Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes School Dinners nice
This is a book that you will either love with fond memories, hate with not-so-fond memories or be totally bemused as to its contents.

For some reason traditional British school dinners have a capacity to polarise opinions. Maybe things are different today but for those who went to a British school before the 1990s will surely have a veritable trip down memory...
Published 14 months ago by I. Darren

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the original edition.
I was disappointed with this book. I have used the original edition in the past and was looking forward to having this new edition but this appears to be an edited version of the first book. Alot of the recipes are missing and the introductions to some of the recipes have been Changed. Shame it doesnt let you know this on the product page.
the recipes are tasty and...
Published 10 months ago by NewlyGreenMum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes School Dinners nice, 18 Oct 2013
By 
I. Darren (Fi) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This is a book that you will either love with fond memories, hate with not-so-fond memories or be totally bemused as to its contents.

For some reason traditional British school dinners have a capacity to polarise opinions. Maybe things are different today but for those who went to a British school before the 1990s will surely have a veritable trip down memory lane with this great little book.

This book is filled full of recipes that will let you recreate those school-time culinary creations at home. Although the book doesn't tell you how to make custard extra lumpy or how to make the boiled eggs turn out green and hard as a gobstopper. Some of the recipes are unfamiliar to this reviewer, possibly coming into vogue after school had finished, such as chicken curry but the other recipes can be a total trip down memory lane. Spam Fritters, Jam Roly-Poly, Minced-meat Pie and Pink Custard... yummmmm!

The recipes give a little bit of knowledge at the start, such as a Beef Cobbler acting as a hot-water bottle, keeping you warm for a time after consumption as well as providing a means for many a schoolboy snigger at its name. Each recipe is written in an informal, yet easy-to-understand way and there are even some groan-worthy jokes and similar factoids thrown in for good measure.

It would have been nice, for the benefit of the uninitiated, to have had some photographs of the recipes and to perhaps show those with dire memories of school food how a dish should have in fact looked if the school kitchen had not managed to mangle it out of all recognition. Yet this was a great, quirky, different and considerate book that perhaps should be in every cook's collection - if not just for novelty value. Although there are many good, honest recipes here that could provide nutritious, affordable food for the entire family. So, please miss, can we have some more (recipes)?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not the original edition., 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
I was disappointed with this book. I have used the original edition in the past and was looking forward to having this new edition but this appears to be an edited version of the first book. Alot of the recipes are missing and the introductions to some of the recipes have been Changed. Shame it doesnt let you know this on the product page.
the recipes are tasty and inexpensive, so I do recommend that you get your hands on the original book if you can find it for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Fashioned School Dinners, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
I am very pleased with this book, it really brings back memories of time at school, my family like the recipies as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back lots of memories, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
Recipes are easy to follow and produce food that not only tastes great but brings back a lot of memories! Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blissful memories., 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
Lots of brilliant old friends - many thanks for the chocolate semolina and mock cream.
Was I the only one that adored this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars School Memories, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
Bought this for myself as I had many a happy memory of school dinners when I was growing up & I wasn't disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing., 16 Nov 2014
By 
R. Gibson (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
I went to a very good school where excellent dinners were prepared on the premises in well equipped kitchens. I bought this book hoping to find the recipe for the pastry they used for the favpurite; meat and potato pie.Her pastry recipe in this book is "OK to use ready-made".
Also the recipe for Pink custard is "use a packet of pink-custard powder".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the same as the Original book!, 24 April 2014
By 
EB (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick (Hardcover)
I was fortunate to get a copy of the original book for a reasonable price, and bought a copy of this new reissued book with the intention of buying two more copies for friends, but decided not to bother when I saw some of my favourite recipes were missing - chocolate crunch/concrete:(
It has got some good recipes in it though:) EB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Old Fashioned School Dinners: The Good, the Bad and the Spotted Dick
£5.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews