructions easy to follow. Each project is well photographed. This is a folksy-crafty book. Some of the projects do have a Scandinavian look - especially the mice and the stockings on the front cover - these are the best projects in my opinion. You can involve children in the making of many of these projects. I also liked the cards section and the papier mache tree baubles, the reindeer are great fun too. A lovely book with something for everyone. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
I ordered this book in August..to get started on Christmas projects....I like the book..however there isn't anything really 'new' in here...I liked the front cover..as it reminded me of 'Tilda' and Sweedish type designs..but the book isn't filled with such things..it does have a few lovely photos..but I'm wanting a 'full on'..'pretty ''country' 'romantic' 'shabby' type of book..and so far haven't found a Christmas one that fits the bill..this isn't that book...the projects are quick in most cases..but not what I would want in the house...
44 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
This is a beautiful festive, multi cultural book with many European style projects, I love some of the Russian style projects particularly. There are some lovely ideas inside, to make you feel festive during the christmas season.

I have my City and Guilds level 3 in embroidery and level 1 in Gold work embroidery, and some of these projects would need a good knowledge in stitching and crafts in general.

The reason I gave this book 3 stars, as the author assumes you have a sewing machine, you have a puncturing tool set, use to using a scalpel with cutting mat and access to a vast array of materials (embellishments, fabrics, ribbons, embroidery thread, tapestry threads, the odd spot of spare wall paper, lambs skin ( to make children's booties), buy a throw to embroider etc.)
There is a crystallised ginger project which I really fancied making for a loved one, but at the bottom of the page it states you need to make this at least 3 months in advance, not many people start buying Christmas project books 3 months before Christmas to start their projects!!!!! I will have to mark in next years calendar to do this one!

A few of these projects are easy and simple but most are complexed. Most of these projects will be expensive to make, as crafting can be a very expensive hobby.

I do love the very wide range of project ideas, and they do look lots of fun to make.

Here are the details of all the projects

CHAPTER 1 Decorations

silver flower wreath
silk and sequinned fish
paper angel
felt owls
curled paper star
festive mice
Scandinavian horse garland
snowflake garland
embossed folk heart
tin bird clips
advent calendar
window paper cut scene
embroidered stockings
quilled bird card clips
pom-pom decorations
rosette garland
papier-mache baubles

CHAPTER 2 Cards and Gift Wrap

fur-trimmed greeting cards
patchwork wrap and card
rubber-stamped cards
goody bags and gingerbread labels
button and paper flowers
Russian doll cards
layered tissue reindeer card

CHAPTER 3 Cooking for Christmas

iced snowflake cookies
angel cupcake toppers
quince jelly
sugar mice
cranberry and orange sauce
gingerbread spires
crystallised ginger
Christmas chutney

CHAPTER 4 Gifts

flavoured vinegars
vanilla sugar
gift-wrapped soap
little mice
winter throw
vintage teacup candles
fur-lined baby boots
polar bear hot water bottle cover
embroidered dala horse

Chapter 5 Table Decorations

robin place names
Scandinavian tea light lanterns
Christmas crackers
table runner
twig reindeer
paper flower napkin rings
tin candle holders
dancing maids cake surrounds

END SECTION

embroidery stitch guide
templates
useful addresses
index
acknowledgments

I hope this has been of some help to you choosing your perfect Christmas book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
This book is well worth the money! All of the projects are beautiful, festive and certainly very easy to make. The book includes all of the templates you need and instructions are very easy to follow.

I particularly liked the chutney recipe, stocking and crystallised ginger. There are so many ideas and it is not over-complicated like some craft books. You also don't need to buy a huge amount of equipment for things, which is great for making things on a short time scale.

Enjoy!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
Great book, really easy to follow instructions with good diagrams and straight forward patterns. Good for a novice crafter and lovely ideas for experienced too. Very colourful pictures of the end product, overall a great purchase for the price ;)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
I got this book as a replacement for another book I ordered in error. There are some interesting ideas in there - all of them doable and not requiring loads of equipment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2012
A very beautiful and inspiring book. The templates are gorgeous... the projects are elegant and well explained - and the templates are brilliant, allowing you to fully expand into your own creativity. Well recommended, and I'm looking forward to exploring Clare Youngs' other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2012
Wonderful book that opens your imagination. Particularly like the mice and owls to sew. Lots of different projects like paper craft making cards and baking, also sewing projects. Great illustrations too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
Sorry, but I really did not feel inspired by this book at all. Although the front picture on here looked fine the reality was a very lack lustre one. Only one or two projects would even tempt me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)