Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars14
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£26.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2012
If you aim to buy just one interior book this year then I can highly recommend this one.For starters it is usefully divided into three main sections, Family, Manor and Country Houses and contains an excellent synopsis of each house together with useful text accompanying all the colour photographs.There is really something for everyone whether you are looking for inspiration, ideas or simply enjoy a good read.
An impressive feature of the book is its ability to conjure up the "atmosphere" of the interiors especially those in the Country House section and I defy anyone to read it just the once!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2012
This is a beautiful book. The photographs are inspiring, mostly of beautiful, unique traditional houses, manors filled with antiques, most not seen in other books. The houses shown do not display the signature look of interior designers but are reflections of their owners' individuality.

I recommend this book to anyone who loves antique interiors and is looking for inspiration to decorate their homes, or just be stimulated by looking at beautiful interiors.

To my mind the accompanying text is just right: Informative but not overpowering with its content. All in all one of the best books published on English interiors in recent years.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2012
I had actually had this book on my wish-list for a while, but then it was featured in one of the home magazines I buy and I just had to have it! For those who love the eclectic, English country house style this book is heaven. A great 'coffee table' book to dip into and dream.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
This book features fabulous romantic homes, and is full of inspiration for those looking to make their homes look and feel more romantic.
I like the fact that Romantic English Homes doesn't just concentrate on the ordinary and stately, rather it focuses on the unusual and sometimes rather quirky styles that have been chosen by the home owners.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
This is a beautiful book. I decided to give up buying expensive interior magazines (so full of adverts) for a while and buy just one satisfying, sumptuous book. This one does the trick. Beautifully produced, beautifully photographed and a source of endless joy. You won't find product placement, you won't find subtle advertising - the book is completely devoid of those - you will find inspiration and a knowledgeable text. This book or 4 magazines? No contest in my mind. This will stay on your shelf and not be consigned to the bin after a quick flick through.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
A thoroughly inspiring book, lots of lovely ideas, just what i was hoping for when i ordered it! would recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
This is the book you want it to be. A glorious selection of interiors, beautifully photographed.
There is nothing jarring, as you turn page after page of sumptuous pictures.
No other book captures England's quirky interiors like this title.
Superb production!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2014
Captures a wonderful collection of houses, some simple and country, some incredibly grand and some quite shabby. There is a lot of inspirational pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2013
very good photography, with interesting text and overall a good read! Both enjoyable and informative for those with an interest in decoration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2016
If you like interiors this book is for you! If you like architecture this book is for you! Informative text beautiful pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)